Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect novel, really
A Single Man gives as much pleasure as you can get from a novel, I think, as the central figure is engaging - but not too 'nice' to be convincing - and the writing is unfailingly communicative as can only suggest quite a lot of common ground between George and Isherwood himself, even if we know Isherwood didn't lose his lover. The happy gay relationship - again not...
Published on 25 Jun. 2013 by schumann_bg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well...
Poor George... intellectually privileged, a homosexual in times of changes. The book isn't exactly gripping, but nevertheless, quite interesting. Sharp words and dialogues with depth, show an unhappy man looking to relive the best parts of his live.
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Stefan Medeiros


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well..., 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor George... intellectually privileged, a homosexual in times of changes. The book isn't exactly gripping, but nevertheless, quite interesting. Sharp words and dialogues with depth, show an unhappy man looking to relive the best parts of his live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece by Isherwood, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A single day in the life of an ageing man who has just lost his partner. The man is gay, but that is almost irrelevant. Isherwood wrote this book in the early sixties and the California setting is where he had made his home. In truth, not much happens. He goes to the college, gives his lecture on Huxleys 'After Many a Summer', talks to one of his students, goes to the gym, visits a lady friend on the spur of the moment and ends up in a late night bar. I won't give away the rest of the plot, but it is about how little experience really teaches you as you grow older.

I found this a lovely, wistful book and a deeply serious one. To my mind a better book than Goodbye to Berlin or Mr Norris Changes Trains. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This novel does not compare with Mr Norris Changes Trains and Goodbye to Berlin, both of which are well worth reading. Although there are some bits of good writing, it has almost nothing to recommend it. The main character George has little to admire except perhaps honesty (if it is a description of Isherwood), and he is prone to go off into long passages of fairly meaningless philosophizing. Neither Charlotte or Kenny are well developed characters, unlike the earlier mentioned novels, which abound in them. I am often amazed how some writers can produce both admirable and appalling books. This book is close to being in the latter category. I continued to the end because I thought it must get better, but it was not to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of now, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
What a beautiful book! One of the earliest unashamedly gay novels - no apologies, no neurosis - it is superbly written. An exercise in grief and redemption, of acceptance and having the courage to live in the present moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Single Man (Paperback)
This is Isherwood's finest piece of writing. Chanced upon it in a library, having heard about his Berlin novels and decided to give "Single Man" a go.

Isherwood's brilliance is his attention to detail, bringing to the reader's attention the world with an almost visceral quality, whilst retaining a resounding subtlety that makes this book really stand out. It is truly outstanding and a book for those who know about books.

Easily read in one sitting it is a book you can return to every now and again without feeling like you could be doing something better with your time.

The story revolves around an old man, lecturer at an LA university and a stranger to his neighbours. The people he meets during his routine are cause for much of the story's development, addressing key themes in the process.

This is my favourite book. It is well worth a read. If at all interested in North American literature (J.D. Salinger, Sylvia Plath, Douglas Coupland to name a few) and its concern with lonliness and the search for meaning and identity then this will be a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 Jan. 2012
This review is from: A Single Man (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I'd never heard of Isherwood (I know, where have I been?) before I got this book for Christmas. I must say that it is a charming little book, and one which proves you don't need an action hero saving the world to create an enthralling read.

Not much happens in the book, but that's what makes it so special. The trademark of a true author should be the ability to make the everyday elements seem interesting, to make us care about a character that isn't too far distanced from ourselves.

I have two other books of his to read and I am very much looking forward to giving them a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading ..., 7 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I found this book one of the best books I've ever read. I think Isherwood managed to stitch you into following one day of George's life and his memories and thoughts. It's serious - but humour has been tidely typed in well. The film was emotional but I gaurantee Isherwood's words won.
Despite the fact that a book should be read before a film I did it the wrong way around this time and instead of it falling slightly, I gained more udnerstanding.
I would refer this book to anyone especially if you need a small book to pass time.
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book in my view, 18 April 2011
This is a moving and eloquent book. If you like Christopher Isherwood, then I'm sure you'll love the book. I haven't seen the film, as I prefer to read the novel before watching the movie. Makes a nice book for reading on a commute too, as it's easy to dip into, and it's fairly short. Hope this is moderately helpful. All I'll say is that if you like Christopher Isherwood, then read it! If you don't know Christopher Isherwood, then read it! If you don't like Christopher Isherwood, then I guess you're not reading this review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this, now tell me, who did you see?, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
J. Potter "johniebg" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Single Man (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
The scenario was a book club, the book randomly taken from the Amazon top 100 fiction chart. First out of the hat was A Single Man, ranked fifty six at the time. A book written in the 1960's it is in the chart courtesy of the movie just released.

George is a man and he is single due to the death of his lover Jim, over a year ago. Jim and George lived together in America in the 1960's, a time when gay relationships were usually secret and seldom tolerated. The story follows George through a day, it details his relationships with other people and his innermost thoughts.

So? You are probably thinking, well I would agree, not much of a premise. But to not read this would be to deny yourself one of the most unique reading experiences you will ever have. It blew me away, here is why.

The power in each of the pages is not in a gay man's story. It is in the story of an outsider looking in at society. It is about what he does and importantly, what he thinks, how he copes with his grief, with his professional life conforming to expectations, his few friends, his frustrations and wants. George's story is very much the human story, it will touch you because in George you will see yourself. It will stay with you because the self you see will not be the one on show that everyone sees, but the self you keep tucked away inside.

Utterly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant, uplifting and worthwhile read, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short masterpiece. While very little actually occurs within the 200 pages of the book, Isherwood manages to describe in exquisite detail some of the most obvious thoughts that we all have, and some which we never really give any thought to until somebody (or some book) describes them for us. This was a really pleasant read and one of the few books I would fancy reading again quite soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Single Man (Vintage Classics)
A Single Man (Vintage Classics) by Christopher Isherwood (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews