Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy
This book is a must for anybody studying British history both ancient or recent. The Genealogy places every major or minor royal in his or her historical place giving the student a grid reference for further study. Tremendous detail is provided and it is very easy to lose a couple of hours flicking through this book. Ms. Weir spent 22 year researching and has produced an...
Published on 9 Feb. 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good genealogy
However, the structure of the book is really difficult to read, and the structure is really sporadic. This is due, for example, say I wanted to look up Richard III, you then need to flick to his relatives on page x and then remember whereabouts you originally started. It does what it says, but could have been so much better.
Published 21 months ago by ProgrammerWhizz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy, 9 Feb. 2004
This book is a must for anybody studying British history both ancient or recent. The Genealogy places every major or minor royal in his or her historical place giving the student a grid reference for further study. Tremendous detail is provided and it is very easy to lose a couple of hours flicking through this book. Ms. Weir spent 22 year researching and has produced an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book full of detail, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
J. Petty (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
I've not read this book from cover to cover, but dipped in and out to help my daughter with her homework. So far it has been extremely useful and contained everything (and more!) that she needed to know. I would recommend it as a very good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Royal Family Reference!, 7 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
Amazing book, for anyone interested in the family histories. Weir breaks them down by house, and it's very good reading besides containing every royal from 800 to present and all their children, grandchildren, etc. I had a copy "smuggled" to me by a friend in '96 (it's not published over here...), and now it's falling apart, it's always one of the first reference works I go to! Waiting eagerly for an update, this is still an amazing, difinitive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 24 Aug. 2010
I love this book. Once I pick it up I find the time seems to fly by. It's good to have it to hand when reading any other book about the monarchs of England and Scotland. I wondered why there weren't any family trees in the book, but soon I understood why. I had tried creating some family trees to be able to understand the relationship of the kings and queens to each other more clearly but it soon became extremely complicated. This is a throughly detailed reference book for anyone with a passing interest in the history of our monarchy. I do find it a little sad though, whereas one king may have ten pages dedicated to his extended family, another king may have the poignant remark: died unmarried and childless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
I read a lot of historical fiction and often the books can have a royal cast of thousands. This book has been a great aid to sorting out who's who and who's related to who. In particular, I think I may finally understand the complexity of the relationships of the Yorks and Lancastrians! An inspired work of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect research tool., 16 Jan. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (stoke-on-trent, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
I have always had a great interest in medieval England, and when I decided I wanted to try and write my own historical fiction I thought I had better do a bit of in depth research. This book was nothing short of a godsend. Explicit in detail, concise in layout and considering it's essentially a reference book this tome is compellingly readable.

A great book for the beginner wanting to learn more detail or for the seasoned professional just wanting to brush up on their facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROYALTY EXPLAINED, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
This is a wonderful review of the Royal Families of the United Kingdom. So much research has gone into the writing of this reference book and on the whole its accuracy is beyond reproach.It is the kind of book you want beside you when you are reading some of Alison Weir's novels as it puts into perspective the interlinking between the European Royals.
The information given before purchase was good and accurate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alison Weir's Britain's Royal Families Genealogy, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
This is an excellent research tool, or just for wanting to know who is who. I have had for many years a wall chart showing the generations of royal families, and I just wasn't sure what format this publication would be in. How was Ms. Weir going to put a genealogical chart in BOOK format? Well, this is just perfect. The reading is easy, and her research goes well beyond superb. I enjoy everything, well, except for the book on the Wars of the Roses (far too school-study-or-you-fail-reading for me), but her novels are great too. I look forward to anything she has coming out everytime I visit the bookstore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alison Weir, - my idol, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
Can't believe she could work the whole thing out! It's much more and heavier than just a book...Alison Weir is a live dictionary of history herself! A perfect reference book for anybody who is interested in royal history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work of reference, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy (Paperback)
This excellent work of reference is great for any history buff, royal watcher or for the home library of any school child as a homework tool. It contains the vital information about the parents, grandparents, children and grandchildren of every monarch of Wessex, England, Scotland and the United Kingdom, and some other descendants in the direct line of succession who didn't directly succeed themselves, since King Egbert of Wessex (b around 769/80) and King Alpin of Scotland and of Kintyre (who succeeded to those Kingdoms in 834.
One thing that is worth mentioning, is that when the author, Alison Weir, was researching this and is some cases found more than one possible date for any event, or name or even identity for any particular individual, she chose to be completist and to include all the possibilities in this work, with an indication of what was likely or unlikely to be correct, as the case may be, so for those conducting a very academical or genealogical study of the subject of royal genealogy or history this should be treated as a very good starting point rather than sole reference, but this work nonetheless meets the needs of most people who would want to buy and refer to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy
Britain's Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy by Alison Weir (Paperback - 18 Dec. 2008)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews