Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, brilliant novel, must be read
This is the second JG novel that i read after The Appeal and i have to say that it has been one of the best books i have ever read. It has the fast pace style that i enjoy reading. If you have never read a JG novel then this is the perfect one to start with!
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Start well but fades dissapointingly
The first half of this is very well done - ambitious young lawyer joins a law firm who offer him great riches but at a cost of working himself into the ground - can anyone realy survive on so little sleep? Gradually it begins to dawn on him that things might not be what they seem and there is a sinister side to the firm. All this is gripping and belivable in a glossy sort...
Published on 16 Dec 2002 by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, brilliant novel, must be read, 24 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Firm (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second JG novel that i read after The Appeal and i have to say that it has been one of the best books i have ever read. It has the fast pace style that i enjoy reading. If you have never read a JG novel then this is the perfect one to start with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiringly Brilliant., 21 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Firm (Mass Market Paperback)
If I ever saw a classic Grisham this is it ladies and gents. This was the very first Grisham I ever picked up, my dad assured me that it was excellent and on that basis gave it a read. I would like to offer YOU the same assurance. This book is simply inimitable. If you have a liking for the legal and a thirst for thrillers, hay presto, this is what you've been looking for.
The Firm tells the story Mitchell McDeere - Mitch, practically the best that Harvard Law School has to offer, is in demand. All the big boys want him, Wall Street, you name it. After the interview he passed before he got there, he starts work, as a tax layer for Bendini, Lambert & Locke, a small Memphis firm that are apparently more of a family than a firm. The trouble starts hear.
What started out as a very rosy beginning for Mitch, a new BMW, house and student loan paid off by the firm not to mention a huge salary, begins to turn into a nightmare. The firm is not legit. Their crooks. Now Mitch has to get out.
This book, I think, was once described as a compulsive page turner, and man, thats so right. Comfortably within my top five books of all time. And something you need to read! Very strongly recommended to the first time reader of the fantastic and brilliantly talented Grisham.
If you've never read a Grisham - you've never read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Start well but fades dissapointingly, 16 Dec 2002
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Firm (Mass Market Paperback)
The first half of this is very well done - ambitious young lawyer joins a law firm who offer him great riches but at a cost of working himself into the ground - can anyone realy survive on so little sleep? Gradually it begins to dawn on him that things might not be what they seem and there is a sinister side to the firm. All this is gripping and belivable in a glossy sort of way.
However, as the book progresses it begins to lose its way. Mafia characters appear who are lifted straight out of ganster central casting. The plot get more and more far fetched and the whole thing is let down by the authors attempt to have it every possible way with the ending. Which is a shame because it started so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Thriller!!, 4 Feb 2005
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Firm (Mass Market Paperback)
Mitch McDeere has graduated 3rd in his class at Harvard law, all the big firms are about to come calling. He has come along way from a broken and humble family to make it all the way to the brink of boundless opportunity. The good life is within touching distance and Mitch can almost taste the success.
However what he didn't expect was an offer from a smaller company in Memphis called Bendini, Lambert and Locke who are ready to beat the highest offer of any of the New York of Chicago Firms exceeding Mitch's wildest dreams and fantasies.
The Bendini firm charms the pants of Mitch and it's not long before him and his beautiful wife are heading south to their beautiful new house and BMW, a far cry from the student digs and broken down heap they have been driving while Mitch slugged his way through law school.
'The Firm' is much more than meets the eye, and as they begin to swamp Mitch with work for the bar exam and renovations for his new house, he is approached by an FBI agent early on who informs him that no one has ever left his firm alive! Some have tried and all have ended up dead, for his new employers are none other than the mob itself, and unbeknown to him Mitch has just bought into a life in the mafia, whether he likes it or not.
His only way out is to steal files and hand them over to the feds, thus exposing the corruption, however in doing this not only will he be disbarred for breach of the lawyer client privilege, but he will also face a certain death sentence and a life on the run in the witness protection program. Mitch has a decision to make.
I loved this book, much more so than the film version, which i must say is also a very good adaptation matching the book stride for stride except for a few minor details and ending totally different, which was refreshing and enjoyable.
I felt the book also gave more food for thought and allowed for better plot and character development as so often is the case. I would highly recommend this book as an enjoyable thriller that you'll find easy to get into and hard to put down, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason this is a classic..., 13 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Firm (Mass Market Paperback)
Reread this again recently and quite simply it is so well written it hurts. What a great premise, what a great cast of characters, what a great plot. Grisham once said "I sell too many books to get good reviews", which I think explains some of his detractors. Nobody bats it out of the park every time, nobody, but this is as good as a beach read gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment, 15 May 2011
This review is from: The Firm (Kindle Edition)
This is the book that made Grisham a #1 bestseller, and that is fitting because it is first rate. With outstanding suspense and entertainment, Grisham delivers a novel that is worth reading more than once.

Roger Weston, author of The Golden Catch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic John Grisham classic!, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Firm (Kindle Edition)
A very good and fast pace novel by John Grisham. The books protagonist, eager and naive law student Mitchell Y. McDeere, is fresh out of Harvard and lured into top Memphis law firm 'Bendini, Lambert and Locke'. Despite it being somewhat smaller and perhaps less reputable than the top Wallstreet firms, it offers a much larger pay cheque, BMW and fancy subburban house, all for signing on the dotted line. However, what "Mitch" does not know, and what we all become acutely aware of, is that he has signed up to more than just a new career; he has signed away his life. The question is can he get back it back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but the film is better, 18 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Firm (Mass Market Paperback)
A book of two, well, not quite halves, but bits. The first two-thirds are a gripping psychological thriller; the remaining third, once the chase is on, becomes all very convoluted, messy and, frankly, unconvincing. The ending of the film - an excellent adaptation - is altogether much more satisfactory - and satisfying. In short, a good enough read which could have been tightened up at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TO: All Associates. FROM: The Partners. Re.: An urgent announcement., 15 Jan 2013
By 
T. T. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Firm (Hardcover)
CONFIDENTIAL.

The partners of Messrs. Bendini, Lambert & Locke have an announcement to make. It has come to our attention that Mr. McDeere, who you will all know as an associate of the firm, has engaged a literary agent, a former lawyer by the name of John Grisham, who has helped him write his own account of his career with Bendini, Lambert & Locke. The book is titled, 'The Firm'. Clearly anyone found co-operating with Mr. McDeere or Mr. Grisham will face disciplinary action.

We also understand that 'The Firm' is already attracting reviews on Amazon. According to one reviewer, a T. T. Rogers, 'The Firm' is "...an excellent novel, Grisham's best..." This T. T. Rogers character also has the temerity to add: "In his construction of the lamentably corrupt law firm of Bendini, Lambert & Locke, Grisham shows that the most sinister evil comes with a smiling face. It's perversely comforting to know that anyone can be taken in by this kind of evil, but at the same time chilling. As the story progresses, Grisham skilfully constructs a creeping sense of unease and moral entrapment. There is little obvious drama; this is more a modern morality tale that sets-up society's conventions for attack by accentuating the very worst qualities that our most respected citizens exhibit within a bankrupt social system. Grisham slowly unveils a Southern law firm's corrupt heart, which rests, viper-like, within a comforting net of white-shoed insouciance, pouncing suddenly and trapping McDeere in its net. Yet the novel's dénouement isn't so much a moral vindication, more an amoral victory for the main character. McDeere is ensnared by his own shallowness and greed, but he thrives on it; he is not a sympathetic character, very much more akin to an anti-hero, if not a villain of a kind in his own right."

Now, it's clear to us that this T. T. Rogers fellow has not the first clue about real literature and he is just full of so much bombastic waffle. He is an eccentric and not a very popular reviewer on Amazon at that, so the damage to the firm is minimised and we needn't worry. Nevertheless, our security team will be visiting on T. T. Rogers with a view to having this scurrilous review replaced with a statement of clarification from the firm. In the meantime, anyone caught browsing the Amazon website - especially the book reviews of T. T. Rogers - will also be liable for disciplinary action.

As you all know, Bendini, Lambert & Locke practices to the highest ethical standards. However recently we conducted a review of a sample of live files and we identified discrepancies between time-recording and billing data. We will be asking you all individually to rectify any apparent errors and put files in order. This will be in readiness for an inspection visit by the State Bar, which we have requested and which we welcome as an opportunity to reassure the Bar that we are an upstanding and ethical law firm.

Mr. McDeere's nefarious activities have now been referred to the City of Memphis Police and the State Bar and we anticipate criminal and disciplinary procedures will be commenced against him. We have also filed for an injunction in federal court against the FBI, blocking any further investigation and ensuring no search and seizure of our offices in light of their illegal investigative methods (which included, inter lia, the theft of our files). Furthermore, we have submitted strong complaints about these disgraceful and highly improper activities to the Department of Justice and the FBI Inspector-General respectively. These are flagrant abuses on the part of a few rogue FBI agents and we have made it clear to the authorities that this type of corruption will not be tolerated.

Now you all know Mr. DeVasher, our head of security. He and his colleagues will be speaking with each of you individually over the next few days. Most of the meetings will take place out of the office, to ensure minimal disruption to billing. It is important that we conduct these meetings as quickly as possible so that we can establish an understanding. Any current live files you are working on will also be reviewed to ensure they meet our standards. We expect your full co-operation in this endeavour.

Bendini, Lambert & Locke remains the pre-eminent mid-sector corporate tax firm in the United States with a reputation for high-quality and discrete advice to its many established clients. We look forward to working with you to protect our good name and build a future we can all be proud of.

While writing, a memorial service will be held on Tuesday for Avery Tolleson, who sadly died recently of a heart attack. You all know Avery had been unwell and had to be hospitalised, nevertheless his sad and premature death is difficult for all of us.

Your time spent reading and then destroying this memo should be assigned to your next case file, using billing code FBI1.

Oliver Lambert, Senior Partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Firm (Kindle Edition)
it was my first Grishams novel.aftet that one i have already bought 23 of his books.i think that he is the best one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Firm
The Firm by John Grisham (Paperback - 28 Oct 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews