Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit from Grisham
'The Client' is my favouraite Grisham novel. It is a gripping tale, this book is excruating to put down!
While two young boys are in the woods, a man who knows crucial information about a murder investigation tries to kill himself. The eldest boy Mark, a very mature child, tries to stop the suicide and suffers for it. He learns too much information and before long,...
Published on 18 July 2005 by Anna Heelas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Long and drawn out
This story could quite comfortably be told in half an hour but instead it's spread out over four cassettes.
Published on 13 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit from Grisham, 18 July 2005
By 
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
'The Client' is my favouraite Grisham novel. It is a gripping tale, this book is excruating to put down!
While two young boys are in the woods, a man who knows crucial information about a murder investigation tries to kill himself. The eldest boy Mark, a very mature child, tries to stop the suicide and suffers for it. He learns too much information and before long, he has the FBI hounding at his door whilst being attacked from the other side by the mafia. Luckily he stumbles over a lawyer who helps him crawl his way out of the mess.
This is an inspiring and touching read, perfect for holiday or just entertainment. Although all works by Grisham are fantastic, I would say this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Someone is always watching you, 16 Aug 2006
By 
G. M. Buchanan "Page marker" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
Firstly I must admit to being a John Grisham fan,I have read nearly all of his work. This ranks amongst the best. Two lads are witness to an attempted suicide. One lad attempts to stop the suicde and ends up being caught and dragged into the car with the man. As the fumes fill the car the man tells the boy he was a lawyer for a mafia hit man and proceeds to tell the boy things the FBI would like to know. The boy gets out the car and the man kills himself. It is now a fight between the hit man and the FBI as to who gets control of the boy. A great story full of tension,twists and turns and it will keep you turning pages long into the night. I would have gave it five stars but no one is perfect - although this comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book but could have been considerably shorter., 7 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
The Client is a worthy read with an intriguing, thought provoking plot. The book manages to keep the readers attention well throughout and culminates in a predictable but exciting finale. I was again hooked after another of Grisham's legendary first chapters and consumed the book in a week. My only complaint is that Grisham placed too greater emphasis on description often holding up the story's flow. As a result I often found myself skimming pages in the middle section and feel that the book could have been significantly shorter. I have, therefore, given it four stars as opposed to its easily achievable five. However, don't let this deter you from reading it, as it really is a classy book. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - even by Grisham's standards., 1 Feb 2008
By 
B. J. Madeley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
The Client is a legal thriller written by bestselling author John Grisham, it also now a succesful film. Set in the deep south on a trailer park in Tennessee, it seems an unlikely place to find the only witness to the suicide of a top Mafia lawyer. 11 year old Mark Sway is the unfortunate witness, who is informed of the whereabouts of a the boby of a Mafia murdered U.S. senator.

This is definitely one of the best books written by John Grisham (and that's saying something). It's an enormously easy to read and gripping novel, the pages will just fly by! Mark Sway, despite being a bit of a little brat is a very likeable and engaging character who is clearly terrified of the position he finds himself in. This book also includes some very violent and bloodthirsty villains who want Mark dead!

If your a fan of Grisham you will love this, if your not then you will be once you've read The Client!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Long and drawn out, 13 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Client, The (Audio Cassette)
This story could quite comfortably be told in half an hour but instead it's spread out over four cassettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not disappointed by one of the best authors around, 25 Mar 2002
By 
drew sanders (la,la,lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
i have only just read this after many of his later books but i must say that this book is very good. an eight year old becomes traumatised and his brother is being hunted by the maffia. it was gripping from the first to the last chapter. i am a big fan of john grisham and anyone who wonders why should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They are in danger, 15 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I think the book "The Client" is an exciting book
but the pictures in it are terrible.
The story is about a boy who knows a horrible secret. The Mafia follows him and his family. So they are in danger. Maybe you watched the movie but also you can read the book. It's thinn but if you like exciting Mafia and FBI stories you have to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't eat till I was through!, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
John Grisham really knows how to trail his reader through without any trace of boredom. He really knows how to make one follow through as if it were a real story and not fiction. And I put down my armatuors at how you end your books, giving the just what he deserves. You always make it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 13 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
Mark Sway, 11, is the only person who knows where the body of the senator is buried. The mafia wants him silenced, and the law wants him to speak. Only Reggie Love, his lawyer can save him from both. A gripping book, which deals with law and fights between lawyers on technical grounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!!!!!, 9 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Client (Paperback)
This is the best John Grisham book I've read (with the possible exception of "The Runaway Jury" - go buy it if you haven't already!)
The characters are interesting, moving, and involving, especially Mark Sway - the kid who knows the secret, and Reggie Love his small time, low paid, but heavy hitting lawyer.
This book is a pleasure to read, and I was unable to put it down - despite being quite long. It was almost as if I didn't want it to end!
The story is gripping and you really get into the plots and sub-plots, and the characters are very real.
Involving and entertaining throughout - I highly recommend this book (which is why I gave it a Five Crown rating). And though I would'nt advise you to do what I did - which was watch the movie after reading the book (don't watch it at all) - here's a tip: it does make the book better if you picture Susan Sarandon as her character 'Reggie Love' as you read it (she's much more convincing that way than with the badly written screenplay in the movie).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

The Client
The Client by John Grisham (Paperback - 28 Oct 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews