Customer Reviews


433 Reviews
5 star:
 (253)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegantly written, pithy and thought provoking - a total joy
Distilling decades of therapeutic work into a slim volume that reads like a collection of short stories, Grosz offers an intriguing insight into contemporary psychoanalysis. A married father-of-four announces that he is thinking of coming out, aged 71, while a woman who has just celebrated her 50th birthday realises a sexy dream that bothered her was about her son...
Published on 27 Feb. 2013 by Sarah Rayner

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight read does not live up to promise of title
Case studies and biographical accounts can be rich reading experiences but this compendium of short selections was very disappointing. The accounts are too short and the anonymised characterisations too generic to amount to much beyond a series of anecdotes. Searching analysis and interpretation is not what you will find here. The sections hardly amount to 'examined...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by Jan Primrose


‹ Previous | 132 33 3444 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars stories from the couch, 18 May 2014
By 
Jeannie (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves (Paperback)
An interesting little collection of a psychoanalyst's appraisal of some of his cases over the years. Easy reading and often poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful & Easy to Understand, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting non-heavy book if you are interested in psychoanalysis.
Each chapter is an anecdote of a patient that Dr. Stephen Grosz has had throughout his 20+ years career.
The read goes by so quickly and his style of writing is intriguing and captivating. He begins each chapter talking about a patient, giving very brief overview of their history & relationship "I had been seeing Ms. N for four years when she came to me one day..."
He lays out the main issue that him and the patient were tackling, giving away snippets of their conversation as well as how it made him, as a psychoanalyst react. He then continues to explain the conclusion they reached, and the underlying fundamental reason that he came to conclude was the issue with that particular patient (this is usually in the name of each chapter).

There is also quite a few moments of self-reflection which Dr. Grosz writes about, which stems from his experiences with his patients. He even has a chapter on his father.

Dr. Grosz has written an enriching read that confronts the issues of why we act the way we do, and gives suggestions and examples that he has come across throughout career. Perhaps a story will touch you in a certain way and push you to accept or confront an similar issue that arises within yourself, or those you know. Overall an easy read with clear and interesting explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Light Weight., 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two chapters in and I feel this is superficial, benign and dull pop literature.
If you want anything with any weight don't go for this as you will be very disappointed.
Others do however seem to love it, so who am I to judge, I just wish I hadn't bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by a great therapist, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Examined Life (Audio CD)
Great book by a great therapist. Met him at Nottingham Playhouse. Amazing man. Well worth buying the book and the audio book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Counsellor I found this light but interest. I enjoyed someone else's dilemmas and thoughts on the therapeutic poo process
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written and brilliantly read (this is a review of ..., 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Cm Conway "katc362" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Examined Life (Audio CD)
Brilliantly written and brilliantly read (this is a review of the audiobook - complete and unabridged). Insightful and wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book. Read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound, thought-provoking and humane, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a professional counsellor I have read many 'case history' books but Stephen Grosz writes about human experience with a deep and reflective empathy That will continue to inform my work and my life. I am grateful to him for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Examined life, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't stand the smug tone, the "aren't I clever?" trite little stories of "real" (my hat) people.
Will delete it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite accesible literature., 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves (Paperback)
Being each chapter dedicated to an issue, it is an easy reading. Reccomended for all publics interested in this issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3444 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves
The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves by Stephen Grosz (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2014)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews