Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read
Don't let me go is the latest book by Susan Lewis, and one of her best yet. Don't let me go follows on from one of her previous books "no child of mine". Charlotte & Chloe have started a new life in New Zealand, with Charlottes new found family, life is perfect Chloe appears to be putting the terrible abuse she suffered at the hands of her father behind her, with the...
Published 17 months ago by loves books

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another title for Lewis' followers
Susan Lewis is the best-selling author of twenty-nine novels and two memoirs - this is no mean feat. Her most recent novel is Don't Let Me Go.
Charlotte has a secret. Escaping to New Zealand with her little daughter Chloe to build a new life with her newly found birth mother and her husband, the idyllic setting does little to allay her fears. Chloe has been...
Published 17 months ago by Louise Ward


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Hardcover)
Don't let me go is the latest book by Susan Lewis, and one of her best yet. Don't let me go follows on from one of her previous books "no child of mine". Charlotte & Chloe have started a new life in New Zealand, with Charlottes new found family, life is perfect Chloe appears to be putting the terrible abuse she suffered at the hands of her father behind her, with the love and support of her new family. All this changes, when the truth of Chloe's abduction is passed onto the authorities. Charlotte and Chloe must suffer the consequences of Charlotte abducting Chloe and taking her to New Zealand. Justice must be served, despite Charlottes obvious love for Chloe, they are torn apart, by the British legal system and social services, and so begins the long fight to reunite a mother and daughter. I was so pleased when I realised Susan Lewis was going to write up a follow up to "no child of mine", and I was not disappointed "don't let me go", pulls you in from the first page full of compassion, intrigue and hope, you find yourself rooting for Charlotte and Chloe, as they fight the British Justice system and Social services. Susan appears to have done lots of research on this book and it shows in the writing, although this book deals with the harrowing subject of child abuse, this is in most part an uplifting read, although I do have to confess I had a couple of "tearful" moments! I would recommend reading "no child of mine" first. although not essential, it is well worth reading as it helps to set the scene for "don't let me go". Susan Lewis is a author who goes from strength to strength in my opinion and always writes difficult story lines with compassion and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another title for Lewis' followers, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Louise Ward (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Hardcover)
Susan Lewis is the best-selling author of twenty-nine novels and two memoirs - this is no mean feat. Her most recent novel is Don't Let Me Go.
Charlotte has a secret. Escaping to New Zealand with her little daughter Chloe to build a new life with her newly found birth mother and her husband, the idyllic setting does little to allay her fears. Chloe has been traumatised by experiences at the hand of her father and is both clingy with her mother and suspicious of all men except Charlotte's half-brother Rick. Rick is engaged to be married and has his own secrets which he has to find a way to reveal to his fiancée and father. But as we all know, there is no hiding from the past, and in all the best stories it finds its way to come back and haunt you. Charlotte and Rick's fiancée Katie do not see eye to eye, and a little Internet searching allows Katie to learn something of Charlotte's past.
The emphasis on Charlotte's protectiveness towards her daughter Chloe in the opening chapters does get a little wearying after a while; to comfort her and rebuild her confidence her every need is pandered to and this became a bit annoying. But ultimately the novel is about the return of Charlotte's nightmare and this builds into an absorbing story.
Susan Lewis's book is more than chick-lit - that much disparaged phrase used by book snobs. Once you get beyond the idyllic setting and the family relationships this book addresses the serious subject of child pornography and as the story progresses it develops into a good thriller. Susan Lewis has a huge following and I am sure that this book will be just as well received by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!!, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Kindle Edition)
I have been looking forward to "Don't Let Me Go" the sequel to "No Child Of Mine" since July. I have to say it was well worth the wait!! Charlotte & Chloe have started a new life in New Zealand with Charlottes's mother & stepfather. It is an idyllic life & gradually little Chloe is gaining in confidence and getting over her traumatic life. Rick gets on very well with his stepsister Charlotte but his fiancé thinks that there is something between them as he seems to be holding back on making plans for a wedding & committing to buying a dream house. She makes a discovery and makes a phone call that has a devastating affect on all the family.
Excellent research providing an insight to Social Services and the Legal system has produced yet another great read. The characters were just so real to me and I found it impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No child of mine and don't let me go, 28 Feb 2013
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Kindle Edition)
2 wonderful books as all her books are. Don't let me go had me up till 4 in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor follow on to No Child Of Mine, 31 Aug 2013
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Hardcover)
I read my first Susan Lewis book last year - no child of mine - and I couldn't put it down. It's not a book you could say you loved, due to the content, but it blew me away. I was eager to read the sequel and I hoped it'd be as good as the first one.

This book follows Charlotte and Chloe, with their new life in New Zealand. But, can they keep their secret or is the past about to come back and haunt them?

It took me a while to get into the book and I wasn't rushing to pick it up. It didn't seem to be going anywhere. It took a good third before it really started. The book had some good moments - my heart was in my mouth wondering what would happen with the court case. It was, however, all very predictable.

I think the first book was considerably better and I don't think this added much to the story. I do think you have to read them in order otherwise this one wont make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 5 May 2013
By 
J. C. Tucker (Avon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Kindle Edition)
Sorry, I'm not much of a reviewer but just want to say how riveting this book is. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Kindle Edition)
A great sequel to no child of mine. Once you start reading you will not want to stop a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming read, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Kindle Edition)
This is the follow on story, "no child of mine" .which I enjoyed as much as this one. So very well written. From start to finish the book never let me down. Loved every last word. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, must read both books, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Kindle Edition)
Excellent , must read both books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story. Although I did feel you defiantly had ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Let Me Go (Paperback)
Brilliant story. Although I did feel you defiantly had to read No child of mine first. No child of mine was quite difficult to read at times,(child abuse is never an easy subject) once you could overcome this, it was a well written story. You then just had to read Don't let me go to find out what happened next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Let Me Go
Don't Let Me Go by Susan Lewis (Paperback - 29 Aug 2013)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews