Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars8
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2012
As Star Wars novels go this is never going to be in the top 10. However that said I've had fun reading it. What makes the story interesting is the decision to make the hero a very average jedi master, who's riddled with doubts about his abilities. He makes a good change from the norm and is reasonably well developed and likeable. The plot, while not hugely original, is very readable. Also I imagine the way it is written, with very few references to past books, will make very easy for those new to Expanded Universe to pick up.
However the book does have some bad points. Most of supporting characters, with one or two exceptions, are very thinly developed and aren't that interesting. Secondly the identity of the arch villian really isn't a mystery. Finally the plot does drag in one or two places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
great short novel all new charactors and great adventure its like detective novel with the force hope read more like this.

good read for all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Really liked it. Nice to read a smaller scale Jedi story for a change, instead of massive galactic threats and huge wars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2012
THE STORY:
(19 ABY) Jedi Master Mander Zuma begins investigating the death of his former apprentice and soon becomes embroiled in a mission to end the trade in the deadly drug (sorry, 'spice') known as Tempest, delving deeper and deeper into the shady world of Hutt politics.

WHAT'S GOOD:
The concept of Mander Zuma is an intriguing one. He's a very average Jedi, with basic lightsaber skills, little field experience and an imperfect connection to the Force. When so many Star Wars stories focus on Jedi prodigies like the Skywalkers or wise and experienced Jedi like Obi-Wan, it made for interesting reading to see the adventures of a more everyman type. It was good to see him grow into the role of Knight errant as his quest progressed too. This story also reintroduces the Corporate Sector Authority from the classic Han Solo Adventures.

WHAT'S BAD:
My biggest problem with this book is that it is the novelisation of an old RPG campaign book called 'Tempest Feud'. This meant that all of the major plot points, including the big twist as to the identity of the Spice Lord, were already known to me. Since the story relies heavily on plot-based mysteries, this foreknowledge soured the reading experience. Also, overall, the story on offer here is not particularly epic or enthralling, making it feel more like an extended short story than a proper Star Wars novel. My final quibble is simply that I found the idea of a drug-addicted Jedi to be a fascinating one but sadly Toro Irana doesn't survive long enough for the author to fully explore the interesting possibilities there.

OVERALL:
A perfectly acceptable book but one which doesn't grab you in the way that a great Star Wars story should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
There's the age old saying that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Certainly this book's cover was very uninspiring and looked more like a piece of fan art. This in itself might give the impression that it was, in fact, a piece of fan fiction.

Certainly it read like a bit of fan fiction. It didn't feel like part of the Star Wars saga and seemed very out of place for some reason. It had the feel of a spin-off. Of course the whole EU is a spin off so this felt like a sort of spin-off of a spin-off... if that makes any sense.

That's not to say it was an entirely bad book. It was a sort of Star Wars meets the mafia and the plot largely revolved around the Hutt underworld, gangsters and drugs. It was a very interesting concept and I personally enjoyed it. The story itself dragged on a bit - an impressive feat for such a short book - but the characters were all very likable. The main character, although a bit bland, was quite believable in that he was a fairly weak Jedi and a little bit clumsy. I personally thought this was a nice touch; it gave a better impression of the New Jedi Order in its infancy. Jeff Grubb has a nice easy writing style, although I did get fed up with him using the phrase "half a hundred". Is the word "fifty" not good enough?

On the whole I thought it was a good and enjoyable read but certainly not one that is a "must read" in my opinion. It stands alone and has no impact on any other books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Enjoyable adventure novel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Great book a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
Having read 100 plus star wars novels its got to be said that this one is in the top 5 of bad ones.The story didnt hold me at all and it didnt seem to fit in the supposed time line.Unless your a die hard star wars novel fan it might be better to give this one a miss,(sorry Jeff).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.