Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars124
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2015
Well written and quite insightful about the "less shiny" parts of British society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Insightful and very funny at times although the book is brought down by too many F words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Quite liked it but it left me feeling a bit grubby every time I picked it up and read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was ready to embrace this book, thinking that it would be written with affection for the overlooked parts of Britain: those unloved bits that get left out like a Black Sheep sibling. I was fully prepared for an expose on those forgotten bits that get trampled on in the stampede for the Lake District, London, York, the English Riviera, Cornwall etc.

However, I couldn't help finding the tone a bit patronising. It left me thinking the author did NOT love Britain and was not painting it in the ironic yet affectionate tone I hoped for, i.e like a naff old Aunty that smells of booze and wears bad clothes but you can't help loving her.

It was more middle class journo tried to get down with the oiks with a wink to say it's not TOO serious... and Britain's lovely and all that, Gawd bless 'er, but he still wouldn't actually LIVE in the bits he writes about and is kind of relieved to get home to a nice Waitrose ready meal.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
This is an entertaining and witty travelogue around the more unloved parts of our islands. Tim is self aware enough to realise that it could come across as an exercise in sneering from a middle aged metrosexual male but it just about avoids this. I have know some of the areas he lampoons quite well and I must admit he gets them off to a tee. I thinks his choice of transport and musical accompaniment really make the tale. Whilst he is travelling he is also suffering in a most unnatural manner!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Very funny but also slightly sad. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I guess I must have read around half a dozen books in this genre ever since Bill Bryson's Notes From A Small Island. None of them stood up to what Bryson did or have achieved his success. And Tim Moore's book is one more that fails to live up to Bryson's original. Why is it? For one thing, Moore simply doesn't have the quality and quantity of quips required to sustain 276 pages.

I reckon he couldn't have spent more than a couple of weeks on the road (if that). A criticism because a good travel writer tries to engage with the places he visits by spending time there. A good travel writer tells stories from the people he meets. Moore doesn't seem to have met or talked with anyone. Sure there are a few brief snatches of conversation, but on the whole he drives to a place, makes his observations about the people and buildings and moves on. Constant references to TV shows and internet research as humorous asides merely reinforce the fact that his heart is not into producing anything particularly original.

The humorous British travelogue. Please no more.
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
Having read all Tim Moore's other books, I was not disappointed. Digging around in the backrooms of the British psyche is Moore's specialty and he does it here superbly. Laugh out loud funny, then squirmingly realistic in turns.Always entertaining.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
great book at a great price will use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
Good for some historical and geographic facts, even some complimentary comments about locations (not many!). I could have happily NOT read about his drinking sprees whilst in the towns - this is my negative comment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)