Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History imaginatively brought to life
A much bigger book than expected but covering a complex time period in the beginning of the Mesopotamian civilisation. This book needs to be read in sequence following the others by Sam Barone, "Dawn of Empire" and "Empire Riring", two much shorter books. All are excellent reads, the first two perhaps being more exiting, contaning more smaller conflicts, than the this...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by A Dawson

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars double dip
Why sue a different title as it is conflict of interest. for unsuspecitng customer you pay twice. Not nice.
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by johnt


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History imaginatively brought to life, 19 Feb 2010
By 
A Dawson (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A much bigger book than expected but covering a complex time period in the beginning of the Mesopotamian civilisation. This book needs to be read in sequence following the others by Sam Barone, "Dawn of Empire" and "Empire Riring", two much shorter books. All are excellent reads, the first two perhaps being more exiting, contaning more smaller conflicts, than the this third one. "Conflict of Empires" explains in much more detail how mining, sailing the Tigris, intelligence gathering, and preparations for war were accomplished, and gives a good insight into the ingenuity of these Bronze Age people.
The last third of the book, when war actually starts, moves at a fast pace and makes the book difficult to put down. If you like sword, spear, and bow warfare you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conflict of Empires, 16 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a brilliant book. fast paced, never boring, full of little snippets of information, the lead up to the final battle scene is intense and enjoyable because it creates the background to the story.

If you like Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, Wilber Smith, Clive Cussler you will love these books. if you havent read any of them yet get all three at one go and prepare yourself for reading them by doing all the housework and switching off the phones, lay in a supply of food 'coz you aint gonna wanna move from the chair

If you had read the first two in the series, then this one will be the cream on the cake, buy buy buy yo will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just bought it, great follow up!, 5 Feb 2010
Both of Sam Barone's previous books are fun to read, historical fiction. This one doesn't disappoint. They take place before there was much recorded history so who knows if they are historically accurate? But, based on what historians and anthropologists do think they know, it is a very believable story.

Lots of action and political intrigue as the main characters exhibit wisdom and leadership skills that would be wholly appropriate today. In fact, I'm certain we would all be better off if these folks ran our government instead of the jokers we've elected.

If you are one of those people that hates to wait 2 years for the next Wilbur Smith book, pick up one or both of these books in the mean time. I'm not saying that Barone is as famous and widely read as Smith yet, but if you liked Sunbird or any of the Taita / River God / Quest series, you'll definitely enjoy these books. They take place in roughly the same time frame and across the desert from Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also known as Conquest of Empire, 19 April 2011
This review is from: Quest for Honour (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
Great book, but unfortunately already had it under another name...Sam Barone's Quest for Honour also has the title of Conquest of Empire. I found this out when I opened the first page and discovered a very familiar map.
This cover is different, the blurb on the back is different, but the contents are the same.

So if you have Conquest of Empire don't but this!!!

If you haven't got Conquest... brilliant book...you should buy it.

This is the third book in the series, but each of his books stands well alone. Each with a good plot, engaging characters and lifelike scenarios...you can believe you are there amongst the characters, with human heros, ordinary folk and believable villians. Set in ancient times when the first civilisations were emerging and slowly setting up the requirements for easy, safe and innovative lives. Furthering their defences from marauders or invaders and even pre-emptive strikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Action Pack Story, 3 Jun 2010
By 
I. Langton "Book Kilburn" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another great story from this author i was looking for a book to take on holiday with me and i was very glad i picked this one. This was a good follow up to the two previous books in this series i hope there will be more.

Historical fiction at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three in a row, 30 Aug 2010
By 
P. Brooks "Peter Brooks" (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Third Instalment of Mr Barone's epic set in the Cradle of Civilisation in what is now present day Iraq, it's refreshing in its detail of how Eskar and Trella ready Akkad for the feared conflict with Sumeria - some may find the detail boring or ponderous, but "boring" things like logistics tend to be the things that mean the difference between life and death. Looking forward to number four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 3 Jun 2010
This and the two earlier books in the series are ripping good yarns, the story moves along at a pace and the books are very hard to put down any fan of Iggulden Scarrow or even Gemmell likes the story to flow and these do. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great installment - Could not put it down, 19 April 2010
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Well, I was waiting not very patiently for the 3rd instalment of Eskkar and Trella, so as soon as it arrived I jumped straight it...... finishing in about 1 week.
Akkad has now grown into it's own mini Empire, and as history dictates, someone else will be envious of your achievements and want to expand their own horizons.... in this case it is the larger empire of Sumer to the South.
With war inevitable, this is the story of 2 empires building for a huge clash, the winner of which will control the region.... can our plucky heroes pull off another unlikely victory, or is the dream over?
With a superb readable style, fast flowing style, Sam Barone hits the nail on the head with this historical fiction novel and is up there with Iggulden and Cornwell. Set well before the Romans, this is a story of a primitive culture learning and becoming the societies and cities we all know so well.
My only criticism is probably again the balance between the sex scenes and battle scenes.... sometimes it seems that he spends more time and detail on these than the battle scenes.... maybe I am used to the detail of the battles like Cornwell, but this is only a tiny criticism - overall 5 out of 5.... shame I will need to wait another 6 months+ for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars double dip, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Quest for Honour (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
Why sue a different title as it is conflict of interest. for unsuspecitng customer you pay twice. Not nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars same book as 'conflict of empires', 6 Nov 2010
By 
K. Kristensen (copenhagen, denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quest for Honour (Eskkar Saga) (Paperback)
this book is previously sold under the title: conflict of empires. i was fooled and because i didn't check the book when i got it - and why should I? - i have now fallen for 28 day return policy with the 'Findprice - Amazon Marketplace'. just have a look at their reply:
Hi
Thank you for contacting us in regards to returning Quest For Honour.This item was shipped on 28/09/2010. Unfortunately this item is now outside of our 28 day returns policy. I hope that this is of assistance and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Vicky
Customer Services Team

No Vicky - it was not of assistance and I know that you are not sorry.

Klaus
Copenhagen
Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quest for Honour (Eskkar Saga)
Quest for Honour (Eskkar Saga) by Sam Barone (Paperback - 2 Sep 2010)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews