Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars221
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2014
This book should be read by everyone who loves life and treasures humanity, God bless you Hanns!!
Written by non-Jew!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Well worth reading - recently recommended to me by a Holocaust survivor.
Arrived within a couple of days of ordering.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
A lot in the book had been previously written elsewhere, but the author's story of how Rudolf Höss was finally captured by the detective work of his British Army officer great uncle, Hanns Alexander, is told very well. What is even more remarkable about this whole story was Hanns' family background. His family had escaped Nazi Germany to move to London, England before war broke out, as they were German Jews. Would definitely recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
There is little I can add to the other favourable reviews. This a well-written account of the background of the two protagonists, one a well-rounded refugee and the other a "family man" with a disturbed background, a past (from the age of fourteen) immersed in violence, and a predisposition to share the abhorrent views of Hitler & Co and to participate on a massive scale in their implementation. A disturbing but informative read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
To truly understand the horror of the Holocaust you should understand those who committed it and those who stopped them
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Gripping and fascinating story. I couldn't put this book down for about two days. The story of the Holocaust must never ever be forgotten and it is so important for people to understand what went on during that time. I am still baffled by the mind and motivations of Nazis who committed such heinous crimes. A most interesting read and I highly recommend this book. Thomas Harding is an excellent writer - well written indeed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
This is one of the most interesting books I've read on the subject in a long while. Well written and poignant.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Often harrowing but always compelling account of ordinary people in extraordinary times. This book somehow makes the unthinkable less incomprehensible. I read it every day to the end and came away much impressed by the light it was able to shine on those awful times and the message it holds for us all today. I'm reminded of another title; 'The Nazis, a warning from history..'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Like reading a perfect thriller but knowing it is all true. An amazing book about an amazing man
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
This was undoubtedly one of the best books I have read in a long time.It really was unsustainable.The author cleverly runs the two lives in parallel till that fateful moment when these two finally met.I also found moving when Horse's grandson and his mother met the author at Auschwitz.If this book doesn't leave you with a tear in your eye then nothing will.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.