Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tey at the top of her form
This (posthumously published) novel shows Tey at her best. Inspector Alan Grant, on his way by train to Scotland for a long-overdue spell of R&R, is on hand when a young man's body is found in an adjoining compartment. By accident, he finds himself in possession of a clue that hints that something wasn't right about the young man's death; in his pursuit of the...
Published on 4 July 1998

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too dated to be enjoyable?
Josephine Tey is the most elegant and stylish of murder mystery writers. With her dry wit, spare prose and aristocratic disdain, she's the perfect antidote to the more gossipy, sensationalist and middle class Agatha Christie, who was her contemporary (though Tey died in 1952). She wasn't nearly as prolific as Christie (who was?) and these days she's not nearly as well...
Published on 15 Oct. 2011 by Bookwoman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Kindle Edition)
Old fashioned well written good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. A near classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It took me 2 years to read!, 15 Jan. 2013
By 
A. Richards (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book in the end. I bought the book 2 years ago. After reading a few pages, I just could not get into it and put it on the bookshelf to gain dust. Last week, I picked it up in a desperate measure as I had nothing else to read. I persevered a bit more. I must admit it took me a while to get into it, but then I suppose I got used to her style of writing and finished the book within 2 days.

It centres around a body being found on a train with an unfinished poem written on the back of a newspaper and the obsession of a detective to get to the bottom of the mystery of what happened and who the dead guy was.

The story is from another time, so don't expect a modern mystery. It kind of reminded me of "Murder She Wrote" style, when everything at the end is tied up nicely and explained. A gentle, pleasant read which doesn't tax the brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Kindle Edition)
This is Josephine Tey's last book and was published posthumously. It isn't my favourite Tey novel but the quality of writing is good and like all her work is a pleasure to read. As with her other detective novels this is an example of the Golden Age of detective fiction

Recovering from a nervous breakdown Inspector Alan Grant travels up to the Highlands to spend a recuperative holiday with an old school friend who is married to Grant's cousin Laura. As he leaves the sleeper train at his destination the dead body of a fellow traveller is discovered. Inadvertently Grant picks up a paper belonging to the dead man which has a mysterious hand written verse in it. This leads Grant to doubt the perceived identity of the deceased and sets him off on an investigation of his own.

The Scottish background is beautifully evoked and, as ever with Tey, there are some well drawn characters, Tey was obviously not a supporter of Scottish Nationalism as Wee Archie a fervent advocate is very unsympathetically portrayed. However this book was written in the early 1950s and her views could well be different today.

I wasn't totally convinced by the end though it was neat and tidy. Overall a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Paperback)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sort of book you really do not want to put down!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Kindle Edition)
The authoress manages to hold ones interest by moving smoothly from one topic to the next.
Suitable for readers who like to solve the puzzles together with the storey.
I would have preferred a happier ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable read, 23 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Paperback)
Well written, interesting, fun. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good holiday read, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down and spent ages into the night. Enjoyable and intelligent Thank goodness it was on kindle. Brillant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Paperback)
Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lethal obsession, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Sands (Paperback)
Suspenseful, sophisticated and compulsively readable, abounding in interesting ideas and original observations. The reasons for Grant's quest for the truth are fascinating. Tey achieves the rare feat -- for a Golden Age mystery author, that is -- of making you care about her characters. The dead young romantic, the widowed Lady Kentallen, the American Tad, the hubristic Heron Lloyd, Grant himself -- they all stay in the mind long after one has finished the book. NB Make sure you read Tey's absolute masterpiece Brat Farrar as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singing Sands
The Singing Sands by Josephine Tey (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews