Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parallel Mysteries
`Or the Bull Kills You' is a vivid, masculine, energising book by a writer unafraid to confront the reality of violent death.

As in any good murder mystery, the identity and motives of the killer (or is it killers?) remain concealed until the end. Chief Inspector Max Camara of the Valencia Cuerpo Nacional de Policia resists the temptation and pressures on him...
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by Ita

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Room for improvement ...
Jason Webster has written some fine, quasi-travel books about Spain - 'Duende', 'Andalus' and 'Guerra'. These are books, which as someone who lives in Spain, I've often recommended to English speakers who want to learn more about Spanish society beyond what the Lonely Planet Guide offers. This is Webster's first novel, although some have suggested that his non-fiction...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Douglas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Bullfight mayhem, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) (Paperback)
Set in Valencia, the first book in this series is closely linked to bullfighting. The detective is not a fan, so that gives the author plenty of scope for explaining some of the nuanced ins and outs. Local colour and atmosphere galore. I will definitely be reading the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and gripping story line, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) (Paperback)
Well written and gripping story line. Would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys crime thrillers/detective novels. the details of the location in spain were vivid and the spanish phrases used were awethentic and added to the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Euro Dreadful, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) (Paperback)
Dreadful, absolutely dreadful. Full of ludicrous inaccuracies and one-dimensional caricatures for characters, which as a Spanish resident I found totally unacceptable. With such an inspiring and original plot, it could have been a really great book, but I'm sorry, Mr. Webster, I won't be wasting any money on the rest of your books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHew...wonderful, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) (Paperback)
Wonderful setting and evocation of Valencia, an intriguing story line, very true to life characters and an enjoyably realistic, flawed, honest (when it suits him) hero make for a riveting read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spanish passions?, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took time to get into this. Chase scene at end too long. Glad I persevered to the end, but upset at girlfriend's abortion. Thought it unnecessary and could have given idea for later book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice one , Jason, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've never been to Valencia, but now I want to go there. When I do, though, it won't be during Fallas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different Tack, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) (Paperback)
This author has in the past written a number of books on his life in Spain, this book is a departure and is a mystery novel, well written. Amazon as always giving great service

Book is worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good insight into bull fighting and will recommend to pal who has family in Valencia. Love the quotations at the beginning of each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great new detective, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) (Paperback)
really enjoyed this book. have just started book 2. i thought as the author is not spanish, it might detract, but not at all. it feels realy authentic.and captures the flavour of valencia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BULLFIGHTS AND MURDER, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first Max Camara outing takes you to Valencia and does give you a flavour of the region and bullfighting that is both absorbing and realistic. The book is well plotted, but the lead character is constantly engaging enough to carry the story. I know this is only the first book, but I was reminded of Conor Fitzgerald The Dogs of Rome. The writing was at times a little pedestrian, although the climax in the city on the night of the fiesta was well written and exciting. This was a better book than The Dogs of Rome and I will come back to Max Camara again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1)
Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1) by Jason Webster (Paperback - 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews