Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than I was expecting.
THE STORY:
(5,000 to 2,975 BBY) A series of novellas (most originally published as separate e-books) which chart the fortunes of a group of Sith who crashland on a remote planet during the Great Hyperspace War and who, over the ensuing decades, centuries and millennia, shape the world around them into their own dark image. This book overall gives a significant...
Published 12 months ago by Ian Tapley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, but short.
Almost a third of the book is excerpts from other books, not related in any way, apart from the Star Wars canon.
What is there is well written, and engaging, however it is extremely fragmented and jumps thousands of years at a time. Each fragment lacks a satisfactory ending which, although frustrating, may be intentional.
I don't feel I had 'good value for...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than I was expecting., 9 Sep 2013
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
THE STORY:
(5,000 to 2,975 BBY) A series of novellas (most originally published as separate e-books) which chart the fortunes of a group of Sith who crashland on a remote planet during the Great Hyperspace War and who, over the ensuing decades, centuries and millennia, shape the world around them into their own dark image. This book overall gives a significant background story to the Lost Tribe who go head to head with Luke Skywalker in the 'Fate of the Jedi' novels. There are three main time periods covered; the first (5,000 to 4,975 BBY) chronicles the Sith arrival on Kesh and their struggles to make a new home and society there, the second (3,960 BBY) tells of an unlikely romance amid a golden age for the Sith and the final time period (3,000 to 2,975 BBY) covers a time of chaos amid the Sith society in which it is reborn with new purpose.

WHAT'S GOOD:
Between 'The Old Republic' computer game and the 'Legacy' comics, I was a little frustrated at first by the introduction (in the 'Fate of the Jedi' series) of yet another long-lost/hidden Sith faction at large in the galaxy. However, the stories told here make these Sith unique and uniquely compelling. I genuinely enjoyed reading about characters who have to contend not only with a hostile new world but also with the violence and betrayal that sits at the heart of Sith culture. It is a curious thing when you find yourself thinking of some of these Sith as the heroes of the piece, despite their dark nature. However, I think my favourite element of the entire book was the revelation of Jelph Marridan's past. John Jackson Miller's background as a comic book writer serves him very well in telling these little vignettes of Sith life (unlike the effect it had on his novel 'Knight Errant').

WHAT'S BAD:
Further to the last sentence above, some people have been put off or disappointed by the broken, episodic nature of this book and it's important to understand that it is not a novel but (unsurprisingly) a collection of stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this time period, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of the Star Wars Expanded Universe (which may be changing drastically due to Episode 7) If your a fan of stories that revolve around the Jedi and Sith you can't go wrong. These collected stories are great and would recommend to any SW fan.

I would also recommend Fate of the Jedi (the lost tribe ties into the Skywalker story) and all Old Republic books (including Bane Trilogy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story. We need more book's on the SITH!, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something something, Miller, something something, Darkside.
It was a good story. I honestly wish there where more books about the Sith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love that all the short stories in this book all bind together. I think it's really cool. Very impressed buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
I'm reading the Star Wars books in time order, and so this was the second book that I read. Although the last three books in the series are actually set after The Old Republic series of novels, due to the story's nature there is no crossover.

The story is really interesting, focusing on a group of Sith miners who find themselves stranded on the planet of Kesh. The books jump forward in time from 25 to 1,000 years, detailing the changing state of the Sith tribe on the planet.

I particularly enjoyed Purgatory and Sentinel which focus on the controversial relationship between Ori Kitai, a Sith High Lord's daughter, and a human slave named Jelph. Unfortunately I lost interest a bit during the next book, Pantheon, set 1,000 years in the future and by which point the tribe's hierarchy structure has fallen into disarray. I felt it picked up a bit during Secrets and the finale, Pandemonium, only ruined in part by the particularly annoying character of Korsin Bentado.

Anyway, in summary certainly worth reading :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to the Star Wars Universe, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice easy read, separate stories that have a running back story. Really enjoyed this book. If you are into Star Wars you'll love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
Once again another awesome star wars novel, this one really made my day as it was originally an e-book but was transformed and makes an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A collection of original and entertaining sci-firstborn!, 25 May 2014
By 
Nabil Hussain (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These stories were well written and was very original in its plot. It proved to be unique and yet rewarding to read. I found first few books were fine but lost my way in the middle of the books. I then found the latter books to be very interesting and which confirmed my interest in the collection at the start! I was quite pleased with the books by the end story.
It was a good addition to the Star Wars mythos and recommended to all fans of Star Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, but short., 11 Aug 2013
Almost a third of the book is excerpts from other books, not related in any way, apart from the Star Wars canon.
What is there is well written, and engaging, however it is extremely fragmented and jumps thousands of years at a time. Each fragment lacks a satisfactory ending which, although frustrating, may be intentional.
I don't feel I had 'good value for money' and will think twice before trying another Star Wars novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best thing about this book is the insight and background knowledge you get on the sith's orgins,way of life, their culture and belifs,However at times i found this book very hard going and didn't feel my self getting gripped to any of the storylines or attached to any of the main charecters within this book like i have in other books or novels of the star wars franchise.I feel most of the Storie's are long winded and take a long time to get to the point or conclusion of which most were predictable or a bit of a let down in my opioion.This book is well worth reading through once but i wont be picking it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories
Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories by John Jackson Miller (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews