Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant tab companies dodgy dealings.
I have read 6 of John Grishams novels now and this was a real page turner from the outset. The story centres around a massive court case involving the largest tobacco companies in the world and the lengths they well go to, to secure a verdict in their favour. At times the plot gets weighed down with court precedure but don't let this put you off. The book keeps you...
Published on 6 April 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best.
I found this book quite boring and not as good as some of his other books. John Grisham is a very good writer but I would enjoy more twists and turns in the story. I recommend "The Client".
Published on 15 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant tab companies dodgy dealings., 6 April 2001
By A Customer
I have read 6 of John Grishams novels now and this was a real page turner from the outset. The story centres around a massive court case involving the largest tobacco companies in the world and the lengths they well go to, to secure a verdict in their favour. At times the plot gets weighed down with court precedure but don't let this put you off. The book keeps you gripped right up to the last 50 pages or so when you can pretty much guess the ending. Other than that, a right riveting read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should definitely make a Runaway Hit in the cinema halls, 2 Jan 2007
This book is really good. Shame that they changed the topic from tobacco to guns in the film version.Interestingly the law suit won against Phillip Morris is very reflective of the books content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars miles better than the film, 30 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
simply superb, starts off quite slowly while trying to choose the jury, once the trial gets going you will be amazed at Nicholas Easters skills together with his sidekick.
Truely amazing story, could someday become a non fiction account of a tobacco company's fate at trial.
Dont Miss this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has you turning the pages as fast asyou can to find out more, 6 Feb 2002
By A Customer
The Runaway Jury is an example of John Grisham at his finest. The book follows the story of a large civil case against a tabacoo company which starts off as expected. However, it becomes clear that the jury are acting strangely, especially to those doing their best to see that their client wins - at whatever cost.
The story is full of suspense and surprises, the best of which, in true Grisham style, is until last. Try it - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just an all around great read., 12 April 2007
Certainly one of Grisham's best works. Runaway Jury has just the right combination of Drama, acttion and interesting insight to the ugliness of the legal process.

The main character Nicholas Easter is compelling and really brings about a real reason to think about just how much justice can be served when going up against massive corporations with virtually unlimited resources power and influence.

unlike some of Grisham's other works this novel is tight non-repetitive and a good strong read. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham at his best, 15 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
Big corporations undoubtedly have the power, the motivation and the money needed to corrupt or manipulate juries. When the foreman stands and delivers the verdict, has it been reached by free discussion and appraisal of evidence, or was it bought, with huge cash payments or personal threats? How many verdicts are "fixed" in real life? Grisham's novel raises many disturbing questions about the way the legal system operates, but in addition to that, it's a cracking good read. I rarely read a book non-stop from cover to cover, but I found this one hard to put down. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read !, 17 April 2000
I really enjoyed this book. It was the usual top quality that you can expect from Grisham. The plot was completely original and to this day it is one of my favourite books. I would definately recommened this book to anyone who likes a fast moving, adventurous and gripping book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific story, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
I've enjoyed a number of John Grisham books and thought this one of his best. It's a real page turner that keeps you guessing until the end. Not only is it an exciting court-room drama but also a well-researched exposé of the underhand behaviour of the cigarette companies and their strategy of using paid academic acolytes who'll say anything for money to counter the genuine research that doesn't suit the industry. Much of the tension in the book is over how successful a devious strategist, working for the cigarette companies, will be in swinging the juries verdict by any means and at any expense. Terrific stuff! If you think that the lengths the defenders of cigarettes will go to in this book are far-fetched then reading the book The Cigarette Papers which, using secret papers unearthed by actual litigation, will reveal just how realistic the novel is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smoke them out!, 5 Aug 2007
Just a rip roaring good read. Makes me glad I never touched a ciggy in my life. Grisham's skill in taking an otherwise dull trial where experts espouse detailed and barely understandable terminology and turning it into something fast paced and exciting is truly remarkable.

I have to admit that of late I have been rather dissapointed by Grisham's work, particularly his novel the Summons for its incessent repetition of points already communicated ad infinitum, but this novel is certainly among his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light up another one, 2 May 2004
By 
This review is from: The Runaway Jury (Paperback)
I'm an avid fan of John Grisham, I must admit. I love how he builds up suspense, explains the power balance in trials. And this is certainly not a disappointment in that respect.
Certainly you know smoking is bad for you. And certainly you've already given it some thought WHY people keep smoking, even though it is bad for you. I know I have. I have a myriad of reasons to keep smoking. But whatever the reasons are that I come up with for myself, I will never blame someone else for my habit. I am responsible for that choice. Right?
After reading this book, I'm not so sure anymore. After all, Grisham does a great job describing what ends tobacco companies will go to to defend their kingdoms. It describes in detail the addictive and destructive power of cigarettes. With all the harm it can do, it is mindboggling how much government support cigarettes still get, even though those same governments charge taxes on tobacco.
Grisham shows you the influence and interest of these parties in understandable terms. You follow the trial in which Juror #2 is seated from one surprising stage to another, while the loyalty of Juror #2, the unofficial leader of the jurors, remains clouded.
This trial had been rehearsed, in detail. After all, this is not the first time a sick person sues a tobacco company. And this is certainly not the first time a tobacco company has had to defend itself. In fact, since they have su much to loose in this, they have made defending themselves in these kind of trials an art in itself.
But then again, the other side has had some time to prepare themselves too. In every trial so far, they have had the opportunity to learn and improve their tactics. And one of these trials, they will come out a winner.
If you want to stop smoking, try this book. And see if you can evade the manipulations of tobacconists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Runaway Jury
The Runaway Jury by John Grisham (Paperback - 28 Oct 2010)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews