Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
A medieval script found in a monastery leads to the discovery of beautifully painted prehistoric caves. The action of the book time travels between the present day excavation of the caves, medieval shenanigans involving Pierre Abelard, Heloise, and Bernard of Clairvaux, and the lives of the prehistoric cave painters. Like Glenn Cooper's two previous thrillers, this...
Published on 21 Mar 2010 by Laura V.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story
The story line is very good with smatterings of fact throughout the whole book, it is certainly a captivating read and I could not put it down. But, and there is a but here, the proof reader did not do a very good job - an ivory bear was described as a bear in one part and a bison in a different part of the book. Some of the factual parts were a bit off putting, mind you...
Published 13 months ago by Mrs. J. A. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 21 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
A medieval script found in a monastery leads to the discovery of beautifully painted prehistoric caves. The action of the book time travels between the present day excavation of the caves, medieval shenanigans involving Pierre Abelard, Heloise, and Bernard of Clairvaux, and the lives of the prehistoric cave painters. Like Glenn Cooper's two previous thrillers, this book is intelligent, well paced, and suspenseful. What I particularly loved about The Tenth Chamber were the wonderful passages describing the cave paintings and the chapters detailing the lives of the cave painters. Luc Simard, the archaeologist leading the cave exploration, is a charming hero reminiscent of Indiana Jones. This was a great read, and I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite so far..., 4 April 2010
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
I can't believe I am going to say this, but I liked The Tenth Chamber even more than Glenn Cooper's first two books, Library of the Dead and Book of Souls, both of which I loved! True to Cooper's style, we hop on the time travel train, this time between modern, medieval and pre-historic France, while guessing at the intrigue buried in a mysterious ancient cave very purposely closed off to the outside world. The attempts to unlock the secrets of the magnificent cave paintings, the strange brew, and the inexplicable longevity of the area's inhabitants, shaken by a series of "accidental" deaths, grow increasingly dangerous as Luc and his team get closer to the truth. Cooper's archaeology and medical background are out in full force making for a realistic, intelligent and very exciting thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tenth chamber., 6 April 2010
By 
Tony336 "Tony336" (linconshire UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
After reading Glenn Cooper's first two novels ' Library of the dead' , and' Book of souls' , I looked forward eagerly to reading this book. It is very well written and the author is obviously a very clever man . However, my attention wasn't held to the same extent as the other books and I was able to put the book aside at times ,something I found impossible in Cooper's other works . The story is full of action and again takes place in religious institutions as well as other places in different times in history. I would recommend the book as it is so well written and researched and will appeal to the imaginative amongst us. I have no idea what the author has in store for his next work , but I will eagerly await it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 16 April 2010
By 
C. Wymer (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
An archaeological find in a cave in France promises to be one of the greatest discoveries of recent times. Behind the extraordinary and beautiful find, more secrets are waiting to be unearthed which eventually reveal ancient knowledge that has been closely guarded for centuries. As with Library of The Dead and Book of Souls, Cooper once again skilfully shifts the narrative between different time frames which create a film-like quality to the book. The characters are very believable and diverse, eloquently driving and strengthening the plot without distracting from it. I especially enjoyed the story of the lives of the cave's first inhabitants which as well as the account of the monastic shenanigans, both of which were expertly conveyed. With this third novel Cooper has now proved himself to be an exceptional and consistent thriller writer and in terms of creating suspense and unpredictability he is on a par with those such as Robert Crais and Iain Rankin.
This is a book that in my mind will no doubt engage and engross all but the prosaic amongst us. Despite one of the other reviews, I was reluctant to put the book down and was keen to get back to the story as soon as I had an opportunity. To sum up, an entertaining and intelligent book that I thoroughly enjoyed; I am looking forward to his next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid as a fossil, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Pedro (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
A fire in an abbey triggers a series of events that lead Luc Simard, a French archeologist, to a stunning cave where he finds the most realistic prehistoric paintings ever found. The cave is composed of ten chambers, each with its own motif, which could provide material that would keep the archeology community busy for years.

Luc assembles a team of experts from several scientific fields to examine the caves, but unexpectedly not only has to face the opposition of the local community, but also the attention of an obscure office of the French secret services, as the tenth chamber is the key for a national security matter that shouldn't ever be revealed.

This premise is similar to countless other books, but Glenn Cooper managed to make "The Tenth Chamber" better than most conspiracy thrillers. Most of the book is told through the eyes of Luc Simard, but there are two other smaller threads, set in the 12th century and in the Paleolithic, which allows the author to explore how the same discovery is perceived and handled in completely different ways throughout the time, and it also allows the plot to be consistently wrapped up, without huge plot holes that usually ruin this type of stories.

+: solid plot; the connection between the main story and the two supporting threads works out perfectly

-: some characters, including Luc, could be better developed and less stereotyped

=: a compelling "secret", excellent structure and no significant plot holes - for a summer holiday read, "The Tenth Chamber" turned out to be a very pleasant surprise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glen cooper fan., 8 Jun 2012
By 
mrs anne ross (glasgow,scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
this is the third glen cooper book i have read now,and like the previous two,i could not put this down,the descriptions of both the characters and the locations and scenery were so vivid,i could picture myself walking through the caves,and the mayor of the town of ruak,ican still picture him,this book is a must for fans of glen cooper,i give it ten out of ten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devastating secrets, hidden chambers, mysteries abound..., 14 May 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
Having read Glenn Coopers previous two books, I was anticipating eagerly his new book, which is a standalone novel. After all, who could resist a novel with the line "A hidden chamber holds a devastating secret that could change the world for ever ..." on the cover? Not me!

The chance fire at an abbey in the Sarlat region in the Dordogne leads to the discovery of an ancient manuscript. And from the manuscript clues seem to lead to the answers to mysteries within the manuscript. But do the villagers in Ruac already know some of this? And what are they trying to hide?

A team of archaeologists with associated experts are in the area investigating further, when ancient mysteries, present motives and long-held secrets seem to all come out at once.

I really appreciated the references throughout the book to Bernard of Clairvaux, and Heloise and Abelard; being a keen historian I am always delighted when novels include historical passages and characters in them; and in this book they are well drawn. The research done by the author is clearly intensive; the archaeological descriptions, the historical descriptions, the religious descriptions; all are written sensitively and interestingly for the reader to get a real idea of the flow of the narrative in its respective time and context.

For the author's writing style; there seem to be some slightly funny expressions, or sentences used on occasion; but ultimately this does not detract from the flow of the narrative, and the well put together storylines in all of his books. The characters are somewhat predictable, but nonetheless enjoyable to accompany on their adventures. And in all three of Mr Cooper's books to date, the adventures are mind-boggling! Not predictable at all! By any stretch, the author has an imagination and is not afraid to use it. The storylines remain true enough to reality that you think they could actually happen, but are definitely not predictable in a dreary Dan Brown kind of way.

To me, the key to whether a thriller in particular is hitting the mark as a great book is that you can't wait to get back to it, and can't wait to turn the page to see what happens next - this author's books certainly tick that box.

Definitely, totally recommended - as are the previous two books by Glenn Cooper, Library of the Dead and its sequel Book of Souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets a bit silly, 18 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Kindle Edition)
I thought all three of the intertwined timelines were well handled, and all intrinsically interesting. Research was a bit bolt-on in places, giving a disappointing sense of padding. Also, featuring each and every one of Eloise, Abelard, Bernard of Cluny and the Knights Templar did test this reader's credulousness; when the C20th century strand introduced the magic potion one couldn't help but be reminded of Asterix the Gaul, which was unfortunate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great STUFF!, 29 Mar 2014
By 
I. S. Moore "ismofoto" (lowlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Paperback)
Discovered this amazing author by accident and have ordered more his books. A fascinating book that will keep you in suspense until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tenth Chamber (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Gripping story line and found it difficult to put it down. Gave food for thought about all the caves and stories from history books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tenth Chamber
The Tenth Chamber by Glenn Cooper (Paperback - 16 Sep 2010)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews