Customer Reviews


383 Reviews
5 star:
 (253)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Patterson Engaging Novel
Alex Cross must be as aged as his readers. The Ex-FBI detective with a life-time experience of sensing and analysing the underlying motives and methods of the murderers he encounters continues. The more sinister and sadistic the crimes, the more he is embroiled. His family are long-suffering. This time, Alex is involved with controlling plastic surgeon, Elijah Creem who...
Published 15 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alex Cross , run
I chose this rating as I feel the "alex cross" books have lost originality. The stories are much the same, with bodies piling up and Alex Cross pulling it all together at the end. they do not "grab me" as the earlier ones did. I am not so eager to turn the page!
I still like the characters, they are old friends but I wish James Patterrson would return...
Published 15 months ago by M. D. Stimson


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Patterson Engaging Novel, 17 April 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alex Cross must be as aged as his readers. The Ex-FBI detective with a life-time experience of sensing and analysing the underlying motives and methods of the murderers he encounters continues. The more sinister and sadistic the crimes, the more he is embroiled. His family are long-suffering. This time, Alex is involved with controlling plastic surgeon, Elijah Creem who trades cosmetic surgery for sexual favours from teenage girls. He is apprehended and imprisoned but his bitterness on release is unleashed on Cross and partner Sampson. Changing his appearance lets him loose. Alongside this, a seemingly suicide of a woman and disappearance of her baby along with deaths of teenagers keep Cross active to the detriment of his family. Dr Creem has his own agenda with his accomplice Joshua.

The action of this novel belts along at a pace that keeps the attention and interest. It is typical Alex Cross and Patterson. The threat to Cross's life and the potential horrors to his family add immensely to the tension as he drives to unveil the culprits and motives. The twists and suspense are ever present. The hound-dog detective profile of Alex Cross with his drive to nail the criminals at the expense of dangers to himself and loved-ones are at the core of this book.

Long-standing readers of Alex Cross novels may say they have read it all before. Give it to a young unexposed fan of this genre (I have) and the reaction is one of total enthrallment and a desire to grab my old stockpile. Keep going Alex Cross. The stories are still first rate on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alex Cross , run, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating as I feel the "alex cross" books have lost originality. The stories are much the same, with bodies piling up and Alex Cross pulling it all together at the end. they do not "grab me" as the earlier ones did. I am not so eager to turn the page!
I still like the characters, they are old friends but I wish James Patterrson would return to his earler stle of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, well written, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Patterson delivers with this latest novel as he always does. The story continues to develop all the characters and allows you to immerse yourself in the plot. Not easy to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved every single page, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put the book down...Read it in 1 day thrilling...James Patterson at his best...can't wait for next Alex Cross adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run, 7 Jun 2013
Another brilliant book by James Patterson. Predictable in places but when you have read all his books they do fall into some similar patterns. But well worth a read. As usual couldnt put it down once started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great cross book
Sad and touching well worth a read! Never change it to a film as they ruin it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book by James Patterson, could not put it down, couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. Can't wait for the next Alex Cross book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is `three a crowd'?, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Alex Cross, Run: (Alex Cross 20) (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of James Patterson for a number of years - with `Along Came A Spider' (1994) lodged on my now restricted bookcase space. Some past outings for Alex Cross have proved disappointing but `Alex Cross Run' certainly does not. Of course, the Cross household is much in evidence but, unlike elsewhere, doesn't get in the way of why people read thrillers - excitement.
I won't provide any real detail because this is not intended to be a `spoiler'. Basically there are three killers loose in Washington(all serial, of course - where would crime fiction be without that species of the children of Original Sin?) Two are linked and here there are echoes of `Kiss The Girls'; I say no more. The third is a more complex character and for me far more interesting. How much the reader discovers, or thinks they discover, about him I leave to the reader. The book is fast-paced with short chapters - often presaged by an ominous comment such as `I just hoped nobody else wound up dead in the meantime'.
This book failed to displace `Along Came A Spider' because it lacked that element of `Cat and Mouse' (to borrow another Patterson title), which might have been there with more concentration on the identity and background of the `Third Murderer' (homage to one controversy re' Shakespeare's `Macbeth'). Murders come and go with little relevance to a pattern which would exercise a DETECTIVE, so poor Alex is left chasing around about to disappear up his own.....
Even so I'd still give it five stars and recommend it as a good FAST read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alex Cross Run, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Patterson seems to have lost his edge. Do not enjoy his novels as much these days. Too many co-writers? Too many books on the go at once so no real direction/input. I will not be buying any more Alex Cross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Read, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like James Patterson and the rest of the Cross series then this wont disappoint!
Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alex Cross, Run: (Alex Cross 20)
Alex Cross, Run: (Alex Cross 20) by James Patterson (Hardcover - 2 Jan 2014)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews