Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!
I love this book it is very engrossing I read it in less than 24hrs as I couldn't put it down. star wars fans will love this!!
Published 17 months ago by Mrs P.

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Every bit the trash that gives Star Wars literature a bad name.
THE STORY:
Sith Lord Darth Scabrous has discovered an ancient Sith secret which he believes will allow him to live forever but which instead unleashes a plague of ravenous undeath on the students of a Sith Academy.

WHAT'S GOOD:
The character of Jedi Knight Rojo Trace makes for an enjoyable counter point to the lesser characters in the book, being a...
Published on 14 April 2012 by Ian Tapley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Every bit the trash that gives Star Wars literature a bad name., 14 April 2012
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Red Harvest (Paperback)
THE STORY:
Sith Lord Darth Scabrous has discovered an ancient Sith secret which he believes will allow him to live forever but which instead unleashes a plague of ravenous undeath on the students of a Sith Academy.

WHAT'S GOOD:
The character of Jedi Knight Rojo Trace makes for an enjoyable counter point to the lesser characters in the book, being a pragmatic and single-minded Jedi the likes of which we don't see too often. I also enjoyed the concept that the zombie plague is a result of a Sith attempt at immortality.

WHAT'S BAD:
This book is something of a prequel to 'Death Troopers' but doesn't stand up well in comparison to that book. Where 'Death Troopers' focused on a small group of likeable survivors aboard an atmospherically claustrophobic derelict spaceship, here we're introduced to a much wider cast of characters, each one less well conceived and less believable than the last, all milling about in the snow. Also, there's only so many dozen times you can read about someone gorily battling slavering zombies before getting bitten and then turning into a slavering zombie before the whole thing gets irritatingly repetitive. Throw in elements such as an unintimidating Sith Lord whose Darth name is only out-ridiculoused by the discovery that he's following the teachings of one 'Darth Drear', a Jedi apprentice who's wetter than a kipper and, of all things, a psychic flower and you have a recipe for disaster. Even this book's best element, the hardcore Jedi Knight Rojo Trace, is ruined by the fact that the author shamelessly and inexplicably lifts dialogue for him verbatim from the movie 'Taken'.

OVERALL:
Put simply, trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Un-dead or brain-dead?, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Red Harvest (Paperback)
I didn't quite know what to make of this book. Despite believing that Star Wars and Zombies goes together about as well as re-mastering and Greedo shooting first, I grudgingly had to admit that Death Troopers was a fairly enjoyable read.

Red Harvest, however, was not so good. It involved a plot so thin it was almost invisible and a cast of characters who were just wooden. Many of them were introduced in some detail before being killed off within a few pages which meant that the already short book (255 pages of story) was mostly made up of pointlessness. The main character was more like a whinging 6 year old girl rather than a Jedi and the Sith Lord's character was just idiotic and not at all intimidating.

What was an otherwise dull and rather inevitable story was made slightly more interesting by the way it was told. To his credit, Joe Schreiber does have a very light writing style and his descriptions of blood spurting and gut spilling almost made me chuckle on a few occasions.

Having said that, I stand by my opinion that horror stories don't really have a place in the Star Wars universe and this book really doesn't lend itself well. The story itself has no impact on the series as a whole so it's certainly one that can be missed. Of course, if you just want a bit of an escape from lightsabers, Jedi and space battles and want to read about Sith students and Jedi getting disembowelled, eaten alive and turning into Zombies then this book might be of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars zombies..., 31 July 2011
I know the idea of zombies and star wars sounds like it could be good, but thats only because of the 'star wars' part. Zombies are overdone and predicatable. I got this hoping it would suprise me but sadly it did not, the beginning is fantastic because its all very sith and evil, but as soon as the corpses start walking about it just turms into every rubbish zomibie horror ever created: "I know lets hide in this building while they bang on the door outside, what ever shall we do? OH NO Clive got bitten and didn't tell anyone now he's eating Samantha's face in the corner! " Honestly who doesn't see that comming?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sith Zombies!!!! Yuck, 30 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would just like to say I hate horror stories and the genre in general so they might have coloured my review. I want to give these book 1 1/2 stars, but they do not allow half stars so rounded up.

This book has the Sith being typical Sith. Their endless quest for self-preservation and eternal life. In doing so the Sith master releases a virus that turns anyone infected into zombies. The Jedi in this book tent to be pretty ineffectual, maybe because it is usually the weaker Jedi who are assigned to the agricultural corps. The main Jedi in this story is an exception supposed extremely powerful, but has dedicated herself to corps rather than becoming Jedi Knight.

The main thing that annoyed me about this book is the Zombies one minute are brutes driven by hunger and nothing else then on occasions are a close knit hive mind, and in some cases allow people to keep their individual personalities. The rate of the infection is also inconsistent some time a person is infected and instantly changed, and then others go hours or days before they are changed.

I also noticed the line from Taken, have to be honest that was my favourite part of the book. The action was pretty rubbish, I was expecting a much better fight put up from the Sith student, and Sith Lords. They used little or no force powers to try and resist the Zombies. Where were all the lightsabers? Even the Blades master was grabbed and eaten within a few moments, the bounty hunter was the only one fighting back and he was using a spear and arrows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been set anywhere, 12 April 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Red Harvest (Paperback)
To be honest I didn't really end up thinking of this book as a title in the Star War's universe as it had more in common with a fantasy urban horror story than anything in the Star Wars Universe. Yes there were Sith, yes there were Jedi but come on, Zombies?

All in this really was a book that was about survival against the odds, fierce fighting and of course lead by a protagonist set to stop this new evil from infecting the universe. All in pretty standard stuff but nothing that I'd have thought of as coming from the Star Wars Universe and to be honest was a title that whilst different to the norm, really didn't feel that it gelled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Prequel, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
DR Burden "Horatio" (northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
After the rousing success of Death Troopers, I was really looking forward to this. Unfortunately it is one of the worst, most poorly concieved Star Wars novels for years. Dull,thinly drawn characters, villains whose motivations are never fully explained, unoriginal set pieces.
It tries, unsuccessfully to be copy Liam Neeson's seminal action flick Taken, even copying some dialogue from that film word for word, which I was frankly stunned the publisher allowed it to be included.
The action is badly written, especially in regards to any lightsaber combat.
These are stereotypical Sith with familar behaviour and traits, nothing new here whatsoever. You don't care who lives or dies.

In conclusion, this is massive disappointment that totally fails to build on the cleverness of genre splicing exhibited in Death Troopers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So-so, a lot of "meh", 29 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Red Harvest (Paperback)
A tricky one to form an opinion of. Really didn't feel like I was reading a Star Wars book for a lot of it. I appreciate how hard it is to make horror work in the SW universe as it isn't a genre you would usually associate with it.

I haven't read Joe Schreiber's other novel that this forms a prequel to, like many other reviewers. I've heard it's a better piece and that this pales in comparison to it.

The fact that I haven't read it hopefully means I can be a bit more objective in my review.

I've only just started reading Star Wars novels after getting into the expanded universe earlier this year and at the moment I'm trying to stick to a loose chronological order, going through the Old Republic series.

(Suffice to say, some spoilers will follow)

First off: What I didn't like about it.

The Sith students. Most of the activity in the book takes place at the Sith Academy and thus in many chapters you see the events from their eyes. The author didn't seem to do much to give the characters individual personalities and they all felt very two dimensional with stereotypical Sith characteristics making up their persona's. They were all greedy, selfish and obsessed with self-preservation above all else. Of course they are Sith, you expect this to a degree.

But the Sith in other Star Wars novels have bit more depth. Scourge in `SWTOR Revan' for example is very much a Sith loyal to the Empire and the Dark Side, but he thinks outside of the box and is prepared to team-up with two Jedi to achieve his ends. I kept expecting the students to show similar independence but they all shared the same Sith template. Given the important roles some of them played in the plot, the author really should have tried harder.

Second: It didn't feel like Star Wars for many parts. It felt like a stand-alone SciFi/horror book.

The lightsaber battles were pretty poorly written, it has to be said. One of the Jedi- the protagonist's brother- appears out of nowhere, decides with no discussion or reasoning with the Order to look for his sister and ends up on the Sith Academy alone. He then vanishes for most of the novel and turns up at the end with no real explanation of who he is or what he, as a Jedi, should be doing. It felt like his character was just going through the motions and there to add to his sister's eventual grief.

Thirdly: Aside from the main antagonist Darth Scabrous, most of the force users seemed pretty incompetent, Jedi and Sith alike. You can't expect everyone to be a Yoda or an Anakin in the series, but the zombie creatures that are fought in the book make a mockery of what are supposed to be the future backbone of the Sith military, a military which up until this point has seemed pretty infallible. What is more, the abilities of the zombies are at one point limited to basic animal aggression using tooth and nail (which makes sense) but later on they're planning cunning traps and using lightsabers!

Now, what I liked!

Hestizo Trace. The main Jedi. I really warmed to her throughout the book. At first I scoffed that the main character's Force ability is to be able to talk to plants- big deal! But it becomes the bases of a very useful power, and expands on the theory that is introduced in the very first film: that the force runs through all living things and everything can be connected.

She's a character that you sympathise with. She hasn't the strong confidence that most Jedi employ and no special talent in combat. At first this annoyed me as I expect my Jedi to be badass, but in the end I enjoyed following her story and was relieved to see her make it through the book.

Another plus was the character of the Whiphid bounty hunter Tulkh. He is introduced as a ruthless mercenary, out for blood and credits. He is the one that throws Zo into the academy and pretty much is the one who causes all the trouble. Unlike the one-dimensional Sith however, he adapts to the situation and in the end partners up with the Jedi to survive. They become reluctant allies and you really feel like he will betray her when it suits him. But in the end he makes a surprising U-Turn, which I won't spoil here.

The HK Droid of the academy was also a surprising attraction. Initially employed as a servant of the Sith, he is later freed by the Whiphid and plays a big part in rescuing the Jedi. He reminded me of Hk47 from KOTOR, which is possibly why I warmed to him.

That's it. Would I recommend it? Depends. I read the book in one sitting of around 3 hours so you might want to take that into consideration as well. If you're a die hard Old Republic fan like me, it's probably worth a punt.

I am however intrigued as to what the author's original book was like and I think I'll read that. In that sense maybe the book was a success as I obviously want to see where the zombie-virus goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst one I've read, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Red Harvest (Paperback)
Lately I have really been getting in to the Star Wars Novels. I purchased all the "The Old Republic" books as well as the "Lost Tribe of the Sith" book. All of these were Fantastic. Then I purchased this... what a crash to earth. Terrible isn't the word. The main Jedi character actually steals Liam Neeson's famous speech from Taken word for word. The other main Jedi character then goes on to refer to herself as "Taken"... at this point I had to give up.

Lazy writing and blatant plagiarism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An average Star Wars read, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Red Harvest (Paperback)
This book doesn't compare to the works of Drew Karpyshyn, Timothy Zahn or Kevin J Anderson (or several other authors), but Schreiber delivers a bold effort at blending Star Wars and zombie horror - a commendable attempt. Some of the characters in 'Red Harvest' were likeable or at least interesting; Tulkh the Whiphid bounty hunter being one.

I think that this novel attempts to celebrate Darth Scabrous as one of the great Sith, performing feats in parity to those of Darths Plagueis, Bane and Malgus. His success in creating zombies has no real backstory, just leaving the reader to sit and wonder about Scabrous' method, his knowledge, inspirations etc.

Schreiber doesn't make many references, in this novel, to other Star Wars characters, planets or events - leaving the whole novel's events to feel rather inconsequential (for the time being!) and detached from the rest of the galaxy.

Overall, this novel was enjoyable but forgettable, and it can be almost assured that your subsequent Star Wars reads will all but evaporate the memory of this standalone book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book it is very engrossing I read it in less than 24hrs as I couldn't put it down. star wars fans will love this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Red Harvest
Star Wars: Red Harvest by Joe Schreiber (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews