Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visiting unusual places
Rather than Majorca or Bournemouth the author visits established industrial plants that could be seen as polluting/affecting their environment. He endeavours to provide an overview of the history and future of the power stations, refineries etc mixed in with interviews with local people. Conclusions are drawn but I didn't find them too partisan.
It is a diverting...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. R. O. Underhill

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Encouraging start .... bored to tears by the end
I really enjoyed the first part of this book and even some of the authors first exploits in other polluted areas but by the time he was in India I was bored and found myself skipping pages to see if he went back to Chernobyl to finish the story but he never did.

Good start, average middle. bored to tears by the end.

Could have been so much better but...
Published 17 months ago by ridescotland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Encouraging start .... bored to tears by the end, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the first part of this book and even some of the authors first exploits in other polluted areas but by the time he was in India I was bored and found myself skipping pages to see if he went back to Chernobyl to finish the story but he never did.

Good start, average middle. bored to tears by the end.

Could have been so much better but instead we had to endure droves of pages of dribble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visiting unusual places, 6 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. R. O. Underhill (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather than Majorca or Bournemouth the author visits established industrial plants that could be seen as polluting/affecting their environment. He endeavours to provide an overview of the history and future of the power stations, refineries etc mixed in with interviews with local people. Conclusions are drawn but I didn't find them too partisan.
It is a diverting 'take' on the normal travel book but is VERY American - some of the references did not mean anything to me because I do not live in USA. The style of writing could be viewed as "American" in terms of phraseology and grammar etc.
Overall quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and interesting, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visit Sunny Chernobyl: Adventures in the World's Most Polluted Places (Paperback)
Strange book. Full of humour and strangely a little side story about the author and his love life. Always looks to find the best side of the worst places. Actually makes rowing down a river full of raw sewage sound like a pleasant day in a gondola in venice. Lots of little facts and details. The people he meet get their own story and it's fascinating finding out about them as well as the places. A good read, not a serious one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good start and then tails off, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visit Sunny Chernobyl: Adventures in the World's Most Polluted Places (Paperback)
The book starts well with what I thought was a plan to find something interesting and pleasurable in the middle of the world's most polluted places and encourage others to seek these out as a potential destination for future tourists. His trip to Chernobyl was a great start with the memorable point where he asks his guide, whilst standing close to the hottest point of radiation, whether there was anywhere near he could go for a picnic. Unfortunately after that I found his trips became more aimless and for some places he appears never to get beyond being peripheral. He also begins to engage more on a political level in terms of trying to understand how such pollution came to be, but never really gets to the heart of this either. Following this book I read Paul Theroux's Dark Star Safari where he crosses Africa. In comparison Theroux's book is well written and the author gets to the heart of events, the people and the dark places. I did enjoy Visit Sunny Chernobyl considering my previous read had been the history of cancer but I would have liked the author to have persuaded me to want to visit these places and that he didn't really do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed, would have loved some photos, 9 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Jason Stafford "Jason" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visit Sunny Chernobyl: Adventures in the World's Most Polluted Places (Paperback)
I really like the style of writing in this book. I came from this having an interest in Chernobyl and being fascinated by a place that is effectively abandoned, slowly being reclaimed by nature that has become a tourist attraction. The book itself follows the many journeys of an environmental tourist seeking out some of the less desirable places to have a holiday whilst seeking out the beauty that can clearly be on show even in areas where mankind has wreaked havoc on an unimaginable scale. An interesting read and a good companion to a holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary stories in an extraordinary book, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Ms. Fiona Allen "catlover" (edinburgh, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The chapter sub- titles alone are enough to stop you in your tracks; Day Trips Through A Radioactive Wonderland; Sailing the Great Pacific Garbage Patch; and Downstream on India's Most Polluted River.
There are statistics here that are so shocking they're almost unbelievable; a small town in Alberta, where the Canadian oil sands are, produces CO2 emissions at twice the rate of the entire city of Los Angeles.
The index to this book is exceptionally useful, if only because it makes it so easy to find the paragraphs that will cause you to seethe with anger and maybe join Greenpeace; but there are stories of paradox, encouragement, and courage beyond all reason or expectation - for example, the firemen who went into the reactor core in Chernobyl. They died horrible deaths over the next few weeks, and their self-sacrifice is literally unmeasurable.
And yet, this is oddly hopeful; the fact that there are people studying these trouble spots and various groups attempting to stop the human race fouling the planet up any further, means that it is possible to finish this absorbing read without wanting to open a vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting slant on tourism, but not for the faint hearted!, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
Michael Wadge (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was intrigued by the subject matter of this book. I particularly enjoyed the first chapter about his visit to Chernobyl, although much of the detail was well known to me. The chapters about the tar sands in Canada and the one on the Amazon were also well worth reading, but the subject matter of some of the other chapters was, to my mind, of less interest and accordingly I feel unable to give the book 5 stars. However, one has to admire the author for his enterprise and courage in facing up to the hazards he inevitably had to encounter during the course of his long journey of exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where not to go for your holidays. Interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunny chernobl, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a most enjoyable book and a very good read.
The author has chosen a few most ghastly "tip" sites throughout the world, and , somehow,manages to make them worth reading about__though not necessarily wanting to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visit Sunny Chernobyl: Adventures in the World's Most Polluted Places
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews