Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Campus Novel
Quite simply, this is one of the great campus novels. Believe me - as a PhD student, I am amazed at the way Lodge draws humour from the often dry and slightly weird world of academia. You don't need to have a degree to read this book, though - it is a wonderful example of the way two worlds that are not as different as you may think interact. very, very funny. To me, it...
Published on 2 Oct 2002 by J. Whitworth

versus
1 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars get the dictionary!
this book requires a dictionary if you want to understand every single word in the book. However, if you skip all the literary and factory jargon, it doesnt really make a difference to the story. A good book for a quiet sit down and relax but not so easy to interpret in an essay for students. The story is pretty predictable. It's easy to write an essay if you remove...
Published on 21 Dec 2001 by deranged-angel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Campus Novel, 2 Oct 2002
By 
J. Whitworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
Quite simply, this is one of the great campus novels. Believe me - as a PhD student, I am amazed at the way Lodge draws humour from the often dry and slightly weird world of academia. You don't need to have a degree to read this book, though - it is a wonderful example of the way two worlds that are not as different as you may think interact. very, very funny. To me, it screams out for a sequel (although Robyn makes a cameo in Thinks..). I would love to know what she's up to today! Someone should slap a preservation order on Lodge.
Better than the History Man - better than Lucky Jim. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cross-profession comedy as academia and industry collide, 11 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
Lodge's talent is at full force here in one of his earlier novels; set in the fictional town of Rummidge (as are "Changing places" and Small World", two of his later novels), "Nice Work" charts the entry of an attractive female university English lecturer, Robyn Penrose, into the life of Vic Wilcox, gruff middle aged MD of an engineering factory. Set up as part of an Industry Year exchange, Robyn follows Vic around, viewing for the first time a world she knows nothing about and casting her sensitive and educated eye over all that she sees. The comic mismatch beteen the couple is a joy to read as Lodge expertly switches between the world of the univesity campus, with all its pretentious enquiry and the rougher, more competitive environment of the factory workplace. Inevitably, sparks fly as the two discover the fallacy of their previously-held notions of the other's profession and learn to accept the differences. Written with flair and perfect comic timing, it is a must for any reader, whether a Lodge fan or not. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read it, 24 Aug 2010
By 
CG (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
I think that all students of English Literature should read this. It is better than any number of theory books that they will ever come across and much more fun. I've read it more times than I can remember and always get something new from it. It's also great for cheering yourself up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time in the Midlands, 15 Nov 2007
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
Nice Work is a clever, well-constructed comedy and social commentary about a clash of cultures in a fictional Midlands town in the mould of Birmingham. Well-paced and meticulously plotted, the novel revolves around the unlikely convergence of Dr Robyn Penrose - a professor of Women's studies and purporter of deconstructuralist and feminist theory - and Vic Wilcox, MD of an industrial engineering plant. Written aptly at a time of great social transformation (Thatcher, class strife, the decline of industry and massive cuts to public spending) David Lodge pieces together an astute oberservation of British life. Moreover, he is a master at developing tangible and appealing characters by telling the story - alternately - from their perspective. Billed as 'the campus novel meets the industrial novel', this is a highly readable and thought-provoking work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Lodge's best, 15 May 2012
By 
D. Sedgwick "DSedgwick" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
The worlds of academia and industry collide very deftly in this, one of Lodge's finest, if not his best novel to date. Opposites it seems often do attract, but more often than not are simply thrown together through circumstances. The ups and downs of the protagonmists relationship are superbly drawn. The only reason it's not a 5-star is the rather contrived ending. Charlotte Bronte and the victorians could not have come up with anything less believable!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply charming!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
I enjoyed it very much and couldn't even suspect the reading of this book would give me so much pleasure. Love both Lodge's style, his smooth but smart irony, the way he speaks about quite serious and deep things, but does it without affectedness. I'd recommend it as a quality and worthy reading for those who care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nice Work (Paperback)
This is a wonderful satire on universities and business - particularly in the mid 80s. It captures the mood of "the cuts" and universities in the 1980s like nothing else I've read. You can see it, very loosely, as the final member of a trilogy (formed by "Changing places" and "Small world"), but you don't need to have read the other two in order to appreciate this one. It is immensely readable (I didn't need a dictionary once), and fully deserved its Booker nomination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from David Lodge, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Work (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the story about two opposites and how they eventually come together. He is the Managing Director of an engineering company and she is a Doctor in English lecturing at university on English literature, especially the role of women in novels of the industrial revolution.
I do not like the excess amount of English language theory that gets rather boring but is evident in all David Lodge's books and is the reason why I could not give it 5 stars. His best book is Paradise News which I would give 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice work by David Lodge paperback version, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Work (Kindle Edition)
Prompt delivery and a good story. Dropped a star because the print was so small. I'm not that young anymore so I also purchased the kindle version so I could control the size of print. First Kindle book I've bought and put it on my Android tablet. Much better.

KeithW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A perceptive social comment!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Work (Kindle Edition)
I particularly liked the contrasts between the life philosophies of the characters and thought this reflected what happens in our society.
It was well written and easy to read but I found it amusing rather than hilariously funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nice Work
Nice Work by David Lodge (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews