Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
Joshua Joseph Spork is a name that will be with me for a long time, if not the rest of my life. He is an antique dealer, expert repairer of things clockwork, son of a submachine toting crook, and the main character in Nick Harkaway's spy adventure novel, "Angelmaker".

When I reviewed Nick's previous novel, "The Gone-Away World", I described it as "a fast paced...
Published on 31 Jan. 2012 by P. McCLEAN

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long-winded but okayish in the end
I did change my mind very slightly by the end but this is still a very long-winded, loosely edited book that could have been a third of the length and much tighter. The story meanders around like an engineered culvert built by a millionare madman, it just feels laboured. The violence (even the torture) has no reality and no humanity - it just seems like Violence Lite. I...
Published on 20 July 2012 by Skippy


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pacey but contrived and lacking in character depth, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Hardcover)
Although there were some interesting digressions and titbits of information, I found ' Angelmaker' to be over long, very contrived and lacking in depth of character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts but far too long, 19 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Angelmaker (Hardcover)
Angelmaker is a deeply flawed novel. The author can write, and the world he creates is convincing in places, but he is continually let down by unnecessary elaboration. There's a good 200 page novel struggling to get out of this book, and both author and publisher deserve considerable criticism for not doing more to bring it out. Dickensian description works if you are Dickens; Harkaway isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Angelmaker (Paperback)
Clockwork bees!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Kindle Edition)
I loved "The Gone-Away World" and this was more in the same vein. The world described is more familiar, but still different from our own. Yes, it's London, but one where there is a King of Thieves, and marvels in clockwork are possible. Weaving philosophy around two love stories and a tight plot to save the planet from a man who would destroy it by giving us total knowledge, this is an intelligent thriller written in prose rich in quirky humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard going, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because the reviews were great but I found this book hard going. Maybe it was just me but the story isnt very straight forward. I made to about page40 and gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Holiday Book, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Kindle Edition)
Really good storyline, you do just need to read it without interruption. This

Will become a classic example of 21st Century British writing which owes something to an earlier age. In the beautifully crafted eccentric there is a faint perfume of John Masefield's Box of Delights. Always there is a sense of wonders both gorgeous and deadly just around the corner. It's rich and sumptuous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Kindle Edition)
Although this book was outside my normal choice of reading, the quiet humour I encountered meant it passed my first page test with ease. After that, however, I found I went through a process which started with mild confusion, followed by some understanding, which led eventually to genuine empathy with the characters and their roles and from there a deep desire to know how the story would unfold to its conclusion. Part spy thriller, part Pratchett and with a tip of the hat to Douglas Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Peter Ibbotson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Kindle Edition)
Loved Nicks earlier work with the gone away world and really enjoyed this one too. Nick has a great skill in creating what feels like a believable world which just ever so slightly different from our own.

Now more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steelmaker - a delight, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Kindle Edition)
This book is a delight. The end leaves you wanting more. A work of engaging complexity (yes this is a sort of a spoiler) with characters larger than life. Mr Harkaway has now made it to my list of authors to watch out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and gripping, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angelmaker (Paperback)
For anyone that misses the kinds of stories that Michael Marshall Smith used to write (Only Forward, Spares etc). There were several moments in this novel that had me hugging myself with glee. The Gone Away World was equally good and I'm now going to go and buy everything else he's written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angelmaker
Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (Paperback - 3 Jan. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews