Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic romp
Duncan Hamilton is incapable of writing a dull sentence and I had eagerly awaited his discourse on the development of football over the past 60 years and how the game enabled him to form a bond with both his grandfather and father.

Fortunately I was not left disappointed as the author has produced yet another book that deserves to be savoured.

Those...
Published on 8 Sep 2012 by G. Waterman

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poorly edited
In general I enjoyed this book, being of the generation that grew up with football before the excesses of the Premier League. I also appreciated the author's previous books on Clough and Larwood. However, Duncan Hamilton has been badly let down by his editors, at least in the paperback edition. For example, for two whole pages the Liverpool centre-half Ron Yeats is...
Published 17 months ago by Pozoscarbon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic romp, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Duncan Hamilton is incapable of writing a dull sentence and I had eagerly awaited his discourse on the development of football over the past 60 years and how the game enabled him to form a bond with both his grandfather and father.

Fortunately I was not left disappointed as the author has produced yet another book that deserves to be savoured.

Those who have read his warts and all yet loving portrait of Brian Clough will not be surprised to learn that icons such as Jackie Milburn, Jim Baxter, Bobby Charlton, Duncan Edwards and Bill Shankly come under similar scrutiny and the descriptions of them, others and great matches from the past are illuminating and powerful.

Hamilton roves through history and brings us up to date with a wonderful analysis of Barcelona and Messi and what shines through is his passion for the sport and how it enabled him to communicate with his father, a former miner and a man of his times who found it hard, if not impossible to show his emotions.

Football gave them a common bond and a way of finding each other.

Anyone who read the homages to both Stewart Imlach and John White by their respective sons will identify with this jewel of a book which could well put Mr Hamilton in the running for his third Sports Book of the Year Award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winning choice, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't be surprised to see this book winning the next William Hill sports book of the year award. Like his previous books this is well researched and beautifully written in a style that DH has made his own weaving nostalgia with interesting fact with a fair sprinkling of simile and metaphor. On one level this is a sports book about football icons of the past but has a much deeper and interesting theme about a son's journey in discovering his father. One to read and savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully evocative, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This marvelous book would be of interest to anyone who grew up enjoying football in the days before satellite TV changed everything. It is at once a deeply moving account of the author's relationship with his father, and of his father's fascination with, and devotion to, professional football, as it used to be.

In essence it comprises a series of portraits of players and managers, all of which combined to give the relationship between father and son an intimacy and depth that could not have been achieved in any other way. Some of the characters are well known, such as Bobby Charlton and Bill Shankly, others less so, like Ray Kennedy and Wyn Davies, but we gain new insights throughout the book, as we see football through the philosophical eyes of the author's father.

This is the third book by Duncan Hamilton that I have read, the others being Provided You Don't Kiss Me and Harold Larwood. Each has been even better than the last. It would not be a surprise if this one was to follow in their footsteps and pick up the William Hill prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than the football, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Footballer Who Could Fly (Paperback)
This is a moving book because the author successfully weaves the story of his relationship with his father together with descriptions of some of the major footballing characters of the last six decades, drawn from their shared, often personal experience of these same characters. I am sure my enjoyment was enhanced by the fact that I am the same age as the author and therefore many of the people and experiences he describes are familiar. Nevertheless, the book is not a simple, one-dimensional history, but rather it uses football as a back-drop to deeper reflections on ordinary human life; in this sense it will be widely appreciated.

To practiced readers of football history narratives, some of the material will feel slightly tired and familiar, such as the sections on Duncan Edwards and Bobby Charlton, where so much has been said already. But any such limitations are the exception and far outweighed by the fresh insights on less frequently featured individuals, drawn from direct encounters by either Hamilton senior or junior. These meetings provide memorable glimpses of players like Jackie Milburn, Danny Blanchflower, Wyn Davies, Ray Kennedy, Jim Baxter and many others. It is when the author is “up close and personal” that the writing has real poignancy.

The book also avoids the risk of being a very personal affair. Clearly as Duncan Hamilton recounts, the loss of his father hit him in delayed and devastating fashion. However, he manages to celebrate his father and their mutual love of football without losing the general relevance for the reader and in so doing provides something more than a nostalgic football read. It is this combination which works so well and makes the book stand out for more than the football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father, Son and Football., 25 Sep 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Duncan Hamilton (DH) has already won Sports Writer's awards for his books on Harold Larwood and Brian Clough. His latest offering is written with the same stylish and researched fluency. He was born in Newcastle. His father was a miner moving from Stirling to Newcastle for work then taking the family to Nottingham. DH was raised on stories told by his father of the days of 'real football'. Newcastle United was his passion. Legendary players were his heroes. Working-class men like Jackie Milburn 'the greatest of the very great', Stanley Matthews, Tommy Lawton, Duncan Edwards, Bobby Charlton and more. Bed-time stories for him were football tales.

DH became an avid soccer fan like his father. He takes us on a nostalgic, historical journey from these early days of the £12 per week stars to the millionaire trappings of the Premier League. Bill Shankly could have bought the whole of his 1963 Liverpool Championship side for the price of a superstar's wristwatch. The in depth analysis of especially gifted players, Best, Messi,Bobby Moore, for example and managers, Clough, Shankly, Jock Stein, Busby, show his admiration in affectionate terms of their skills and achievements without being overly sentimental of the bygone days.

This is an honest book not intended to be humorous but contains many wisecracks and witty remarks, especially from Clough and Shankly. Duncan's father showed no overt affection for his son nor praise for his journalistic achievements with the Nottingham Evening post. Their common bond was the ardent love of football. DH writes, 'Without football we were strangers under a shared roof' and 'Without football we'd have had nothing to say to each other. The game alone pushed us into one another's orbit'. He never fully fathomed out his father during his life nor after his death but was grateful for the 'beautiful game' they shared.

Duncan Hamilton has written a fluent book, a sincere tribute to his father and the footballing greats. The accounts of the game itself are personal reflections and those handed down from his father. Memorable for their details and the changes that have taken the pits to the palaces. Thoroughly enjoyable and recommended to all football fans. Well illustrated. The front cover picture is worthy of somebody lifting him up, rugby style. Wyn did it by himself and for Newcastle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book that made me cry, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Footballer Who Could Fly (Paperback)
I have read many football books over the years but this book is by far the best. Not only does it tell of old Newcastle players and other famous footballers it also tells the the story of a difficult relationship between a father and a son whose only common
interest is Football and Newcastle in particular.The Author became a newspaper journalist and had to interview the likes of Brian Clough each week whilst both worked at Nottingham . The pro`s and grammar are excellent too. A truly wonderful read which I shall
no doubt read again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Footballer who could Fly, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lifelong Newcastle supporter I wallowed in the nostalgia of this extremely well written book. This is such good journalism, even those not interested in football would appreciate the love and respect Duncan Hamilton felt for his late father. A wonderful insight into the thoughts of iconic footballers such as Stanley Matthews, Bobby Charlton and Jackie Milburn amongst so many others. An ideal Christmas or birthday present to any football fan. Bill Hopkins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Footballer Who Could Fly (Paperback)
For any football fan, particularly a Newcastle Utd fan this is a must, even more so if you and your father share the same passion for the beautiful game. Such a good read, should have won sports book of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I expected, 22 April 2014
By 
Mr. Robert I. Welsh (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Footballer Who Could Fly (Paperback)
Superb book about footie in the North East where players were once idolised. Written in such a strange manner as to make it really enjoyable from a Granddads viewpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Footballer Who Could Fly (Paperback)
I read the rave reviews for this book, and I enjoyed it but was expecting something more than anecdotes about the author's experiences as a football journalist and the reminiscences of his father. These all seemed quite disjointed and unrelated until the final chapter where the author analyses his relationship with his father, which in my opinion tied up the loose ends and was actually quite poignant. I would have enjoyed the book more if these reflections had been included as a thread throughout and not as an afterthought at the end. A pleasant and interesting read however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Footballer Who Could Fly
The Footballer Who Could Fly by Duncan Hamilton (Paperback - 23 May 2013)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews