Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
And this is a GOOD thing. I am genuinely puzzled to learn from other reviewers that they have no interest in the Mandolorian culture or the clone's perspectives on well-known events. These people dont like to see the Jedi as fallible and detest the idea of Sith being anything but pure evil overlords. A series of books which ties toegther events in a different way is to me...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful to read
This book was extremely painfull to read. I tried to read it but i couldn't go past page 40. The dialogues aren't interesting and I really didn't care about the chars. With a title like this i assumed it would be better a book.

I've read a lot of EU books in the last few years. and this is the only one i didn't finish reading.

Best regards,...
Published 2 months ago by Luis Santos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
And this is a GOOD thing. I am genuinely puzzled to learn from other reviewers that they have no interest in the Mandolorian culture or the clone's perspectives on well-known events. These people dont like to see the Jedi as fallible and detest the idea of Sith being anything but pure evil overlords. A series of books which ties toegther events in a different way is to me like reading the better Batman series, insofar as the main character, the super hero, has his powers derived from conditioning, gadgetry and knowledge, not some fanciful and all-explaining power.

We (presumably) all knew what Mando's were about, and if nothing else the first book in this series should have given an indication of where and how the story would play out. If that does not appeal....why on earth bother to read this far into it? Could it be that despite your protestations, you enjoy the book?

Rant mostly over...but seriously, I read in one review that there was too much use of Mando language and in another that there was too much talking about Mando feelings. That must have come as a shock to someone reading a mando-based series about children with accelerated aging being forced to fight and kill from the age of 3. Stunned, as always, by the sheer idiocy of some people. Theres such a wide selection of canon about Star Wars, there's really no justifiable excuse to go knocking this sub-genre for not being what you can intellectually deal with.

To sum up.... as with rpevious instalments, this was an excellent and intereting read and I too am saddened to learn of Traviss' departure from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful to read, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
This book was extremely painfull to read. I tried to read it but i couldn't go past page 40. The dialogues aren't interesting and I really didn't care about the chars. With a title like this i assumed it would be better a book.

I've read a lot of EU books in the last few years. and this is the only one i didn't finish reading.

Best regards,

LS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karen Travis is a Mandalorian!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Darren Barnett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
You do not need to be a Star Wars fan to read these Clone wars novels regarding Republic commando Omega Squad. If you havent read the prievious four novels then do so now! This is a fantastic series in which Karen Traves has made her own. Nobody has embraced Mandalorians in any Star Wars novel until now! I grew up with star wars in the seventies and Boba Fett was my favourate character. Now im reading about madalorian culture in which K.Travis brings across brilliantly and i am loving it. I have read a hell of a lot of star wars novels in the past ten to fifteen years and this is my favourite author and series by far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
Brought as a present for my brother 3 weeks ago, he has now finished it and said it was an amazing book. Great job on the book. a must buy for star wars fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 9 Jan 2013
By 
This book is a great follow up to the Republic Commando series. It's well written, however this version contains quite a few spelling errors. Couple of instances where bits are missing as well. I hope the series continues , as the ending came very quickly and felt very incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A typical Traviss novel. Continues the great series, 24 Mar 2010
By 
S. Pools "Vlad" (Bigglesworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
I've read all the previous republic/imperial commando novels from Karen Traviss.

This one is again a real K. Traviss book. Lots and lots of dialogue. Lots and lots of emotion and character depth. The action has been cut down though. And it's not unexpected if you think about it. So much has happened to the clones and the jedi that make up clan Skirata. This book needs emotional 'closure' and stuff like that.

Is this bad? No not at all. If you like to read about the feelings, the fears, the doubts of a bunch of elite commandos and Mandalorians. Karen Traviss really creates her little world inside the Star Wars universe. Her little Star Wars corner, and over the last couple of years we really got to know (and love) the characters that make up that world.

Now the bad part.
She has stopped writing Star Wars novels. Yes you read that correct. The upcoming sequel to Imperial Commando 501th, that was supposed to be released sometime now, has been cancelled. In short, LucasArts made some changes to the Star Wars universe regarding Mandalorians, making it hard for Traviss to finish her last book of this serie.

So this is a book that is dying for an ending, and it will not come anytime soon.
Talk about ... well ... a waste actually.

I really enjoyed the book. Yes there is an awful lot of talking and emotional baggage, but that is to be expected. That is Traviss's style and that's what makes the series stand out.

Someone writes 'Nothing really happens' in their review. I tend to disagree. A lot of things happen. But not the shooting / blowing stuff up kind of things.
Do I recommend this title? If you've read the previous books, then yes this is a must read. But it will leave a bad taste in your mouth, because when you finish that last page, it's all over, and none of the answers you're dying for will be answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just like the rest of her books, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. A. Noden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
immediately submerged in the story. strong characters with lots of depth. not just a great book for star wars fans but if you also have an interest in special forces (lot of interesting real life facts put in).

this author is my favorite out of all the authors who write clone wars novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Yawn, 3 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
Prior to reading this book I heard that the upcoming sequel had been cancelled and Karen Traviss would be writing no more novels for the Star Wars universe. Needless to say it perked my interest because it made me wonder how this book was going to end and whether anyone else was going to pick up the storyline if it had an open ending... which of course it did.

Having said that, I have to admit I was apprehensive about reading this book. While I have admired Karen's contribution to the expanded universe and her in-depth voyage into the Mandalorian culture, I didn't really enjoy any of the Republic Commando books because I found them very hard going.

This book was sadly no different. It was an easier read that than the previous books but, even after 5 books, I still can't remember who any of the characters are and there is far too much pointless dialogue. There wasn't much in the way of a storyline either - the story starts with the characters in one place and it ends with them all in the same place without really doing anything exciting.

Nevertheless it will be interesting to see where the story goes from here - if indeed it goes anywhere now that Traviss seems to have quite publicly spit her dummy.

So anyway my verdict is that this book is better than the Republic Commando books but is still boring so I would recommend reading it before going to bed because it might help you sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the cover fool you, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st (Paperback)
As with Karen Travis' other Star Wars books, this is short on action and has far too much of characters just sat around doing nothing. It is quite a tedious read with only one or two short sections where anything actually happens. Zzzzzzzzzz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glatical disaster!, 19 Mar 2013
the book was not my taste at all. no match compared to karen miller's star wars novels. it needs more action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st
Star Wars: Imperial Commando: 501st by Karen Traviss (Paperback - 5 Nov 2009)
6.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews