Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my modest opinion - the best spy novel ever
I am aware that there are many excellent spy books, but in my modest opinion this is the one that describes the best this strange and dangerous universe that is secret war.

Frederick Forsyth wrote a couple of even better books ("The day of the Jackal", "The dogs of war") but they were not exactly about spying. In this book, written in the 80s, he describes a...
Published on 1 Oct 2007 by Maciej

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE FOURTH PROTOCOL
THE Fourth Protocol was a good book, a little too much detail would have made it more enjoyable, Frederick Forsyth researches his novels very well.
Published 1 month ago by Ian Partington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my modest opinion - the best spy novel ever, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fourth Protocol (Paperback)
I am aware that there are many excellent spy books, but in my modest opinion this is the one that describes the best this strange and dangerous universe that is secret war.

Frederick Forsyth wrote a couple of even better books ("The day of the Jackal", "The dogs of war") but they were not exactly about spying. In this book, written in the 80s, he describes a very clever and dangerous plot of KGB, which, if successful, could really break NATO and leave Western Europe vulnerable to a possible Soviet takeover. The description of Soviet inner circles of power are very good, much better that in the usual spy stuff - Frederick Forsyth was one of the few Cold War spy writers who had a really good understanding of USSR and it shows here. The story is very coherent, the plot is plausible and technically possible and its execution is described in incredibly professional way.

There are however other stories circling around the main plot which describe some of the horribly dirty tricks used by the intelligence communities all around the world (the story takes us from United Kingdom to Soviet Union and then to Africa, before coming back to UK). There are no superheroes in this book (although there are superlosers) and this is definitely not a James Bond movie material - there is however a masterly executed description of the gray, shadowy, dirty and smelly world, where virtually nothing is what it appears and every double bottom has a third bottom... I will absolutely not reveal anything about the plot, but prepare to be surprised. Many times. There are humouristic moments in this book, although this is a dark humour - there is much more tragic fragments, some of which can break the heart.

This is a dark, somber, rare and precious jewel, which didn't age at all since 80s. Excellent to read on holidays or on a rainy weekend. Once you finished it, a good idea could be to read some other early Forsyth books, like "The Day of the Jackal". If by any chance you saw already the movie, with Pierce Brosnan and Michael Caine, please be aware, that although a honest effort this film was only a shadow of this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dated but perfect, 24 July 2007
This review is from: The Fourth Protocol (Paperback)
Wen I was young (20 years ago), my two favourite books were this one and Ludlum's Parsifal Mosaic. Hundreds of thrillers later, they remain in the top five. The 4th protocol contains lots of clever twists, it is much better than the (not bad) movie they made with Pierce Brosnan and Michael Caine out of it. It is probably dated now, cold war is over, but it still remains a top book for me. I shall re-read it someday. If you have never read it you should, Forsyth could write good stories at that time (now he has lost his edge but who does not age ?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterfully written, 10 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Fourth Protocol (Paperback)
This book is set in Britain, South Africa and Russia in the 1980s. Unlike other agent stories, which I had tried in the past, the necessary background information for this intelligent plot is given in a compact way. Thus the book appears to be well researched and it is kept both exciting and understandable. Several story lines are intertwined in a neat way which helps to keep the suspense.

I had come upon this book after reading The Day of the Jackal (also by Forsyth) which I had experienced as similarly well researched and exciting. Thus this was my second book by Forsyth and I look forward to try out some more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Takes a while for all the plot gears to come together, but once they do, the book becomes a taut and exciting spy thriller. Mr. Forsyth provides a few dollops of fascinating factual information along with the action and spy work. I've read a few of his other works as well and have enjoyed them all so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie, but definitely a goldie!, 26 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Fourth Protocol (Paperback)
I first read this book about 20 years ago, and since then have not only reread this countless times, but have read all of Forsyth's work. They are all excellent reads, and far above the commercialiastic commonplace crud of other more "popular" writers. There is a sense of timelessness in his writings that transports you across continents and eras! Beautiful and enthralling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE FOURTH PROTOCOL, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE Fourth Protocol was a good book, a little too much detail would have made it more enjoyable, Frederick Forsyth researches his novels very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good author, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy FF cautiously but given the right novel he suits my style of reading. Will buy more of his books over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every thing a good thriller should be, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Protocol (Paperback)
great book could not put it down untill i had read it to the end cannot wait untill i start the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freddy, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man is, and always has been a master storyteller. His characters are totally believable, because he describes them so thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 1 Feb 2014
By 
John Murray "John M" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am rereading Frederick Forsyth's novels after many years as I enjoyed his latest (Kill List) so much. This one is right there at the top. A superb story, told brilliantly. As ever the research is intensive, making the tale very believable and the story telling genius of Forsyth keeps you page turning long after bedtime.
The action takes place in the eighties so some of the technology - phone boxes, telegrams and such - ,is dated but detracts little. Read and enjoy a master at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fourth Protocol
The Fourth Protocol by Frederick Forsyth (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews