Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Hit it Right!
Prof Wangari Maathai is a visionary to say the least.She weaves through the history,the politics and economic facts very well and truth be told I could not put the book down.I really was challenged as i read the book to help in bettering my country and my continent.The title is truly befitting and all Africans,African leaders and the people need to read this and oh the...
Published on 16 Nov 2010 by Voicechild

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat interesting but too generic
for a first time reader on African politics this would be a great place to start, or if you need a refresher then its great too. The format of most chapters is to spend 17 pages addressing the many problems of the particular topic, which have been stated many times before, then 1 or two pages suggesting policy recommendations. The balance was not quite right therefore but...
Published 2 months ago by Will McBain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Hit it Right!, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
Prof Wangari Maathai is a visionary to say the least.She weaves through the history,the politics and economic facts very well and truth be told I could not put the book down.I really was challenged as i read the book to help in bettering my country and my continent.The title is truly befitting and all Africans,African leaders and the people need to read this and oh the Bonos as well especially as regards aid.
Simply put amazing,if we all do our part as she says Africa shall surely emerge victorious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good on the problem, not sure about the proposed solutions, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wangari has the problems in Africa nailed, but her ideas on the solutions focus on the institution that are manifestly weak. Surely there needs to be more attention given to removing criminals from Leadership positions rather than hoping for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat interesting but too generic, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
for a first time reader on African politics this would be a great place to start, or if you need a refresher then its great too. The format of most chapters is to spend 17 pages addressing the many problems of the particular topic, which have been stated many times before, then 1 or two pages suggesting policy recommendations. The balance was not quite right therefore but the book was interesting none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
Clear, incisive and a must read for everyone who cares about Africa and the future of the world written by a strong woman with vast experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not conclusive, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is not honestly showing the intellectual capacity of a historian.
The language is the standard vocabulary of professional politicians.
Her view of the African history is absolutely odd and partial, unable to make an objective analysis and coming to a universal synthesis.
Where she is trying to underlying some very critical points, she is just generic and, diplomatically, avoiding to mention the nefarious authors.
Useless book. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
A book that all people interested in helping African countries should read - before they "wade in" with their help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book covers well the various issues facing Africa today, in particular corruption and ethnic conflict. Since the author is Kenyan, many of the case studies are on Kenya and I would have preferred a bit more variation, but this is not a massive problem. Definitely worth a read for those who want to know the reasons for why Africa is like it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Challenge for Africa, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
This woman changed the whole aspect on RETURNING nature to it's roots - so many have been busy denuding it which I was always against for many years. My only disapointment with this book, is that it doesn't have one photograph of the author which is so important as Wangari won a Nobel Peace Prize! I'll be honest, I went onto wikileaks to put some photographs of her in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and persuasive writing, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
The arguments are very convincing and the writing style is as clear, elegant, and transparent as you will come across. This is a real joy to read and makes one want to know more about Africa and to get more involved in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The challenge fro Africa by Wangari Maathai, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Challenge for Africa (Paperback)
The book is an excellent and insightful piece of work! However the copy I received is VERY poorly bound. The first 44 pages have fallen out and I have not completed the book! The binding is such a disservice to such an important piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadec0798)

This product

The Challenge for Africa
The Challenge for Africa by Wangari Maathai (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews