Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham - but different
Don't buy this book if you're looking for a legal thriller as you may well be disappointed. I'm a keen Grisham fan and bought the book anyway and really enjoyed the book for what it is: a feel good story about an American moving to Italy and discovering another way of life. Take the book for what it is and enjoy.
Published on 18 Dec 2010 by Lord Nelson

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For American Football fans!
Grisham steps away from the legal world to write about the tribulations of American Football player Rick Dockery and his enforced move to Palma, Italy to play for local team `The Panthers'. Although it takes a while for him to adjust, Rick soon falls in love with the locals and shares their lust for food, architecture and most of all, football.

Although this...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by SilentSinger


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham - but different, 18 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Kindle Edition)
Don't buy this book if you're looking for a legal thriller as you may well be disappointed. I'm a keen Grisham fan and bought the book anyway and really enjoyed the book for what it is: a feel good story about an American moving to Italy and discovering another way of life. Take the book for what it is and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For American Football fans!, 19 Nov 2007
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Hardcover)
Grisham steps away from the legal world to write about the tribulations of American Football player Rick Dockery and his enforced move to Palma, Italy to play for local team `The Panthers'. Although it takes a while for him to adjust, Rick soon falls in love with the locals and shares their lust for food, architecture and most of all, football.

Although this book doesn't make a huge amount of sense if you don't understand the intricacies of the Superbowl, the intricate descriptions of the gastronomic delights and architecture will warm even the frostiest of readers. There's also quite a nice love story woven into the book, which juxtaposes nicely with the match play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd play for pizza!, 11 Mar 2008
By 
C. Dee (Dudley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Hardcover)
As with the other reviews this isn't your typical John Grisham book. Yet, I thoroughly enjoyed it. So much I was disappointed when I had finished reading it! The idea of this book is based upon a washed up American footballer,giving his career a go in Italy. However, this doesn't mean you have to be interested in American Football to like it. Grisham, sets the scenes brilliantly, and makes you think you are actually in Parma, and want to be Italian. It really gives you a feel for what living in another culture is like,, the American Football is there because it's something that is an unusual and unexpected thing in this part of the world! Great stuff, a good change from the court room battles of previous novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Getting lazy?, 4 July 2008
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Paperback)
I've enjoyed a number of Mr Grisham's books. This, however, is not one of them. It's a serviceable little thing - solid plot, some local colour and a saccharine ambience --- but Oh how thin compared to earlier titles! There is just no meat. My guess is that this might have made a little novella or a screen-play (perhaps it was)....but the brain is never tested or, worse still, stimulated. The trouble with a brand like Mr G's is that he has to pump a new title out every few weeks just to keep the machine moving....he might remember that good brands takes years to build and seconds to lose. His is, on the basis of this title, teetering on the brink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOMETHING DIFFERENT....., 25 Sep 2007
By 
Molly Peters (CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book it is not the typical Grisham thriller Which really do not interest me any more. This the story of Pro quarterback Rick Dockery who has become the laughing stock of the NFL. The team his agent can find him is an Italian team that plays in a European league. This is a fish out of water story, Rick Has never been to Europe and knows nothing about Italy and all he knows about Italians is from watching American gangster movies. This of course makes from some cute and funny situations. While not a thriller the book does have some surprising twists. Good entertaining, feel good read! For aother fish out of water story I highly recommend "Across the High Lonesome!" it will have you laughing and crying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light, frothy and thoroughly enjoyable, 30 Jun 2009
By 
E. M. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Paperback)
I was very surprised that this book has so many negative reviews. I found it very enjoyable and amusing, and I don't even like American football. The book did a good job of capturing the Italian culture and mentality, like their obsession with Italian food and sport. It gently poked fun at both American and Italian stereotypes and the differences between the two nations. Even the football game chapters were easy to read (and I know nothing about the rules of the game).

I agree, it is NOT the subject you's associate John Grisham with. If you were looking for an intense Grisham courtroom drama then you would be disappointed. But then, surely the title alone is a give-away that this story isn't based in a courtroom? It's just a shame that this book is getting so many negative reviews for not being 'mainsteam Grisham', when it never aimed to be that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not everyone will like it - but I did, 13 Jun 2008
By 
K. Chivers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Hardcover)
I like Grisham's writing style.
I like American Football
I like 'Rocky' type sports comeback tales.
I like Italian food, wine and culture.
....
So I really enjoyed this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, Not your usual Grisham, 9 Sep 2008
By 
D. G. Knight "David K" (County Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Paperback)
Having read every Grisham book, every now and again you get something different. This is one such instance. Yes, JG has build his name and reputation on courtroom/legal issues and tales of the deep south but when you can tell a story like JG, I think its great that he deviates from his normal path from time to time. Skipping Christmas and Bleachers were other examples.
This book is quite simply an easy read. A nice story in a nice setting. JG manages to describe the sumptious food and the Italian passion for the game like no other. I really enjoyed it. Whilst his other stuff is page turning with readers wanting to know the next twist in the plot, this is still a page turner because its so well written and we want to know how sucessful the main character is going to be in his new life. In summary a good read, perfect for holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Lawyers, No Plot .............. No Grisham, 15 Oct 2007
By 
J. Messenger (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Hardcover)
Cannot disagree with any of the low rated reviews here. This story is weak 'fluff' from Grisham. Unless you are an expert in American Football most of the 'game plays' will leave you cold. The romance element is pure Mills & Boon and if I didn't think better of him would believe that Grisham wants to work for Thomas Cook. After reading the harrowing 'The Innocent Man' I cannot believe this is the same author. Someone wrote this was a "fun book which will keep you laughing" - my edition must have been missing those pages. The only guys laughing are Grisham and his bank manager. An extremely disappointed and unfulfilling book. Next time I will read the reviews before purchasing because of the authors name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very poor, 13 July 2008
By 
Jeff "roadrunner" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Playing for Pizza (Paperback)
Big-headed American guy who's a failure at home, goes to play NFL football in Italy. SORRY!!! I've given away the plot!!!!
Complete and total rubbish. Grisham should be ashamed of books like this. He's exploiting his readership where good people who are earning a tiny fraction of what he is are spending money on his books. I'm finished with him. No more. Or are his money-grabbing publishers to blame? Whatever. Learn your lesson. I ain't comin back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playing for Pizza
Playing for Pizza by John Grisham (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews