Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite mid period Rendell
This is probably about the fourth time I've read 'Sleeping Life' and it is one of my favourite of Ruth Rendell's Wexford novels, certainly my favourite from this period. It has its flaws of course - the denouement is one of Rendell's most outrageous, one of her really original plots but much of it seems very improbable. Nevertheless, it IS very original and a cracking...
Published 13 months ago by Iain C. Davidson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's words that count
Ruth Rendell's "A Sleeping Life" - her 10th Inspector Wexford novel - was published in 1978 and the novel catches the times effectively: there is a tension between traditional values (some endorsed and others sharply put down) and gay rights and second-wave feminism, while spatial divisions also attract Rendell's attention: the boundaries of towns, such as Wexford's...
Published 23 months ago by DT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's words that count, 27 Jun. 2013
This review is from: A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case) (Paperback)
Ruth Rendell's "A Sleeping Life" - her 10th Inspector Wexford novel - was published in 1978 and the novel catches the times effectively: there is a tension between traditional values (some endorsed and others sharply put down) and gay rights and second-wave feminism, while spatial divisions also attract Rendell's attention: the boundaries of towns, such as Wexford's Kingsmarkham, are being eroded, while inner London boroughs, such as Kenbourne Grove, are a mix of shabbiness and gentrification. The absence of an original publication date in Amazon's promotion of this novel, highlights the gap between reader's present and the book's. Looking back, the descriptions of domestic interiors are not so different, except that there are no signs of an information world. And it is words and not signs which interest Reg Wexford, and Ruth Rendell.

Wexford is intensely irritated by useless words: "I mean" or "kind of", inserted into the speech of characters. Now, it would be "like". And the solution to the murder of Rhoda Comfrey which opens the novel hinges on an archaic word which he picks up, tangentially, in his daughter's condemnation of just how long it is likely to be before women approach anything like the rights of men. Rendell uses Wexford's instinctive grumpiness at the new and his more thoughtful, if muted, advocacy of liberal political positions to explore social change, while still being an effective page-turner, even for thriller-readers saturated by graphic violence and worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite mid period Rendell, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Iain C. Davidson "iain1825" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably about the fourth time I've read 'Sleeping Life' and it is one of my favourite of Ruth Rendell's Wexford novels, certainly my favourite from this period. It has its flaws of course - the denouement is one of Rendell's most outrageous, one of her really original plots but much of it seems very improbable. Nevertheless, it IS very original and a cracking good tale. The contrast between quiet Kingsmarkham and sophisticated London (once more represented by Wexford's well know 'Kenbourne Vale' parish) is enjoyable and there are several quirky characters, not least the victim herself! Wexford's own family play a slightly larger role from this novel forward - this is the first time we get to learn much about less favoured elder daughter Sylvia - but they don't dominate (as sometimes happens later). Wexford himself as very human in this one - see how he pities the murderer in the end - although his run-ins with comedy Chief Constable Griswold are becoming a little tedious, its a mistake trying to make Reg into a 'maverick cop'.

Overall, very enjoyable and one of her best - in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the best, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case) (Paperback)
I cheat! I read this some years ago and it has lost none of its appeal. Ruth Rendell is a superb storyteller, her plots are intriguing and her 'lead' characters are attractive, all contributing to to the best in the entertainment obtainable from books.
Matthew Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Wexford Novel, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case) (Paperback)
I've read quite a few Wexford novels, and found 'A Sleeping Life' to be my favourite.

Clues are given to the reader as to the death of Rhoda Comfrey, so we can solve the case along with Reg Wexford, one of literature's most solid and dependable characters.

This is one of the few novels I was able to solve, albeit just a couple of pafes earlier than Wexford!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars tedious, 29 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case) (Paperback)
According to the 'Daily Mirror', Ruth Rendell is one of Britain's top-selling crime novelists. That doesn't say much for the others as this book was boring and cheaply written. Although the plot is unconventional, it is hardly of Agatha Christie calibre. I don't know why I stayed with the book until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most entertaining book, 9 Mar. 2010
This review is from: A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case) (Paperback)
As usual Ruth Rendell writes beautifully with enough description to keep interest without detracting from a really good story. I have now read all of her books except one and that is on order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good quick read, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Relaxing classic who-dun-it. All her books run along similar lines but this is what is relaxing. Again an order in whichnthey are written would be nice as the characters become familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Good light reading, yet very well written in true Rendell style. Plausible plot. Better than just a holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished this book and again thoroughly enjoyed it as all the other Wexford novels. I recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best!, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book, as I enjoy all Ruth Rendell's Wexford novels, but I would not say that this was her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case)
A Sleeping Life: (A Wexford Case) by Ruth Rendell (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews