Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slowish Start, The Rest Is Epic (Mostly)
The third Darth Bane book overall does not disappoint. Unlike the first two books however, I felt it had a rather slowish start. The book opens with little in the way of action - something we saw so much of in the previous books. There is a 'shoot out' here and there, but the beginning mostly introduces you to various new characters (and forgotten old ones) as well as...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by The Scientist

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil book was not as good as the previous in the series. At times it was repetitive and predictable.
Published 14 months ago by T. Schoutteet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slowish Start, The Rest Is Epic (Mostly), 29 Dec 2009
The third Darth Bane book overall does not disappoint. Unlike the first two books however, I felt it had a rather slowish start. The book opens with little in the way of action - something we saw so much of in the previous books. There is a 'shoot out' here and there, but the beginning mostly introduces you to various new characters (and forgotten old ones) as well as what is going on inside their minds. This can be interesting at times, but I felt that overall in terms of entertainment value the opening quarter of the book was a little hit and miss.

Once this book got going however, it was as exciting as anything we've seen in the previous two novels. All the individual narratives merge into one making it nearly impossible to put this book down (much like the other Darth Bane books).

My only other complaint is the final paragraph of the book (excluding the epilogue) which was frustratingly confusing. When you get there you'll understand what I mean - the good news however, is that the author clears this up on his website.

To conclude, I'm pleased to say this novel is a worthy conclusion to the Darth Bane trilogy. Apart from the slowish start and slightly confusing ending it is a thoroughly enjoyable read. If you've read the other Darth Bane books and are heisting buying this book please do so no longer. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

I would also urge any Star Wars (or sci-fi) fan who has not read the Bane trilogy to do so. It's surely the finest trilogy of Star Wars books.

If you want a comparison against the other Bane books I would rank this book overall the weakest of the trilogy (with the first being the strongest book). However, this does not mean it's a bad book, I still really enjoyed it...and I'm sure you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good ending., 15 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil (Paperback)
The 3rd book out of the Darth Bane trilogy. 10 years on from the end of book 2, this finale centres on the future of the Sith. Darth Bane is starting to question his choice in apprentice as she has not challenged him for the title of Sith Master, despite his growing signs of weakness. What springs from there is a division between him and his apprentice, Darth Zannah, as the future of the order hangs in the balance.

Very good. I was unsure of how Drew Karpyshyn could finish this trilogy without it feeling flat, but the ending is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ending for Darth Bane series, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read and loved the 2 former Darth Bane books, so I was very happy when I finally got the last one, to see how it would all end.
I was not disappointed, Darth Bane and his apprentice show us all how the Sith will remain strong until Palpatine rules the Entire Galaxy.
It all started with Bane and his views of what the Sith philosophy should be. I recommend this Book, as well as its 2 predecessors to anyone that likes Star Wars. Actually, if you like reading and any form of scy-fy/Fantasy, do yourself a favor and get this trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil (Paperback)
The best Star Wars Trilogy ever.
Well written and sooo gripping.
The trilogy is the best combo of books.
Darth Plagueis is also a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two there are.....no more, no less., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil (Paperback)
The last book in a trilogy of truly amazing star wars books. My hat off to you Mr Karpyshin. The force is strong in you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 3 Mar 2014
By 
R. Wealleans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Third book in this series, great fast paced story. Been a couple of years now. Wish there was a number 4. The Bane series is an example of how to write a star wars book. So many of these books consist of one quite interesting idea, padded out to 300 pages. This is innovative, interesting, rich in content.. For once a great character is given a great book, or in this case 3 great books. Wish someone had done the same with Kenobi. How that was messed up i shall never know, it should have been an easy write. Still watch Caprica or V and you can see that even the easiest idea can be royally messed up. That makes the Bane trilogy shine even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars EU - best ever, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant. The whole trilogy shows the best of the Star Wars expanded universe and the story of Bane is gripping, fast and you can't help but empathise with this figure of towering rage and ambition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil (Paperback)
This is one of the books that ties the old republic Sith to the republic from the movies and how events between the 2 transpired
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 22 Jun 2013
By 
T. Schoutteet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil book was not as good as the previous in the series. At times it was repetitive and predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent end to the trilogy!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't want to put this book down. Twists turns with a mixture of brute strength and compassion.

Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil
Star Wars: Darth Bane - Dynasty of Evil by Drew Karpyshyn (Paperback - 30 Sep 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews