Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2011
This moving personal family history covering three generations of Tibetan women conveys the tragedy of the Chinese occupation of Tibet with more power than news reports or statistics. The details are different, but in a way it is a universal story not just of Tibet, but of every culture that has been purposely suppressed by another. Author Yangzom Brauen chronicles the lives of her grandmother, who has maintained the life of a Tibetan nun in all the years she's had to live abroad, her mother, who had to make a dangerous escape from Tibet as a young child, and herself, an actress and Tibetan activist. After her mother met and eventually married a Swiss man in India, Brauen was born in Switzerland, giving her a foot in both Tibet and the West and an ideal vantage point for writing this account. While in many ways Brauen has lived the life of a typical Westerner, she grew up celebrating Tibetan holidays, eating Tibetan food and listening to her grandmother's and mother's stories of life in Tibet and in exile. Across Many Mountains, which manages to be both heartbreaking and inspiring, begins when Brauen's grandmother was a young girl in a small, remote Tibetan village and continues through the 2008 Tibetan uprising and 2010 earthquake. I stayed up late reading this fascinating book, completely wrapped up in the lives of all three women.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
highly recomended - an easy read starting in tibet and spanning 3 generations of women - really interesting from many perspectives.i was disapointed though that there wasnt more written about how the escape and move effected the daughter in future life and the granddaughter..the latter years i felt got more glossed over and i felt there was a lot more material there..but still its an excellant read - totally inspiring about forgiveness and non detatchment.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
This book tells the story of 3 generations of Tibetan women who ultimately find peace and security in Switzerland, and later in New York. As with a number of Tibetan autobiographies there is a detailed account of how, in this instance, the eldest and her young daughter escaped on foot from Tibet into northern India following the Chinese invasion and brutal occupation of 1959. After a number of years the daughter meets and, following a tortuous amount of legal wrangling, marries a Swiss national. After their move to Switzerland a daughter Yangzom is born, so the book is actually written by someone who has a strong Tibetan connection but has never actually lived in her 'homeland'. The fact that the author is in many ways a product of the west is what makes this book particularly interesting as she provides a real insight into how adaptable her mother and grandmother have had to be, and what a struggle that has sometimes been.
Make no mistake, the Tibetans are an incredibly tough nation and I have enormous respect for their ability to cope with whatever life throws at them.
The book is written in a very straightforward style - although I'm not sure if this is due to the original text or its English translation - and I recommend it to anyone who wants to get an understanding of the tragedies that have been heaped on Tibet and also an overview of a way of life that will soon be lost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
For me, the novel was more interesting in its "Tibetanness", i.e. the first of the three generations, and somewhat less so with the second generation. By the time we meet the third, represented by the author, the narrative was too far removed from the reason why I would have read the book and more concerned with the author's own life, even as it failed to relate to Tibet at all. In that sense, it's a touch egotistical and not of interest. If you are interested in Tibet, I would recommend "Sky Burial" and "Freedom in Exile". The latter is also good for a summary of the political situation then and now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This is the gripping story of how a Tibetan family managed to flee the Chinese invasion. It was written by the grand daughter, now a Swiss citizen. What I like about it was also the sense of, however cruel and painful the whole invasion was, it was also in a way an inevitability from the point of view of the evolution of human consciousness that the Tibetan culture came out of the dark ages. The book was well written and very moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
I found the book very enlightening regarding the history of the Tibetan People. It was well written and easy in holding my attention. I found it shocking that the politicians of the world just stand back and do nothing to help the Tibetan People get the freedom to practice their faith, something that should be the right of and people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I couldn't put this book down. Having a fascination for the Dalai Lama, India and Tibet and having visited McLeod Ganj in the Himalayas, this book really appealed to me and I wasn't disappointed. Fantastic read for anyone interested in this area of the world and its history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
story of tibetan life destroyed by the chinese invasion. along with thousands of other tibetans the family fled to india and began life anew.eventually moving to europe where a generation later they jet between europe and there artists loft apartment in new york.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I couldn't put this book down, I love reading anything about Tibet and this story about 3 generations of women was just delightful and educational at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
An amazing journey of three generations I recommend prople to read this fantastic author will read more of her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.