Customer Reviews


435 Reviews
5 star:
 (253)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegantly written, pithy and thought provoking - a total joy
Distilling decades of therapeutic work into a slim volume that reads like a collection of short stories, Grosz offers an intriguing insight into contemporary psychoanalysis. A married father-of-four announces that he is thinking of coming out, aged 71, while a woman who has just celebrated her 50th birthday realises a sexy dream that bothered her was about her son...
Published on 27 Feb. 2013 by Sarah Rayner

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight read does not live up to promise of title
Case studies and biographical accounts can be rich reading experiences but this compendium of short selections was very disappointing. The accounts are too short and the anonymised characterisations too generic to amount to much beyond a series of anecdotes. Searching analysis and interpretation is not what you will find here. The sections hardly amount to 'examined...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by Jan Primrose


‹ Previous | 129 30 3144 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and pretentious, 22 April 2015
By 
This review is from: The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves (Paperback)
If I was in his treatment I'd ask my money back. I only gave 2 stars for the references at the end of the book, might look into some one the authors he quoted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting read, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished - at 3:00am - couldn't put it down.

Some chapters are a little weak but more than made up for by those that are insightful and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves (Paperback)
interesting. composed of a collection of short stories. just a light read and something that gives insight into how different people can be. not too heavy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insights, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always interesting and at times very moving, an enjoyable and enlightening book about the human condition and its most common weaknesses and fractures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars riveting and profoundly insightful, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Riveting and profoundly insightful. Helped me get to the bottom of several personal puzzles. And so beautifully written. Well worth reading by anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Snippets, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Snippets of stories. Told well but somehow incomplete. Insight seems stunted, left me wanting to read more on why the writer reach his conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time, 7 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves (Paperback)
I was so disappointed with this book, it was just an exercise in callous money making. my advice would be don't bother with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Examined Life (Audio CD)
This is a lovely read (i read it in one day) but also powerful and insightful at the same time. The author has done an excellent job of distilling some of his lifes work into short narratives that educate and get you in touch with the human experience. Personally and professionally very useful. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like reading Freud, but more intelligible, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely love the book. Found a lot of common with the author, like leaving in Hampstead, passing by Anna Freud Centre every day, bringing up a daughter, etc. Started thinking about visiting a psychoanalyst (neer considered this option)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and gripping!, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has made my commute to work feel like a 5 minute journey because once you start reading you get lost in the world he describes so brilliantly! love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3144 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves
The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves by Stephen Grosz (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2014)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews