Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Railman
A very compelling read. An at times moving account of the stories of railway employees during WW2. There are several stories of the sheer, often unacknowledged, heroism of the railway community, and the superb organisation of the services, often at short notice. The railways unarguably played a major part in the war and if you take D-Day as one example, it could not...
Published 20 months ago by cairns

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written by a journalist, not a railway person ...
Clearly written by a journalist, not a railway person or enthusiast. So many errors I have taken to marking them on the pages as I go through. For example, page 10. It was not two men and their steed that did the non-stop run from King's Cross to Edinburgh, it was four men. Mr Williams appears to be guilty of the journalist's classic confusion between Flying Scotsman, the...
Published 7 months ago by Icedancer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Railman, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
cairns (Haddington) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very compelling read. An at times moving account of the stories of railway employees during WW2. There are several stories of the sheer, often unacknowledged, heroism of the railway community, and the superb organisation of the services, often at short notice. The railways unarguably played a major part in the war and if you take D-Day as one example, it could not have gone as relatively smoothly or as quickly without the significant input of the railways. There is a short piece at the end where the Author was telling an Historian what he was going to do, and the Historian was dismissive of the railways part in WW2. He could not have been more wrong. A fantastic read, and would be enjoyed across the spectrum, not just by rail enthusiasts. There is a slight bias to the London area, but many of the incidents happened there so that is to be expected. On the whole one of the best(of many) books that I have read, and certainly one of great enlightenment, Go out and buy it. The author uses references from the superb "Railway Women" by Helena Wojtczak. Go out and buy this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping & Moving, 19 Nov. 2013
This is a superb read, well researched and well written by the author. The railwaymen and women have never really received the credit they deserve for their war work - without the railways the war would definitely not have been won - troops, evacuees, armour and armaments, sick, PoW's as well as the oil and coal to power these and the nation and the normal fare paying public -all needed to be moved often at night with no lighting and often under heavy bombing. There are stories of immense bravery and tragic loss from both the big 4 railway companies but also the brave work that London Transport employees had to go through - a recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bort for a fan of steam trains and W11. happy :-D, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bort this book for my dad as part of xmas presents. He loves trains and the war! Brilliant, his two favourite subjects in one book! He seamed v pleased.a glance thru the book.it seams a good read. :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great railway wartime read, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steaming to Victory: How Britain's Railways Won the War (Paperback)
Another great railway wartime read, filled with stacks of information. The people who worked the railways during the war really were incedibly brave folk. i am glad that I have a copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steaming to Victory, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love reading books about the war years and the railways. An excellent book and very well written and researched. Worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars remembrance, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steaming to Victory: How Britain's Railways Won the War (Paperback)
Memories of being evacuated twice by train at age of seven and post-war holidays from 1947 too Cornwall with my brother and having at Paddington to first being dragged along to see the steam engine on the Cornish Riviera express, and having to sit on our luggage in the corridor , and seeing advertising boards saying we were nearing the strong. Country which I took literally instead of it being the name of a brewery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Read, 9 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Imelda" (a village in Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How I loved this book! My father worked on the railways as a very young man, as did his father and great grandfather. Our family holidays as children were spent at preserved railways so I have a family interest.

We don't really think much about the Home Front during WW2 other than to think of plucky Londoners enduring the Blitz, evacuees and rationing but this book really brings home of what the railways, the management and more importantly the employees did throughout WW2 to keep the war machjne running.

There is an anecdote about a Driver seeing his house being bombed with all his family in it, being forced to carry on with his job and his fireman catching a glimpse of his dirty face riddled with tears as he lit a cigarette that had me in tears - and now even as I write.

Read it and weep for what was and how the railways were never recompensed for their supreme effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steaming to Victory, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had borrowed this book from the Library Service but quickly realised that I wanted to enjoy it over a long period and have it to refer to in future. It covers the second world war period which is a time of interest to me. It arrived in perfect condition and at a good price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Depiction of a time, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandad worked on the railways around Chester, and qualified as a shunter whilst there. He never talked about it, as if he was ashamed. He died in 2001 of Alzheimer's. After reading this marvellous depiction of the period I regret he could not speak of it. At most he would talk of avoiding the Redcaps to visit my pregnant Nana. I get a harrowing picture of dark, dangerous times, without directions on signs or lights in the dark. I would recommend this book unreservedly, and the Further reading list to explore . My hero grandad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Railways in World War Two i9n Britain, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another useful semi reference book of interest to those studying World War Two at any level and in particular those who are railway enthusiastis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steaming to Victory: How Britain's Railways Won the War
Steaming to Victory: How Britain's Railways Won the War by Michael Williams (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2014)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews