Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of souls
After reading the previous 'Library of the dead' I didn't expect this to be as good , but it is and the suspense is nail biting as you get into the book and almost into the minds of the characters . I felt empathy even with the frail old Abbot and Lord Cantwell . Will is a strong character and I hope we haven't seen the last of him . There are certain Americanisms in the...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Tony336

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original
The surprise and mystery elements that made the library of the dead such a compelling read were always going to be difficult to repeat, so maybe I came to this book with expectations too high for a similarly gripping read. As before, Will Piper is a well written and believable character, trying to deal with real human short comings, and for the most part failing. However...
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by Mark Mcclelland


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of souls, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Tony336 "Tony336" (linconshire UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
After reading the previous 'Library of the dead' I didn't expect this to be as good , but it is and the suspense is nail biting as you get into the book and almost into the minds of the characters . I felt empathy even with the frail old Abbot and Lord Cantwell . Will is a strong character and I hope we haven't seen the last of him . There are certain Americanisms in the text , but after all the author is American. He is obviously highly qualified and very clever . The research he carried out is evident as he describes the latter day monastery at Quarr (Vectis) on the Isle of Wight to a tee.As for a previous reviewer saying about a Lime tree , he obviously knows less about our British trees than the author . I have several Lime trees on my land and they are part of the English scene . Glen Cooper is referring to the Tili europaea not the Lime fruit tree !The only slight complaint I have is that we still don't know what will happen at the 'end of days'. Still a minor gripe . A highly recommended book. Can't wait for the next Cooper offering .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it now!, 14 Feb 2010
By 
C. B. Wootton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
What an amazing sequel to Library of the Dead. I really didn't believe it could be as good. How wrong can you be. Will Piper gets drawn into the secrets of the library once again against his better judgement. It's exciting and impossible to put down once you start it. I can't recommend it highly enough. Well done Glenn Cooper & roll on March when his next book comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Captivated - this is Top-Rated!, 3 April 2010
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
I was captivated by "Library of the Dead" and have found the "Book of Souls" to be even more enthralling. Like all the best reads, it has been virtually impossible to put down from start to finish.

How pleasing to be re-united with the compelling and believeable character of Will Piper - a thoroughly likeable and a true `rough-diamond' personality. Due to his honesty and integrity we can (just about) forgive his peccadilloes. As a linguist and an avid reader of both English and French, I love all good literature and am a keen reader of Atwood, Woolf, McEwan, Pagnol, - in short, all the greats! Now I must now add Glenn Cooper to my list of must-reads!

It is a pleasant surprise, that Cooper, unlike many a geeky scholar who is knowledgeable of intricate concepts, is able to draw on a wide range of historical and academic areas of knowledge and inform and inspire the reader without patronising. This in itself no mean feat, and a rare accomplishment.

I shall swiftly be moving on to Book Number Three - "The Tenth Chamber". Where will Glenn take us next? With his evident skilful mastery of intrigue and deft handling of such historical mysteries, where to now? Can't wait for the next stage of the journey...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `The smart thing is to prepare for the unexpected.', 10 April 2010
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
`Book of Souls' is the sequel to `Library of the Dead.' It follows the same ancient library, listing everyone together with their dates of birth and death, but is particularly focussed on one previously missing volume, for 1527, which has appeared at a London auction.

Two groups particularly want this volume: the government who wants to keep everything to do with the library classified, and a group of former employees who want the world to know about the library, and to discover the truth behind the last date listed in the library (9 February 2027). Through these former employees, Will Piper, whom we met in `Library of the Dead', becomes involved in the hunt for the 1527 volume.

There are three separate, interconnected timelines in this novel and the story moves between them. The earliest of these follows the fate of the Abbott of Vecti's priory, after the fire that he believes destroyed the library. The second follows how the 1527 volume ended up separated from the others, and the third is in the present.

I enjoyed this novel as a fast page turning read - 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 - although it didn't engage me quite as strongly as `Library of the Dead'.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intelligent and exhilarating..., 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
Book of Souls is one of those rare great sequels. Library of the Dead, Cooper's smart and heart-pounding thriller, is obviously a tough act to follow, but we quickly go along for the ride as Will tries to unlock the mystery and secrets of the library. I liked the references to the original, which were just enough for someone like me who had read it a year ago and needed a bit of a refresher, while giving newcomers the chance to get in on the action. Plus, in this book, we also get to ponder some fascinating alternative realities for Shakespeare and Nostradamuss! Though this seems to be Cooper's final word on the topic, I can't help wondering what we have in store for us on February 9, 2027. Once again, if you are looking for an intelligent thriller, Book of Souls brings it home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
The surprise and mystery elements that made the library of the dead such a compelling read were always going to be difficult to repeat, so maybe I came to this book with expectations too high for a similarly gripping read. As before, Will Piper is a well written and believable character, trying to deal with real human short comings, and for the most part failing. However the story he is pitched into is thin and just a way of finally dealing with the bad guys from the first book. The historic chapters, filling in the back story of missing book through the ages, are interesting and clever in part (especially the Nostradamus link), but overall they felt too long and more like padding. The closing chapter, trying to finally address the 9 February 2027 mystery, felt like it was tacked on as an after thought, but wasn't actually conclusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker, 9 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
This is another gripping tale from Glenn Cooper, following on from "Library of the Dead" just enough references from that book to keep the reader informed of the characters from the last novel. It is a book which is difficult to put down as each page reveals more exciting situations, highly recommended for a good exciting read. Reading "Library of the Dead" is recommended before tackling this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Dan Brown, 27 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
Dan Browns last book was rather disappointing. This, however was a very nice surprise! I really like Amazon's recommendation feature! The plot is very interesting and a bit chilling! What if something like this existed? It is a true page turner and a very good read for your vacation! I am looking forward to receive the "Library" and the "10Th Chamber".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Un-necessary Sequel, 30 Mar 2010
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
I enjoyed Glenn Cooper's fore-runner to Book of Souls, Library of the Dead. It was by no means perfect, with issues over pacing and a slight shortage of genuine thrills, but as my Amazon review said at the time it was an interesting debut with an original hook and some half decent characterisation if you could suspend your disbelief. My review ended by saying that I was genuinely looking forward to Book of Souls when it was released.

Its therefore rather disappointing to have to report that Book of Souls is a far less successful effort than its predecessor. The flaws that were present in Library of the Dead, such as a lack of real heart-pounding excitement, are present again but this time there isn't a compelling mystery to make up for them. Discovering the truth behind Area 51 and the Vectis Library was the primary appeal of Library of the Dead. Without a fresh and similarly compelling hook Book of Souls struggles to retain the reader's attention.

Cooper does try to generate a sense of mystery by sending his recurring lead, Will Piper, off to England to investigate the background to a single volume from the Library that has turned up at a London auctioneers. This leads to a lengthy episode where Will embarks on a hunt for hidden letters and messages at an old country house in Warwickshire that reveal how the missing volume came to be separated from the Library and the impact it has had on European history. Unfortunately this mystery, which has whiff of Dan Brown to it with its cryptic messages from William Shakespeare and documents hidden in secret but easily discovered locations, is no way near as interesting as the original secret of the Library uncovered in the previous book and whilst Coooper's flair for flashbacks through history is evident once again, the whole thing feels rather contrived.

The same complaint can be levelled at the rest of the book too. For example I never really bought into Will Piper's motivations for becoming involved in events once more. At no point did I really understand why he would willingly risk the safety of his family and friends to pursue the mystery and would continue to do so even as the stakes got higher and higher. Especially when the secrets he revealed hardly added much to his pre-existing knowledge of the Library. It felt as if he was being forced to act against his better instincts just to get the story rolling. Overall the whole plot felt far too calculated, with other characters behaving in startlingly illogical ways simply because the story demanded that they do so.

Book of Souls is a classic case of a sequel to a story that really didn't need one. Whilst Library of the Dead left a number of questions unanswered and there was the potential to use the Vectis Library as a hook for other stories told from different angles, the central story involving Will Piper, Nancy and the others had really run its course and been wrapped up by the end of the first book. By trying to stretch out the plot further than it was really designed to go, Glenn Cooper has created a weak follow-up. There are flashes of brilliance, especially in some of the flashbacks to Tudor times and beyond, but on the whole Book of Souls feels like a poor imitation of its predecessor. By the time it draws to a close with a stop-start ending that just draws attention to how disjointed the whole book feels the mysteries of the Vectis Library had definitely lost their appeal for me. I'll probably tackle Coopers next book, The Tenth Chamber, which deals with an entirely new mystery but on the basis of this experience of his work I will not be rushing out to buy it as I did with Book of Souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars To-morrow May Never Come, 21 Mar 2010
By 
G. M. Buchanan "Page marker" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery (Paperback)
Unlike other people I have not read Glen Cooper's other books. You don't need to read his previous book as this story stands alone.The story starts with the sale of an old book.The only thing in the book is a long list of names with dates against them.Hence the title of the book "Book of Souls".The list is a list of when people are due to be born and the date people are due to die.It turns out that the book is the missing book that makes up a complete library dating from the beginning of mankind to the year 2027.The other books are held in an underground vault in the Nevada desert.So of course the CIA want to buy the book so does a wealthy gentleman who used to work for them.This gentleman persaudes another retired agent to come out of retirement (the hero of the story Will Piper)and help them obtain the book.During the course of the story Will ends up staying at a stately house in England trying to trace the origin of the book.I felt that this part of the story was similar to playing a computer game where you have to search the old house and find a list of items.It is a good story and very fast moving but I thought the "John Wayne" ending,you know, all the good guys are about to be killed --- when out of the mist the 7th cavalry appear, I thought that could have been thought out better.When reading it I felt the author was stuck for ideas on how to end it.Nevertheless a good story and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery
Book of Souls: A Will Piper Mystery by Glenn Cooper (Paperback - 4 Feb 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews