Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Wells Super Spy...
The third installment of the John Wells series... As with all the other novels by this author, it is thrilling and well written. The pace is very good, Mr Berenson doesn't do long lengthy chapters making the story flow nicely and certainly adds to the tension/expectation.

The story begins with two cousins working for a nuclear plant in Russia; one of the...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Rum1977

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for a plane, but nothing outstanding
This is the third book featuring CIA Special Agent John Wells and it will probably make more sense to you if you have read at least one of the others. Early in the book there is a worrying close attempt on Wells and his partner Exley's lives. Wells is determined to track down the assassins. However at the same time, some Muslim extremists are trying to smuggle a nuclear...
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Wells Super Spy..., 10 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: The Silent Man (Paperback)
The third installment of the John Wells series... As with all the other novels by this author, it is thrilling and well written. The pace is very good, Mr Berenson doesn't do long lengthy chapters making the story flow nicely and certainly adds to the tension/expectation.

The story begins with two cousins working for a nuclear plant in Russia; one of the cousin befriends a fundamentalist. Meanwhile, John attends a self-help/seminar group for soliders suffering from post-traumatic stress, where we see the lives of both John and Jennifer Exley, who is now his fiancee. On the other side of the Atlantic, an arms dealer is plotting the assassination of both John and Jennifer. From here on, the story unfolds and the author takes us on a journey of terror around the world, both land and sea... I won't spoil the story, I'll leave it here.

This is an excellent book; I liked the characterisations, the way Mr Berenson explores the terrorists themselves (the coldness, the self-doubts etc) and the development of the leads characters.

Whilst I thought this was a great book, I gave it a 4 star purely from comparision to The Faithful Spy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for a plane, but nothing outstanding, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silent Man (Paperback)
This is the third book featuring CIA Special Agent John Wells and it will probably make more sense to you if you have read at least one of the others. Early in the book there is a worrying close attempt on Wells and his partner Exley's lives. Wells is determined to track down the assassins. However at the same time, some Muslim extremists are trying to smuggle a nuclear bomb into the US. Wells will need to make a decision between pursuing his personal vendetta vs following a lead that could help him stop the extremists.

What I like about Berenson's writing is that it feels (reasonably) plausible and grounded in current events. The villains are also well developed characters rather than one-dimensional cardboard cutouts. However the downside of this is that the book never really gains the momentum that makes you want to keep reading until the small hours. There's too much explanation and back story along the way. It's a perfectly acceptable airplane read, but ultimately there's nothing here to make it stand out from the genre. Well's character remains inscrutable, and the strains in his relationship with Exley never made any sense to me.

So it's an okay read, but nothing outstanding. Having said that, I enjoyed it sufficiently that I plan to read the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, Action thriller, 1 Aug 2009
By 
A Dawson (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent Man (Paperback)
The Silent Man
Another suspense filled and action filled book by Alex Berenson. This is in my opinion the best of the three books of his I have read, and certainly the most unpredictable in anticipating what comes next. Again the hero is nearly unstoppable, but is starting to show some cracks in his armour. A fast moving and again exiting book. A Dawson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wells Blockbuster, 12 Mar 2014
By 
L. Lee Bowman (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alex Berenson is a brilliant author, and his characters, especially John Wells, are totally credible, thanks to the extensive research he does!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Clancy wanabee...I don't think it worked, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent Man (Paperback)
I didn't enjoy it. The characters were one dimensional...the plot was a little rambling I thought. The book seemed to try and cram too much into not enough pages...sorry Mr Berenson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Berensen - The Silent Man, 23 April 2013
By 
G. Coles (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked up a copy at an A Oxfam shop and have now read three by this author. It's fairly typical, CIA rebel versus Moslem fanatics and all pretty good. So far I note there are six featuring this 'hero' and intend getting the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Berenson best work, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another amazing read from Alex Berenson! Haven't been able to put the book down till I finished it, will be recommending it to all my friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second Berenson book I have read and both excellent. Very good writing style and tremendous content. Will be buying more of his very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Berenson is Batting 3 For 3!, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Bobbewig (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silent Man (Hardcover)
With his third book in his series featuring John Wells, Berenson reinforces his deserved position of being one of today's elite spy thriller writers. In The Silent Man, master CIA agent Wells is exhausted from his undercover work in Afghanistan and Pakistan, the attack on the US, and the Chinese plot that could have led to war. However, Wells knows he has no time to rest, as he once again has become involved in saving the country from an attack being planned of almost unimaginable consequences. In typical Berenson fashion, The Silent Man is well-written, exciting and very true-to-life. Further, his primary and secondary characters are highly believable and interesting. You really get a sense of being right there with the characters as the action is unfolding. The one criticism I had with The Silent Man (resulting in my giving the book a 4-star vs. a 5-star rating) is that it spent too much time in describing the many details involved in creating a nuclear device. While Berenson clearly did his homework in this area, it, for me, served to slow down the intensity of the plot. Despite this factor, The Silent Man is definitely worth reading and a "must read" for those who have read and enjoyed Berenson's first two books, The Faithful Spy (my personal favorite) and The Ghost War. It will keep you engrossed from beginning to end. For potential new readers to this series, I'd recommend that you hold up on reading The Silent Man until after reading the two other books in sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Oct 2014
By 
J. Tennant "Jax" (Middle Green, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent Man (Paperback)
Totally unmemorable, very disappointing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silent Man
The Silent Man by Alex Berenson (Paperback - 24 Jun 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews