Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it
I'm biased, I love the Star Wars universe, mainly that created by the novels rather than the films, and for me Tim Zahns Thrawn Trilogy was where it all began. This novel revisits many of those same characters and this strength is one of it's weaknesses. The characters have evolved so much for me in the subsequent novels, births marriages and deaths taking place ofer...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Nicola Lawson

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Zahn's best work.
I've read all of Timothy Zahn's Star Wars novels and he is a brillant author but this simply isn't his best work. To get the most from this book you need to have all of his previous novels particularly Allegiance as Zahn seems to have written this book assuming you know all these characters. The new characters especially the villian are seriously underwritten. That said...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by Rollo Tomasi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 14 Jun 2012
I'm biased, I love the Star Wars universe, mainly that created by the novels rather than the films, and for me Tim Zahns Thrawn Trilogy was where it all began. This novel revisits many of those same characters and this strength is one of it's weaknesses. The characters have evolved so much for me in the subsequent novels, births marriages and deaths taking place ofer decades, and because of where this book is set it is limited in how much it can do. The added depths it gives to some of the characters makes it worth it for me but there is only so much it can do and so it can't manage the full 5 stars.
Nic - Author of 'True Illusions'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Zahn's best work., 5 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all of Timothy Zahn's Star Wars novels and he is a brillant author but this simply isn't his best work. To get the most from this book you need to have all of his previous novels particularly Allegiance as Zahn seems to have written this book assuming you know all these characters. The new characters especially the villian are seriously underwritten. That said the return of characters like Thrawn and Mara Jade is excellent.
The plot takes a little time to get going but is perfectly good. However it lacks the level excitement or interest that most of his previous books achieve.
In conclusion if you're new to Timothy Zahn start with some of his earlier work before reading this one, if a seasoned fan I would wait till it comes out in paperback as it is one of his weaker novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its bigger than you think, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Choices of One (Paperback)
I am enjoying reading this book and getting a wider understanding of the Star Wars universe, looking forward to more adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MORE GREAT STUFF, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
Timothy Zahn is a veteran of Star Wars fiction and in Choices Of One he presents us with an exciting and feature packed ride set between Episodes Four and Five. The rebellion is looking for a new base to stabilise their operations against the Empire so when an opportunity comes up they decide to take a look at an abandoned mining planet located near the Outer Rim. Unfortunately for our heroes, BBD (Big Bad Darth) and his cronies sniff out possible treason on their side so they hang around the system as well. The awesome Mara Jade is still the Emperor's Hand and she is used well by the author to enhance the story as well as extend the status of the Jedi in a brilliant chapter by Zahn.

Treachery, crossing and double crossing, potential for this there is, and a massive dose of goose bumps to follow with the appearance of BBD in a cameo role at book's end.

Overall this is a great addition to the Star Wars legend.

BFN Greggorio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, I want more, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm 44, first read books by Timothy Zahn in my twenties, always loved his ability to immerse the reader in his colourful worlds.... I always seem to project myself into each chapter as if watching on a big screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced adventure, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Nabil Hussain (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story was well written and had intrigue and action all the way throughout . However the ending was a little abrupt and a bit anti-climatic I felt. This caused the overall enjoyment of the book to be tarnished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary but not a pleasure to read, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Around halfway into the book I found myself asking what the point of this story was, but because this is a Timothy Zahn novel I persevered expecting that there must be some twist or redeeming element at the end. And there sort of is, but it has little to do with the actual story. The story is flat, not very well constructed and rather obvious. The main plot though is rather incidental to the point of the novel. Having read it you will forget it. The story however gives Zahn the possibility to add a little bit of pre-history to his bigger storyline within the universe and to act as bridge in tying together the background of Mara Jade and Thrawn. With a bit of a nudge and a wink he is able to bring them, Gilad Pellaeon, Luke, Han, Leia and a few others almost together without most of them knowing of the others' presence. Why should this though even be necessary? It is all just a little contrived and unrealistic given that the events take place on the outer edge of the galaxy. For good measure Darth Vader also makes a rather opportune appearance at the end.
Poor story aside those with a keen interest in the Empire and Rebellion will get something from persevering. Pellaeon's story is interesting and because we know that the Chimaera becomes the most famous Star Destroyer and it is exciting to see how Thrawn actually comes to meet Pellaeon and take command. How that happens is a bit of an anti-climax. The last few pages too add something to the events between Episodes IV and V. This novel is a necessary read, but not all that pleasurable and well below Zahn's standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My choice of one: read this book, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always like reading Timothy Zahn's books. For me, the Thrawn Trilogy is where it all began and are still some of the best Star Wars books ever written in my humble opinion. So it's always nice to read more books by Zahn, set in a similar period of the timeline, with a lot of the same characters, in a story that is multi-dimensional and has plots, sub plots and a nice way of linking everything together at the end.

Seeing how Zahn intentionally gets Mara Jade and Luke so close together without ever actually meeting (which would of course make a rather obvious plot hole) is both entertaining and clever. Having said that, I don't think this is Zahn's best work and there were some parts of the book that I found quite hard going. That is not to say it is a bad book because it isn't. It is action-packed throughout and is well paced. It's probably advisable to read Allegiance first though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And a worthy choice it is!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written by Timothy Zahn, a writer many consider to be not only the greatest writer of Star Wars Expanded Universe stuff, but also the most influential, this story picks up about 3 months after the first one, "Allegiance" finishes.

It has all the same major characters in it, from the Hand of Judgement, to Mara Jade and of course the Rebel Heroes we know from the films.

The story takes place a few months after the events of A New Hope and the Battle of Yavin, and is primarily about the Rebels looking for a new base to set up from, having been chased around the galaxy by the Empire.

As with all Zahn's books, the story is solid and intriguing, with you always wanting to know what's on the next page, the character development is as thorough as you'd xpect and the plot twists that happen every now and then will leave you guessing.

An interesting note, some of the characters who will have a dramatic impact on each other in the future (such as Mara and Luke's wedding) meet each other, however briefly, and it lends the book quite a nice feeling of connectiveness. It's almost cementing itself in the wall of Star Wars lore solely by saying it, you inevitably end up thinking "oh, so-and-so will do that at some point, wow", and feeling almost as if you're privy to some secret.

In all, it is a very good book, with a great name attached to it. If you enjoyed Allegiance, or Star Wars in general, I certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So it begins to take shape, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Neil Cooper (10 Lea Court, Failsworth, Oldham, Lancashire M35 0HG) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is a great read I enjoyed the follow up story on the hand of judgement they bring a personal feeling into the vision of the stormtrooper with some sense of morality. Mara Jade gets her first glimpse of young Luke and I'd like to read more involving her as the Emperor's Hand and what becomes of Larone and the others. A well written and planned book love the star wars universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Choices of One
Star Wars: Choices of One by Timothy Zahn (Paperback - 28 Jun 2012)
7.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews