Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My All-Time Favorite Mystery
Brat Farrar has everything a mystery should: a carefully-constructed plot, well-hidden but available clues, and an ending that wraps everything up without resorting to deux ex machina. The build-up to the "creation" of Pat Ashby -- the character the protagonist assumes in order to inherit an English estate -- is so thoughtfully described and developed, it...
Published on 20 Sep 1998

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really poor print quality.
Seldom have I seen a book spoiled by such poor quality of print, but this achieves that. There is really no excuse for quality of this standard.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. W. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My All-Time Favorite Mystery, 20 Sep 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
Brat Farrar has everything a mystery should: a carefully-constructed plot, well-hidden but available clues, and an ending that wraps everything up without resorting to deux ex machina. The build-up to the "creation" of Pat Ashby -- the character the protagonist assumes in order to inherit an English estate -- is so thoughtfully described and developed, it was later referred to by Mary Stewart as the basis for her own character's deception in "The Ivy Tree."
All of these lead to a good mystery; what makes it a great mystery is the plethora of believable characters. The reader is invited to be part of a charming English village and becomes the champion of Brat as he works his way through a complicated identical-twin relationship to solve the hidden-secrets mystery in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very emotive murder mystery, 7 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
A curious kind of detective story, with no detective for start. It's a lot more psychological than some of Josephine Tey's other books. It tells the story of a scam to win an inheritance which turns into a murder mystery, all within the understated, distinctly stiff-upper-lip confines of a horse-mad English family. I got a bit tired of the horses to be honest, but the characters are fascinating and their emotional complications convincing. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite books EVER, 5 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
One of greatest tragedies in the world of mysteries is that Josephine Tey wrote so few. I've loved this book ever since I was a girl and found it on the shelf of my parent's library.
The book is populated by a number of likeable, believable characters (even the unlikeable characters are believable). The reader is compelled to keep reading by the interesting plot that keeps reveals new aspects of the story without seeming at all contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic still fresh and compelling, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Dolphin (Stuck inside a cloud) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Camden) (Hardcover)
The first thing I noticed about this author is her incredible talent for rendering conversations. In fact her narrative is so dialogue-driven that her protagonist often has spirited and convincing exchanges with his inner self. Although written before 1949, the writing has a timeless quality, a very modern tightness, and I found the style very "easy on the ears" and thoroughly enjoyable. This book is unusual in that it draws the reader inside the story and invites you to unlock the mystery. The plot's plausibility is heavily dependent on a couple of unique coincidences but, once you accept the premise, everything else follows. In fact, for me the precariousness of the situation adds tension and, although the ending was not a huge surprise, the way all the loose ends are tied up is very satisfying.

Josephine Tey has deftly created some very likeable but complex characters: Brat is at once tough and vulnerable, an opportunist with a conscience. Simon is charming and cast as the victim but full of contradictions. Aunt Bee is typical of a generation of war-time women who had to be strong and unselfish for the sake of others. Each of the main characters is believably human, annoying at times, but always engaging. This book is perfectly suited for all ages, there is no gore, bad language, gratuitous sex or unsettling content and the adult subjects are masterfully handled. And, finally, horse enthusiasts will be happy to find that the substantial equestrian content is accurate and realistic and Tey's undisguised love of horses comes entirely devoid of saccharine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a school set text, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
Before picking up this novel I never expected that I would read it in one sitting. It is tremendous. Already worthy of a re-read, worthy of extensive study that made me realise it should be used as a school set text on a par with novels such as 'A Kestrel for a Knave'.

The main premise is similar to 'The Return of Martin Guerre' or 'Sommersby' except the returning soul is the teenager Brat coming home to a farm in the idyllic Sussex Downs. His twin knows from the start that Brat is fake but they agree an unholy 'spiritual twinship' of silence for mutual protection as everyone else accepts Brat to their bosom.

The writing is sublime evoking dreamy, idyllic post-War rural England compared to the 'forest of chimney pots' in London. Ms Tey writes succinctly and with wit. She displays topicality and constructs convincing relationships. There are some underlying adult themes which would have been risque in the late 1940's and do make it a novel for teenagers and adults.

This book was the classic case of expecting so little and being unexpectedly overwhelmed by its sheer quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, beautifully written and paced, detective story with no detective, 2 May 2013
By 
Schneehase (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
One of my favourite ever books is 'The Franchise Affair' and if you like the way Josephine Tey writes or if you're considering dipping a toe into her water (as it were!), I'd highly recommend that one too. Both 'The Franchise Affair' and 'Brat Farrar' are detective stories with no detective and very cleverly written too. In 'Brat Farrar' the eponymous hero is hired by an ageing actor to impersonate the heir to an estate who went missing, presumed drowned, eight years before. The actor wants Brat to pay him some of the money he will inherit so that the actor can retire comfortably off.
The problems that Brat has to overcome seem formidable; a close family including a twin brother being one of the most difficult and a whole village and countryside full of people who had known the missing boy from a baby. Brat would have to convince them all that he is the missing boy and if he can convince them, he will cut his 'twin brother' out of the inheritance that he's been looking forward to all these years.
Tey takes a long time to build up the story; introducing all the characters, giving background and interesting 'side-stories' on them all, describing the estate Brat finds himself inheriting and the horse-breeding and riding business that goes with it.
I find it fascinating that the reader knows right from the start that the imposter is just that, an imposter and think that, in these cases, the fascination comes with seeing how long he or she can keep up the pretence and what happens when he or she is caught out finally.
However, this is one of the best of that genre; the characters are believeable and likeable and I really wanted Brat to succeed and be happy in his stolen life. However, the author has a very unexpected twist up her sleeve - stick with the story because the twist doesn't appear until the final 1/3 of the book and it's well worth waiting for (although I have just noticed that a fairly hefty clue is cunningly planted very early on!). I won't give any spoilers but it all ends happily for some and unhappily for others and is both narratively and emotionally satisfying.
One fascinating side issue is how language has changed since Tey wrote this in 1949 - a packed lunch is called a 'piece' and of course no-one then had mobile phones or computers and Tey seems to have been a advocate of orphanages ... Also this is a time before DNA testing, which would have very swiftly proved that Brat Farrar wasn't the missing heir and also who he actually is (which is just as interesting!). The whole story would have been cut off before it started - technology has a lot to answer for!
Obtain this book and then read all the others she wrote - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dialogue, 15 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
Large parts of the story and most of the characterisation are driven by dialogue, and what beautifull, vivid and often funny dialogue it is! That these people come so much to life and become so lovable is entirely due to what they say and their many personal ways of saying it. One should only read the breakfast-conversation that opens the book and puts the reader right into the house and into the story.Great stuff that many mystery- writers can only hope to rival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Kindle Edition)
I first read Brat Farrar in my teens and have been rereading it ever since every couple of years. In fact, I've read it so often that my copy has fallen to pieces, which is why I bought the Kindle edition. It's the story of a young man who inveigles himself into a loving family by pretending to be a long-lost child. Brat has been put up to the imposture by a ne'er-do-well connection of the family because he looks so much like the now grown-up twin of the missing boy. But instead of portraying Brat as a conniving money-grubber, Josephine Tey presents him as a boy with an unhappy and chequered past who falls in love with "his" family, most of whom share his passion for horses. The family has also known tragedy - as well as losing the child, Patrick, the children's parents are dead; Simon, Patrick's twin, Eleanor, and another, much younger set of twins, Jane and Ruth, live in their parents' house with Aunt Bea and try to make enough money from horses to keep the family and the estate together. At first, Brat must convince everyone who ever knew the child that he is Patrick. But soon, he senses something sinister about the disappearance, and becomes Patrick's champion. The characters are drawn with depth and truth and the reader comes to care passionately about what's going to happen to them all. Although it was written in 1950, the book has worn well and does not read like a period piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite., 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
I have read and reread this book many times over the years and I still love it. I think the way Tey ratches up the tension is superb. Of course we know who did the dirty deed - but the sinister way that the characters circle around each other is very menacing. This would definitely be my desert island book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's not enough books by Tey., 24 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brat Farrar (Paperback)
I love all of the books written by Josephine Tey, and I treasure & reread them all the time. I am just about to purchase my third paperback copy of Brat Farrar - I wore the others out. My only wish is that she had written more of these wonderful stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brat Farrar
Brat Farrar by Josephine Tey (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews