Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up there with the best books of modern warfare
Before i write this revew i have to say that i am a modern warfare fanatic and have read books like 'Black Hawk Down' by Mark Bowden,'Bravo Two Zero' by Andy Mcnab,'3Para' by Patrick Bishop and Countless other Fictional Books by Andy Mcnab and Chris Ryan, anyway get to the point this book is one of the best of them and probally equally gripping as 'Black hawk down' when i...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by T. Glover

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great journal but not so inspiring
I had read Andy McNab's Bravo Two Zero a few years ago and bought this as an impulse buy. It is naturally a classic chronicle of pure British spirit and mastery in evade and escape army (SAS) tactics across the barren and frozen Western Iraqi desert. At this level it is a recommended read. However, it was not as well scripted as McNab's journal, and in many times came...
Published on 25 Jun 2010 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up there with the best books of modern warfare, 3 Jan 2008
By 
T. Glover (watts,LA but now london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
Before i write this revew i have to say that i am a modern warfare fanatic and have read books like 'Black Hawk Down' by Mark Bowden,'Bravo Two Zero' by Andy Mcnab,'3Para' by Patrick Bishop and Countless other Fictional Books by Andy Mcnab and Chris Ryan, anyway get to the point this book is one of the best of them and probally equally gripping as 'Black hawk down' when i first read this book i thought he was downright over confident but at the end I truelly beleaved he had the right to be confident seeing as he survived Terrible Conditions,No food,No water (apart from little amounts and some that had nuclear waste in it) and the end i thought how in earth did he survive just how i felt about some of the people involved in Black Hawk down
anyway if you do buy this im not going to spoil it but it is truely a brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair Play..., 13 Aug 2005
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. After reading other reviews about both Mcnab and Ryan I was a bit on the defensive when reading this book.
Ryan is an obviously confident person and so some of the things that he writes could be taken the wrong way by people who are intimidated by confidence.
I found his account gripping and I read it in two days. Could not stop reading.
So, pay little attention to the people who criticise Ryan (or Mcnab) because until you've gone through it, well its best to keep quiet.
Worth the read and again it just added to my respect for the boys in 22.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 21 Feb 2011
A Kid's Review
This is a really good book and I have truly enjoyed it. The book is full of information and action.
I would definitely recommend it.
Adam (book bought by my mum)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great journal but not so inspiring, 25 Jun 2010
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
I had read Andy McNab's Bravo Two Zero a few years ago and bought this as an impulse buy. It is naturally a classic chronicle of pure British spirit and mastery in evade and escape army (SAS) tactics across the barren and frozen Western Iraqi desert. At this level it is a recommended read. However, it was not as well scripted as McNab's journal, and in many times came across as a diary or journal with only limited human insights into character, determination and perseverance. These traits could have been explored more to add inspiration. In addition, the forward and post script themselves seemed to contribute a third of the whole book, which seemed to drag on rather than contribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic action - Gripping in the extreme!!!, 10 Sep 2003
By 
Mark J Trumper (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
I loved Andy McNab's Bravo Two Zero, so when I saw the adverts for Chris Ryan's take on the same covert events deep behind Iraqi enemy lines, I couldn't wait to conscript!! Ryan bills himself as the realist to McNab's dreamer and this is borne out by his gritty and gripping approach to prose. Where Bravo Two Zero owed more to McNab's magical realism The One That Got Away is more about Ryan's no-nonsense, crash-bang-wallop feel for realistic special forces action.
This book is NOT a disappointment. It's gratifying to read such well crafted prose from a man that's actually been there and done it in the worlds premier elite fighting force. This gives Ryan's writing so much more authority and edge than other more run of the mill "war novelists" like Solzhenitzhen or Pat Barker, who may string write pretty words together but would struggle if they had to yomp 250 clicks in a week across hostile enemy terrain.
Another aspect of the book that's often overlooked is the sense of empowerment that's brought to the reader. Having read this book, I now feel that if placed in a "potential enemy flashpoint" I have the skills and tactical abilities to "neutralise" any threats, or at least talk a good game in the pub thereby impressing my mates. And let's face it that's what it's all about, eh?
Couldn't ask for more in a work of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tail of an SAS man running behind Iraqi lines, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
Chris Ryan has been deployed with 7 other men behind Iraqi lines. His job is to check for scuds and report them in. His only hardship is his poor maps, wrong radio freqencies and lack of equipment. When a boy spots them and tips of the Iraqi soldiers, they have to do a runner. With bitter cold and enemy soldiers one-by-one the men get captured or killed from exposure. Chris Ryan makes it to the Saudi border with little food and little water. It takes him seven days to make it to the Saudi border and he covers 200 miles in that time. A brilliant book which I would give 5/5. And if your an SAS fan you'll buy it for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Levelling the balance, 10 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
During the Gulf War an 8 man patrol was compromised behind enemy lines without any radio communications. Despite local Iraqi forces being put on alert, the patrol refused to give up. Of the eight, 3 died, 4 were captured and 1, Chris Ryan, escaped. I came to this book having read Andy McNabb's Bravo Two Zero. I was at times disturbed Andy's 'Boys own' attitude. This was a refreshing change. Instead of presenting shortages of equipment, intelligence and support as challenges, Chris Ryan describes them as what they are: failure to support front line soldiers. He gives an insight into the 'Regiment' at war when it was in its largest formation since World War II. If you've read Bravo Two Zero, I strongly reccomend you read this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping tale of endurance and courage, 25 Mar 2007
By 
L. Hay "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
I could not put this book down. Chris Ryan has become a household name and I hold him in the highest regard. However, the discrepancies which have occurred between this work and Bravo Two Zero have become the subject of much speculation. Nevertheless, I take my hat off to Mr Ryan.

Read it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He walked the walk... He talks the talk, 11 Mar 2005
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
Having read numerous books, both fact and fiction, relating to special forces, I have to give 2 thumbs up to this particular work by Chris Ryan. A celebration of human endurance and the will to survive along with insights into the human spirit in an almost hopeless situation. Ryan not only gives accurate details of his thoughts and actions during his amazing trek, but also gives the reader a glimpse of what SAS training is all about. It's rare that any soldier would come face to face with the reality and such missfortune as Ryan did, but as you read this book you have the opportunity to follow Ryan on a journey of survial and almost 'experience' the fear, the drive and the shear will to live he experiences. Falling upon skills he developed during all the years of his training within the British Army including the SAS, Chris Ryan was able to achieve an almost impossible task, one that I personaly feel, only a true, trained, expert in survial could achieve.
A first rate, fact filled book... 'Who Dares Wins ' Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War history, 16 Nov 2009
By 
monkey (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
Once again a very good book from a good author. lots of detail and infomation. Having been on patrol wet, cold and miserable myself, I could realy understand and feel his pain and fear. Whilst based on a true mission, It reads well flowing like a good story should. I didn't want to put it down.

He speaks very honestly about the lack of support after action, and this rings a lot of bells with me. I have nothing but admiration for him and all his companions. Its about time the public learnt about what goes on in the Army.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The One That Got Away
The One That Got Away by Chris Ryan (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews