Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review - The Revolution Will Be Digitised
Full review at [...]
Heather Brooke's latest book takes a long, hard, look at the battle for open information in the digital era, and offers a difficult critique of how governments might still just about be winning. The fascinating narrative of the Wikileaks Afghan war logs, Iraq war logs, and Cablegate data leaks, and the effect on all those involved, is threaded...
Published on 27 Sept. 2011 by Charlotte Hneyr

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much gossip
Investigative journalist Heather Brooke is best known for her dogged campaign to obtain information on British MPs expenses. Her efforts were crowned with success in May 2009 after one of the staff tasked with redacting the original invoices for publication supplied the entire database to the Daily Telegraph on a disc. The result, as you will undoubtedly know if you live...
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Metropolitan Critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's worth your time to read this book, 22 Sept. 2011
By 
R. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most people who are already long term digital natives will recognize many of the events and places that Heather writes about in this book. It's the story of how the Internet is being turned against us, our data, ourselves, and how our lives being stored on databases, and who and why they are doing it.

But the book mostly concentrates on Wikileaks, and her Not-Quite love affair with Julian Assange, the obvious excitement she feels at the time of the events comes through quite clearly in her writing..I mean about the leaks..not Julian himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 24 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the Wikileaks dramas of 2010, the Surveillance State is going global. It's up to each of us to fight for our rights and this book is an essential guide. Once again Heather Brooke tackles one of the most pressing issues of our age. It's a great read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - read it, 21 Aug. 2011
Not a complete review as I am only on Ch5 - will update as soon as I have finished it but already I am very impressed. If you have even the sligtest interest in what is happening in our globalised world and how we as individuals may be able to influence the course of the next decade you really should read this book. Big subjects but really readable and full of fascinating insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 19 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you would like to know about the way the internet is being regulated in an entertaining fashion, then this is the ideal book. Everyone online should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
By 
G. P. NUTTALL - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revolution will be Digitised: Dispatches from the Information War (Paperback)
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tabloid "journalism", 21 Aug. 2011
This book is Brooke trying to sell already known facts and phenomena as her discoveries. The rest is pure vile backstabbing gossip by a self declared FOI fighter+journalist who saw an opportunity to cash in!

Heather Brooke would make an excellent source/writer for the National Enquirer the way she sells out a former friend for money.

If this is your style then this book is for YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Revolution will be Digitised: Dispatches from the Information War
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews