Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Boleyn
There are many myths about Mary Boleyn, often from sources such as popular novels or films. In this excellent book, Alison Weir attempts to put the record straight about Mary's life. As other reviewers have already noted, there are parts of Mary's history where little is known, but the author has completed the task with admirable thoroughness and this is a very readable...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by S Riaz

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thorough but disappointing
I had been looking forward to reading this book as I have enjoyed Alison Weir's books over the years. However ultimately I found it disappointing. There is no doubting the scholarship and work which has gone into the book. The reason I did not enjoy it as much as I expected is that much of the book is taken up with comment as to where and how previous writers have either...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by Sean


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Boleyn, 13 Nov 2011
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
There are many myths about Mary Boleyn, often from sources such as popular novels or films. In this excellent book, Alison Weir attempts to put the record straight about Mary's life. As other reviewers have already noted, there are parts of Mary's history where little is known, but the author has completed the task with admirable thoroughness and this is a very readable and enjoyable account.

The problems with recounting Mary's life begin early on - records do not show whether Mary was the eldest sibling or not. However, Alison Weir gives us all the evidence and suggests that probably Mary was older than Anne and George. Sent to France, Mary Boleyn succumbed to the temptations of the Court, led by the notorious Dauphin - later Francois I. "Rarely did any maid or wife leave that court chaste," wrote a contemporary. So, did Mary really have such a bad reputation, or did she actually spurn advances? Again, we are taken through all the possible scenarios. However, Anne was always seen as more intelligent and charming than Mary. While Anne remained at the French court, Mary seemed to drop from sight, out of favour.

The book continues with Mary's marriage to Willian Carey and the possibility of Mary's becoming Henry VIII's mistress. Mary had two children during her marriage to Carey - Katherine and Henry. Were either, or both, Henry's children? Again, Alison Weir looks at all the evidence with great thoroughness. A lot of what was said about Mary could have been malicious gossip about Anne Boleyn's family and there is no way of really knowing how long the affair between Mary and Henry lasted. One thing was sure, though, and that was that Anne did not intend to risk becoming just another discarded royal mistress. However, this book is not about Anne Boleyn. Despite her obvious importance, the author is careful to keep the attention on Mary. When William Carey died in 1528 of the 'sweating sickness', Mary was left poor and in debt, with two young children to support.
She did not feel appreciated, or cared for, by her family, writing sadly that, "I saw that all the world did set so little by me."

When Mary married William Stafford, she married for love. Disgraced, she was banished from court, and it is likely that she never met Anne again. The Boleyns suffered their cataclysmic fall in 1536, by which time Mary was poor but, hopefully, happy. Of the Boleyn siblings, she was the one who found love - "there was not in her the stuff of tragedy." There are, frankly, worse fates. Although there are obvious gaps in writing about someone in history, even someone so closely linked to the seat of power and intrigue of the Tudor court, Alison Weir provides a very readable and interesting account of Mary Boleyn's life. I have enjoyed all this authors books and this, in my opinion, is one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thorough but disappointing, 6 Oct 2011
By 
Sean (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
I had been looking forward to reading this book as I have enjoyed Alison Weir's books over the years. However ultimately I found it disappointing. There is no doubting the scholarship and work which has gone into the book. The reason I did not enjoy it as much as I expected is that much of the book is taken up with comment as to where and how previous writers have either erred or frankly invented aspects of Mary's life. Even though this is no doubt true it becomes repetitive and slows down the narrative. The conclusion of the book is really that we know little about Mary as a person and little more about the events of her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The real Mary Boleyn?, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Isis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
As interest in Tudor England has experienced an upturn so too has the fog of myth and misconception surrounding the history. The blurb of this latest historical non-fiction claims to "explode... the mythology" surrounding Mary Boleyn and "uncover the facts", and I must admit I was curious to see what conclusions Weir's research had made.

Reading Weir's introduction, I agreed with a lot of the sentiments she expressed and admired her goal of redressing the misconceptions and attempting to find the facts. However, I didn't agree with all of Weir's conclusions, and there were also what appeared to be one or two genuine factual blips during the course of the text. But I also found it easy to read; flowing style, clear, understandable - in contrast to some of Weir's other non-fiction works which in the past I have found at times to be a bit of a dry read. And whilst I didn't agree with some of Weir's conclusions, she definitely addressed the misconceptions, and brought to light some misplaced information. Credit to Weir for taking on an undoubtedly difficult subject and trying to cut through the shroud of myth to produce this biography of Mary Boleyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, informative if rather pedantic (and rushed?)., 6 Jan 2012
By 
Graham James "graydjames" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alison Weir was the person responsible for getting me hooked on the Tudors, and since then their pre-history, after reading her "Six Wives" many years ago. I have read most of her factual works and generally enjoy them as highly readable, very thorough and they allow me to learn much from them.

This was no exception and this book is easy to read and it comes across as assured and well researched. You feel generally confident in her assertions and opinions.

There is only a certain amount that can be written about Mary Boleyn. She is not a major figure in Tudor history and consequently there is a shortage of primary sources that refer to her. Perhaps this is why Ms Weir takes up so many of the allotted words detailing the comments, opinions and writings of other authors and historians and then questionning them or refuting them. Being a rather pedantic sort of person myself, I should not criticise her for this; I like to have the truth, in so far as it is known, and good evidence to support it, but even I became somewhat irritated by her evident obsession with this practice. However, without it, the book might have been a maximum of two thirds the size. There is also the point that Ms Weir might just be wrong in some of these points of debate - but somehow I doubt it.

I was left with one other impression. I might be very wrong about this, but I wondered if this book had been somewhat rushed. My reason for this conclusion is that I found that the editing left something to be desired. I was most struck by the several occasions that reference was made to a person, or an event, in terms or words making it clear it was the first such mention only to subsequently find the same person or event being introduced into the narrative again in similar terms. This seemed to me odd, rather as if chunks of text had been cut and pasted elsewhere without regard to the knock on affect it had on the flow of the story.

But I should stress that these are comparatively mionor complaints. The book is to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Probably" a very good book!, 8 Nov 2011
By 
EleanorB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first glance, the life of Mary Boleyn, given her racy reputation with the Kings of France (Francois 1st) and England, (Henry the ubiquitous 8th) should form the basis of a fine biography. In many ways all the elements are there; the larger than life characters we already know, including her more exciting sister Anne, the wonderful illustrations, plus the detailed research that one would expect from Alison Weir. And yet, and yet there is something missing at the heart and it is the something that no doubt precipitated Mary's shadowy place in Tudor history, despite being in the orbit of her starry sister and her high flying brother. Mary is just not very interesting (except as a fictional foil in novels about Anne, such as The Other Boleyn Girl) and the work is therefore bedevilled by probablies, possiblies, must haves and maybes. When the King's eye settled on Anne B, poor Mary clearly became something of a liability and a potential technical hitch in divorce proceedings.

We get no sense, because the source data is just not there, of how she herself felt about being a (twice discarded) mistress to royalty or, more importantly, how the tragedy which engulfed her sister Anne and her brother George along with many men whom she would have known from her time at Court, affected her.

What does come across is the compartmentalised nature of the English court at that time, and the secrecy and privacy surrounding the King's personal affairs even in a quite public arena. It also revealed to me that the King in seeking extramarital comfort, had a rather small pool of talent from which to choose, as there were amazingly few women actually present on a day to day basis.

All in all Alison Weir has produced as good a biography as she could, but not one that was crying out to be written. That sister of Mary's threatens to overwhelm proceedings on the page, as she did in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `What does all this tell us about Mary?', 24 Oct 2011
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
We know that Mary Boleyn (who died in 1543) is Anne Boleyn's sister, and that she apparently had affairs with both King François I of France, and King Henry VII of England. We know, too, that she married twice and apparently had two children. Most historians suggest that she is the eldest of the three surviving Boleyn children: Mary, Anne and George. The royal affairs may have made Mary notorious, but there is little to suggest that she had any influence or power in either the English or French courts. Many will be familiar with the portrayal of Mary Boleyn in `The Other Boleyn Girl' by Philippa Gregory, and the films based on it.

`There is no escaping that an air of mystery pervades every aspect of Mary Boleyn's life. There is so much we don't know about her, and only so much we can infer from the scant sources that have survived.'

In this biography, apparently the first full-length biography published about Mary, Ms Weir seeks to identify the truth about Mary and her life. Was Mary promiscuous? On what basis was she known as `The Great and Infamous Whore'? What evidence exists to support the birth order of the Boleyn sisters? Ms Weir also sets out to examine Mary's time and reputation in France, the details of her affair with Henry VIII and the possible children born as a consequence. Ms Weir touches, as well, on Mary's treatment by her family as well as the relationship between Mary and Anne.

Unfortunately, because so little source material exists in relation to Mary, she does not emerge from the shadows of history. What Ms Weir provides is a framework for her life, a description of significant events (and people) which took place during her life time. Mary's role in these events and her relationships with these people can be inferred but are not known with certainty.

The strength of Ms Weir's book, for me, is that she largely dispels the myths about Mary's supposed promiscuity. It seems highly likely that, as Ms Weir writes, Mary Boleyn's affair with Henry VIII was discreetly conducted. Otherwise, if Katharine of Aragon had been aware of it she could have used the fact of it in the defence of her own marriage, and surely would have. Henry VIII's argument for annulling his marriage to Katharine so he could marry Anne Boleyn was based on Katharine's earlier marriage to Henry's older brother Arthur. Henry having an affair with Anne's sister Mary created the same degree of affinity.

Those without some background in Tudor history might find this book challenging. As a Tudor enthusiast I found it provided some interesting food for thought.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mary Boleyn, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am enjoying this book by Alison Weir, but why have they used the portrait of Princess( then Queen) Claude de France on the front cover, as the reader assumes this is a portrait of Mary Boleyn? It's only when you look at the back of the dust cover.
And that is why it has received 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull., 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: Mary Boleyn: 'The Great and Infamous Whore' (Paperback)
I found this book to be a dull and disappointing read, as a historical figure Mary Boleyn has been passed over often as little more than a foot note and with this book Alison Weir made me wish she had done the same. The few scraps of information she has have been nailed to a framework of more interesting people and all in all you end up wishing you were reading about them instead. I put the book down knowing no more about it's subject than when I picked it up and that's where this book really fails, there is so little to be said about Mary that the rest of the book seems like padding without which the author could never have claimed to have enough knowledge of the ' Other Boleyn Girl ' to fill a book this size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK as a piece of historical research but not very original, 8 Oct 2011
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
There's a problem with any work involving Mary Boleyn; there isn't enough material around to write a history like this without it becoming repetitious when compared to everything else Tudor already on the market. Mary Boleyn was infamous for two reasons; she was mistress to Henry VIII and sister to the most famous of his wives Anne Boleyn. We know little of the relationship between the sisters, little of the intimacy between Mary and her King, what we do know has already been the subject of books, movies and a huge variety of TV programmes. There's nothing particularly fresh or new in this book apart from the title "The Great and Infamous Whore" which is sufficiently bold enough to raise the odd eyebrow or two. Alison Weir presents Mary in the traditional way; a pawn in the hands of powerful men who offered her as a gift to Henry VIII in order to advance their status. Mary escaped marriage and therefore the possibility of execution or divorce merely because Henry became bored, needed fresh meat, the Boleyn family stepped in once more and offered their other daughter, Anne, as a replacement. That's a potted history of Mary Boleyn and once you've established those few facts there's little left to learn unless you're interested in a much wider, non specific, history of the times. Alison Weir presents her book in a way that's flat, slow, lacking in entertainment and biased in favour of her own personal opinions. She offers up little more than what's already known along with a good deal of padding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much information on Anne Boleyn, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was an interesting read, however too much time was taken up with telling the reader about events in Anne Boleyns' life, which everyone is more or less familiar with.
I don't feel that the author shared any real information on Mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Boleyn: 'The Great and Infamous Whore'
Mary Boleyn: 'The Great and Infamous Whore' by Alison Weir (Paperback - 20 Sep 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews