Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any MJ fan!
I'm going through a delayed Michael Jackson phase, so buying this book was an essential part of my collection. I read it in one day flat because it was so interesting. It is actually very well-written, so as to keep the pages turning, but in a clear and direct way that feels as though MJ is writing from the heart. The main focus is of course on his music and his rise to...
Published on 26 Sept. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not a page turner!
A nice book and a must read for all true MJ fans. Of course, Michael had a series of ghostwriters who had to be very careful to write about his life as he wanted the public to read it - and not necessarily exactly as it was. His split with his brothers, in his words, was more to do with circumstance than a desire to pursue a solo career. But if his official biographer is...
Published on 17 Feb. 2010 by J. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any MJ fan!, 26 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
I'm going through a delayed Michael Jackson phase, so buying this book was an essential part of my collection. I read it in one day flat because it was so interesting. It is actually very well-written, so as to keep the pages turning, but in a clear and direct way that feels as though MJ is writing from the heart. The main focus is of course on his music and his rise to fame, between the ages of 5 and 29 (as it was written in 1988). But MJ also includes snippets about his personal difficulties, relationships with his family and with women, general thoughts on life, and he even addresses plastic surgery. The result is an extremely honest and heart-warming account of the life of a true genius. However, I would only recommend this book to fans of Michael Jackson, because he frequently refers to specific songs, so if you don't know a lot of his music you won't understand what he's talking about! (Alternatively you could do what I did - get hold of those songs so that you DO know!) For me, reading this book has certainly added more depth to Michael Jackson's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into an amazing mind, 3 Sept. 2002
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
This autobiography is surprisingly well-written & a compelling read and I would recommend it to both MJ fan and non-fan alike. This honest account of a unique man, accompanied by glossy and black and white pictures taken throughout his career, is worth the read not only for the insight into the man behind the superstar,but is also a jolly good read.
Whilst Dancing The Dream is a collection of poems and reflections, Moonwalk is an honest (sometimes painfully so) account of the life of an extremely talented man.
If you enjoyed Maya Angelou's writings, you will enjoy reading Moonwalk.
If you are only ever going to read one autobiography, it should be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars living the dream, 12 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
From start to finish i could not put this book down. Each page had it's own little tale to tell. It explores the life of a living genius upto the BAD days in his own word. It shows the struggle and heartache which have led to all this success. I would recommend this book to everyone, fans and michael jackson knockers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MoonWalk by Michael Jackson- Review, 8 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. L. T. V. Vadaszffy (England, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
I am 17 years old and a fan of Michael Jackson. When i found this book on amazon i was desperate to buy it straight away. He wrote the book when he was 29 year old. Some would think it is quite a young age to write an autobiography,but as he mentioned in the book, he felt older than he was because he had been performing since he was 5 years old. Michael has written the first part of the book about his childhood, family, growing up in Gary Indiana and his highs and lows of performing in the Jackson Five. He describes the exhausting process of travelling from audition to audition,show to show, and how he progressed to becoming an individual artist. He writes about a lot of personal things such as girlfriends, his experience of being in love, plastic surgery etc. He writes about going to the music awards, his terrible accident on the pepsi commercial, his experince filming 'The Wiz', his relationship with Diana Ross, Quincy Jones, Elizibeth Taylor, his family and many more.
There are loads and loads of photos in the book of him throughout his life, many of them private photos from the family albums.
I would recommend this book to anyone; it is very well written and gives a powerful insight into his amazing life. It is quite sad aswell though as he mentioned many of his dreams and hopes for the future. It is so tragic that he will know longer be able to achieve them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read, 7 July 2009
This review is from: Moonwalk (Paperback)
I read this book a good few years ago as I was a huge fan of Michael Jackson when I was younger. I have dusted it off and re-read it just to remind myself what an unusual and inspiring person he was. I loved this book at the time and was amazed by how much he had achieved at a young age. Even though he was painfully shy he was a very strong character when it came to making decisions about his career and leading The Jacksons. Some parts of the book are very sad to read now because he is so hopeful about his future and so professional and committed to his work. It is such a shame his life could not have continued in this way. He loved dancing and singing and just wanted to be the best that he could be. He was so utterly gentle he is genuinely suprised when people lie or behave unethically in the entertainment/music industry. It is heartbreaking to know that more and more of these people surrounded him as his fame increased. The book is well written, although I wished for more detail in some parts. Apart from that it is a great insight into the mind of this unusual and great person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jackson's 'Moonwalk', 8 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Moonwalk (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful insight into Michael Jackson and his earlier life, and it's written by Michael Jackson. (Since he only wrote 2 books it's worth getting a copy). It highlights how difficult his childhood was (in that he didn't really have one). It gives an insight into how his early years were spent, how hard his childhood was, and how he saw things in the grown-up world that maybe he shouldn't really have seen, which was probably why he grew up to be quite a shy and private person off stage. He was forced to grow up too fast, it was no wonder that later in life he wanted to regain some of his lost childhood. This becomes clear and perfectly understandable when you read the book.

His book tells how Michael worked hard for his success and deserved every bit of it. He loved being on stage and felt happy and at home there. It was the times in between, being on the road etc, that he found difficult. I think this book is a must for anyone who is an MJ fan, or for anyone who just wants to understand more about Michael 'The King of Pop'. It is a well written, honest, and candid account of his life. I found it quite sad in parts, when he talks of the difficult relationship with his father, but it's still well worth a read.

This book is being re-released so please buy it new! - (Don't do what I did and buy it '2nd hand' at a hyped-up price from an unscrupulous Amazon seller,(she knows who she is!). I couldn't believe that someone could be so callous as to rip off a grieving Michael Jackson fan 2 days after his death! (More fool me huh?))

Anyway back to the book: Yes, it is well worth a read (but buy it the right way at the right price). There is a re-published new one being released. Buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its Micheal!, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
Moonwalk is the only autobiography of his life in his own words. It was first published in 1988 with Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Shaye Areheart as editors at Doubleday Publishing Company.
It is said that Michael agreed to this project because of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. He was fascinated by her and had her promise to write the forward to the book. This new edition after his death includes a new introduction by Berry Gordy (Founder of Motown) and a new afterword by Shaye Areheart. The afterword provides a glimpse of what it was like to work with Michael, how the book was produced, how Michael almost changed his mind to allow the book to be produced after over 4 years of working on it, and how the book was received.
Moonwalk of course is a snapshot in time because Michael was under 30. His hopes, dreams and aspirations both past and future are clearly indicated in the book. Knowing what we now know about what would become his future, there is a sadness to this book but that is short lived by the clear joy and insight it provides.
It is a simple read. Later in the afterword it is explained that Michael met with Shaye for many conversations that were recorded, transcribed and then revised once Michael reviewed the material. Knowing that, it explains the casual manner to which the book is written. It really is more in a style like a conversation. The topics move from topic-to-topic in a way that would occur during a conversation.
Michael describes his childhood, rise to fame, stresses of showbiz, love for children and peace and his hopes for the future. He breaks the silence in a candid and courageous way considering this was the first time he put these down in print. Although much has now been said about his past, his childhood, etc. we must remember the timing of this publication.
We hear about his difficult relationship with his family over the years. He talks candidly about his music, dance moves and his drive to become the biggest star. He shares his thoughts about his friends including Diana Ross, Elizabeth Taylor, Paul McCartney, Fred Astaire, Marlon Brando, Katherine Hepburn, and so on.
He offers us his thoughts about his isolation, plastic surgery, gossip reporting, and life in a bubble. Remember, this is the first time he tells us that he roamed the streets in search of a real friend and that he sees himself as the loneliest person in the world. These were remarkable admissions which provide a rather sad insight to his life.
Michael contributed many pictures and personal drawings to this book it is said because he wanted his fans to feel like they had a signed copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonwalk (Paperback)
I loved Michael when I was a child, but unfortunately kind of lost interest as I grew up. One day about a year after he died though, I read something about him and cried because I felt like I'd missed out on something. Now I just want to know more about him. This book has a lot of detail, and makes you feel like you know him personally. I don't believe for a second he did what all those monsters said about him, he loved children, but nothing like the way they all made out. The father of the child who originally accused him of abusing him admitted he was only after his money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun and Honest Account, 18 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
I've always been a michael fan, so this was a dream to read. i didn't know he could speak about love and drugs in the way that he did! he also talks about not being an angel and having bad habits, it made me day dream what they may be...
i suggest anyone, fan or not, read this. not only is it a completely honest autobiography it is fun and lets you into the eccentric world of the King Of Pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that you'll read more than once for sure, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
Maia (Plovdiv, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moonwalk (Hardcover)
I doubt there is a fan of Michael's that heaven't read the book yet. So this review is addressed mainly to the neutral music listeners who are wondering which one of the thousands of books about Michael to read.

True, Michael does share some memories, experiences and feelings but still I feel like I didn't come to know him that well as a person (and not as a performer). He tells in great detail about his music and his onstage performances. But when it comes to his private life he becomes laconic and speaks with reluctance. Besides the book covers his life and career until 1988 and there is a lot going on since. I completely agree with J. Coyle's review and refer to it. (But that doesn't make the book less qualitative).

The afterword in the new 2009 reissued edition reveals how "Moonwalk" came to be. It was interesting for me to find out that Shaye Areheart (one of Michael's editors) actually taped their conversations which were transcribed later. He recalls their first meeting - "(...) he (Michael) was hoping - wildly hoping - for a shriek from me and, maybe, a hysterical dash out of the room" when Michael handed him "a very pretty boa constrictor" (Michael's pet).

"Moonwalk" provides valuable information straight from the main source - its most important merit. It is written with a light touch which makes it highly readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonwalk
Moonwalk by Michael Jackson (Paperback - 10 Jun. 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews