Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He entered the market with one of the best books of our time
It was a book of depth, daring writing and nail- biting moments. This book had everything anyone would want when it comes to Action, Fact-based plots and daring characters. The book follows the path of it's two central characters: The Jackal and The man employed to track him down. The Jackal is an international assassin employed by a rebellious organistion to murder...
Published on 18 Sep 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great plot...
...but very old and shows it... If you enjoyed the film you might want to give the book a miss, although, still a damn fine read... Three out of five for me I'm afraid
Published 5 months ago by Mr. J. Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch detective story., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Frederick Forsyth is the master of the nearly (but could be) true thriller, one of only a handful of authors who regularly create a gripping, unputdownable tale of such believability. No doubt there were many in post-war France who would like to have bumped off de Gaulle; did this particular attempt actually happen? We'll never know, but what a great story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Donald Hughes (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Day Of The Jackal (Paperback)
Even at the third time of reading, this book is impossible to put down. Every step of the complex plot feels authentic and it is gripping throughout. I felt very sad that the Jackal did not succeed!
Still one of my all-time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Days don't get better than this, 5 Aug 2012
By 
R ASPLIN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day Of The Jackal (Paperback)
Let's be frank here. If your weekend was two days, one of the of the triffids and the other one of the Jackal, you'd probably have to have your blood pressure checked. This is where folk like Lee Child learned to write nerve-shredding suspense, techie gun-play, gripping step by step set ups and cat and mouse mindgames to rival Tom and Jerry at their most inventive.
The story pounds along with pace and verve and tourniquet-tight plotting without a wasted word or flabby scene to be found. For those not in the know, the story involves a militant right-wing group called the OAS who feel betrayed by Charles De Gaulle's grant of independence to Algeria. To wipe him out, they must hire an assassin from abroad who spends the entire book avoiding capture, planning his hit, getting false identities, advanced rifles, swapping cars and identities while the global authorities who have got wind of the plan chase him about Europe, always 5 minutes behind him.
It's a "dad" book in the best possible way. The assassination is played out in skin itching real time and one has to remember to breath out during the finale for fear of dropping dead. I urge you to give it a try whether you're a fan of a thriller or not. This is how it's done. Bourne, Reacher and the rest are the sons of The Jackal. Find out how it began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 7 Mar 2012
There are books that pioneer an area of literature and evolve into the definitive reference future authors writing in that gendre use. This is the classic manhunt - before mobiles, computers and the plethora of modern aids used by the law enforcement agencies today. Frederick Forsyth builds a story based on key facts with a lot of fiction but as you turn the last page you will wonder - "Did this actually happen?" To me that is a mark of a good read - it gets you thinking and keeps you thinking - the hunt for an asssassin from the hunter's and the hunted point of view - I have read this countless times and give it full marks for standing the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere Inbetween..., 2 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day Of The Jackal (Paperback)
My opinion of this book sits somewhere between the reviewers who think this is the most brilliant thriller ever written and the one who said "as a book this is totally boring." Yes, there are boring moments whilst the plot is laid - some of the French history and terminology can be hard to get to grips with - but there are moments of utter brilliance too. I bought this book on the strength of the first line "It is cold at six-forty in the morning of a March day in Paris, and seems even colder when a man is about to be executed by firing squad". As an opener, it's hard to beat and if you can stick with the next fifty or so pages which set the entire plot up, then you're in for a rollicking rollercoaster ride whilst you follow the enigmatic Jackal through his meticulous preparations for the assassination of Charles De Gaulle. For me, one of the real strengths of this book as a piece of literature is the fact that Forsyth does not seem to take sides at all, favouring none of his characters over the other. Ask yourself, do you want the Jackal to win? Do you want Lebel? Are you with Rodin? Or the politicians? It's so hard to tell and Forsyth isn't giving away any clues. If he writes of any of his creations with warmth, it is fleeting (and more so in the case of Lebel than any of the others.) Whatever you may think, this book is certainly in a class by itself and at times can be very hard to put down indeed. It is original and beyond compare and personally I think it would have been a real shame if it hadn't been published at all. My advice would be don't miss it (but skim read the boring bits).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive to the last, 23 Aug 2003
By 
M. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Day Of The Jackal (Paperback)
Such a celebrated thriller as this needs no introduction, but here goes anyway: In 1963, a secret para-military group, desperate to overthrow French President Charles de Gaulle, contracts an anonymous young Englishman, given the code-name Jackal, to assassinate him.
That's pretty much it. What follows is 400 and odd pages of incredibly detailed and exciting story, with the Jackal, on one hand, crafting a convoluted and intricate plan to kill de Gaulle during an very public event, and on the other a French detective named Lebel who's desperately trying to piece the Jackal's jigsaw together and catch him first. The two stories collide in an incredible climax.
What appealed to me most about this book was the author's amazing picture of the Jackal. He's described by Forsyth as an inhumanly methodical and careful man, who only shows brief glimmers of any humanity whatsoever. Lebel, on the other hand, is driven to distraction trying to chase him as he chameleonically changes his identity a number of times, and having to cope with de Gaulle's total refusal to admit there is even any danger.
This is what thriller-writing is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for anyone who enjoys suspence., 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Knowing the outcome of this book (the fact that Charles De Gaulle was not assassinated) makes it no less thrilling. Forsyth keeps the suspense constant and the characters brilliant. I could barely finish one page for the anticipation of the next. I strongly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best ..., 11 May 2006
By 
Somnambulist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Day Of The Jackal (Paperback)
This is without a doubt, the best suspense thriller I have ever read. From start to finish there is no slack in the narrative, no unecessary flowery descriptions, and no putting it down.

Chacal is pursued throughout a rollercoaster plot, by the forces of the French state. By the end, you're left cursing the forces of good, and celebrating the underdog.

Go on - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, a classic work of literature. Trust me., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day Of The Jackal (Paperback)
Quite simply the ultimate hitman book of all time. Every Hollywood espionage, or assassination film made after this book was published, references, or copies it in some way. If you've never read it, or seen the film, (the original obviously. Please don't bother with the remake, it only uses the name to sell it.), you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exceptionally Good Thriller, 10 April 2014
By 
C. E. Utley "Charles Utley" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will not be alone in having not read The Day of the Jackal (until now) on the silly grounds that I had seen and loved the film. What's the point, I used to say to myself, in reading a thriller when I already know what happens?

But I now know that really was a silly attitude. To start with, and this is no spoiler, it doesn't matter at all that the reader already knows that the plot to assassinate de Gaulle will not succeed. I say that is not a spoiler because, very sensibly, Forsyth tells us, early in the book, that de Gaulle retired and died in old age in his bed. He could, of course, have written a novel about an attempt to kill de Gaulle which succeeded, even though every reader would know that never happened in real life. Wisely, he preferred to produce a story which could easily have been true. His honesty, in making it clear from the outset that he was not re-writing history, is greatly to be applauded. The result is a gripping account of something that really could have happened. Never does the reader have to suspend disbelief.

Another fear I had, before at last deciding to read the novel, was that I would find it much too dated. But that, too, was foolish of me. There is absolutely nothing dated about the author's style. The story, of course, is set in 1963, but it could have been written yesterday. The language is clear, plain and incredibly well crafted. Many much younger writers, now producing best sellers which, compared with this novel, are frankly second rate, could learn a great deal from a story-teller who never tries to be too clever, who simply spins a yarn which grips the reader from beginning to end.

True, I knew, because I have seen the film several times, exactly what was going to happen. But that was no problem at all. Forsyth kept my attention throughout.

This really is a masterpiece.

Charles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day Of The Jackal
The Day Of The Jackal by Frederick Forsyth (Paperback - 15 Jun 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews