Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying mystery
My introduction to Josephine Tey's novels was through The Daughter Of Time way back in the 1960s. It is only recently that I've started reading her other novels and I am finding them to be every bit as good as that one. This novel includes Marta Hallard - an actress friend of Alan Grant, the Scotland Yard Detective Inspector who both featured in `The Daughter of...
Published on 2 Oct 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loose Change
Tey is a brilliant writer of character studies, with her strength lying in her portrayals of younger women and girls. Unlike her later mysteries though, "Candles" has one of the weakest endings in the entire genre of mystery writing. Still, the characters are so brilliantly drawn, it is just plain fun to read about them. After the first five chapters, the...
Published on 26 Aug 1998


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To love and be wise, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this one. Again it was very nostalgic and although I do like horses, may be there was a bit too much horseyculture. Suspense until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Josephine Tey - the best of detective stories, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Pym Disposes (Paperback)
This is a detective story written by one of my favourite writers in the genre. Although this is not her best book it is very well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To love and be wise by Josephine Tey, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love And Be Wise (Paperback)
Josephin Teys books are well written with very good caracter descriptions. They are more fiction than detective stories. To love and be wise is not her best book, but it has a surprising ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shilling For Candles (Paperback)
As expected, a great read. Josephine Tey is such a readable writer.

I don't normally read "who-dunits" but her books are an exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Miss Pym Disposes (Paperback)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the characters did not grab my interest at all as usual her descriptions are very good the story seems flat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feeble, 18 Jan 2013
By 
R. Bland (Dunblane, Perthshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of Tey's books are fine (e.g. Brat Farrar, or The Franchise Affair) but this is insipid, and the denouement is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit weird, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Pym Disposes (Paperback)
I love Josephine Tey's books but this one was not very interesting. The writing was excellent (hence the rating) but the story was poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Shilling for Candles, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannot review this book as I have not finished reading it, but have found it interesting as far as I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Pym Disposes (Kindle Edition)
I had this book downloaded to my kindle with two other Josephine Tay titles.For me this book was hard work to read as there is too much detail and I had to skip over whole paragraphs I admit to not finishing this book and have now deleted from the kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Pym Disposes
Miss Pym Disposes by Josephine Tey (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews