Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan
The books just get better this book is set in the clone wars and is about how the republic is struggling to fight the sepretist
Published 13 months ago by Tiffany Hughes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fancy a cup of tea Mr Jedi?
Having read "Wild Space", Karen Miller's first attempt at Star Wars, I wasn't expecting much from this book. However, a few pages in and I felt pleasantly surprised. She seemed to have done her research and her portrayal of the characters was much better. Certainly Obi-Wan and Anakin were very much like they are in the Clone Wars TV series. It was also good to read about...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fancy a cup of tea Mr Jedi?, 12 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Clone Wars Gambit - Stealth (Paperback)
Having read "Wild Space", Karen Miller's first attempt at Star Wars, I wasn't expecting much from this book. However, a few pages in and I felt pleasantly surprised. She seemed to have done her research and her portrayal of the characters was much better. Certainly Obi-Wan and Anakin were very much like they are in the Clone Wars TV series. It was also good to read about another minor character from the TV series. It makes it a lot easier to visualise. I also felt it was a lot more engaging than the first book and didn't cause me to fall asleep every page.

However, like with her first book, she has a tendency to labour the point a bit too much. In "Wild Space" it was page after page of the same childish bickering between Obi-Wan and Bail Organa with nothing much else happening. This book was page after page of light-hearted banter between Obi-Wan and Anakin and later on page after page of arguments between the two. I felt like I was reading the same page over and over again. For heaven's sake Karen, we get the point!

It seemed to me like blatant page filler for what is otherwise a book with a very thin plot. There wasn't much substance to it and once they find out whatever it is they were sent to find out I was suddenly reading a different book. Seriously, all of a sudden they were sitting around having cups of tea with the person they were supposed to be rescuing and then having both philosophical debates and full blown arguments about something or other. Then I fell asleep.

It's certainly by no means the best book but I'm going to sit on the fence and give it 3 stars rather than 2 because I was expecting a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ah, more feelings sharing. Course I was expecting adventure., 10 April 2010
By 
majorlynch (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Its good to share your feelings isn't it.
Good to get anything unsaid out there for people to hear. It also helps to deal with them and put them behind you, turn from the dark side as it were.
Except, wait, Anakin never did deal with his feelings did he. Thats how he lost himself to the dark side after all. Anakin never faced the things he did and his experiences and used his jedi training to deal with his anger.
If only he'd expressed his feelings LIKE HE DOES HERE ON EVERY SINGLE PAGE.

And Obi-Wan also deals with an inner anger and on nearly every page.
A trained jedi you only raised his voice a few times in the prequels here is angry with every single person
he comes in contact with but its okay he keeps it inside.....sometimes.
This is completely different from the Obi-Wan I know from the series and books.
Except, wait, according to Clone Wars: Wild Space he knows all about Anakin and Padme,warns Padme off a relationship with Anakin AND THEN TOTALLY MISSES ANAKING AND PADME HAVING A RELATIONSHIP FOR THREE YEARS.

Pros:
- There's a battle at the start.
- A scientist who feels guilt over what she's doing.
- Some great writing in the preparation of the trip (to planet boring).
- Some interesting thoughts from Ashoka.

Cons:
- Obi-Wan and Anakin talk about there feelings so much they actually tell each other to stop talking about there feelings, which is what I was doing.
- Obi-Wan, in the middle of keeping back more rage then a darkside lunatic, says "Oh Anakin" on practically every other page. And than screams whatever his latest bizzare opinion is.
- There are some very adult elements here, a woman getting pulled up by her hair, getting kicked while on the ground, elements of torture, suicide. I am reading this book for fun you know, if I wanted to be depressed I'd read the paper.
- Why is this story in two books?? IF YOU CUT OUT THE GROUP THERAPY IT'D BE FINISHED ALREADY!!!!

Some Tips:
- I can't say all the 90's star wars books were great, but rogue squadron, Thrawn, luke and the gang had lots more action and events without all these feelings and repressed anger. So less feelings, more action.
- Less Obi-Wan acting like a spoiled kid.
- Its not clear which Clone Wars episode Durd was in, before reading "Anakin almost died" I nearly had to look it up, so throw that in.

But thats just my opinion, if your alright with people expressing their pain alot this book should be fine.
But Han Solo took Chewies death better then these folks take minor plans going array.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Clone Snores' more like., 3 Oct 2011
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Clone Wars Gambit - Stealth (Paperback)
THE STORY:
Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker undertake a secret undercover mission to the planet Lanteeb where they discover that the Separatists have created a terrible new bioweapon. Their mission of investigation becomes a desperate attempt to destroy the weapon, rescue a kidnapped scientist and defeat overwhelming enemy forces.

WHAT'S GOOD:
Oddly, this book's best bits all lie in the parts which don't feature the primary plotline or the main characters. They consist of Senator Bail Organa's work on Coruscant amid his increasing distrust of Chancellor Palpatine, a rescue mission undertaken by Ahsoka Tano and the newly introduced Jedi Taria Damsin and, for me best of all, a rare insight into Yoda's fears about the war as a whole and his worry for Obi-Wan and Anakin in particular.

WHAT'S BAD:
Frankly, most of the book. Miller did a great job of exploring the already very familiar character of Obi-Wan in 'Wild Space' but here her characterisation was so far off that I barely recognised my favourite Jedi. There's even a scene where he genuinely considers murdering the kidnapped scientist in cold blood to end her work on the bioweapon! Anakin is persistantly annoying too, yo-yo-ing from whining hissy-fit to outrageous double-standard and back again. Whilst that is more in keeping with his character, it makes him completely impossible to sympathise with as a protagonist. So, considering that almost nothing interesting happens throughout the entire book with Anakin and Obi-Wan basically just hanging out together, it's particularly bad that the two main characters have been so badly realised. Finally, the villain of the piece is decidedly lacklustre too. Lok Durd appeared in the TV series (voiced by George Takei!) but wasn't one of the more interesting villains. Here he's not recognisable as the same character anyway and basically the extent of his villainy involves shouting and beating up a girl. Hardly adequate for a franchise which gave us the likes of Darth Vader, Grand Admiral Thrawn and Emperor Palpatine himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Clone Wars Gambit - Stealth (Paperback)
The books just get better this book is set in the clone wars and is about how the republic is struggling to fight the sepretist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Usually I'm a fan of Karen's writing but with this title in the Star Wars Clone Wars Gambit series it fell a long way short to keeping this reader happy. The plotline was stuff we've seen before almost a direct rehash, the characters felt flat and clichéd and to be honest with you so little actually happens that the tale really felt like a cash in on the franchise rather that a serious offering.

Whilst this is there to help finish this part of the series off (building to a climax for the next book) the whole thing really felt more of a damp squib than a roaring lion almost as if the author was a little short of managing to create a decent two-parter title without having to go for much overused plotlines. A great shame all in and one that I won't be recommending to fans of the franchise. If you have to buy one book then make it the other recent Star Wars release: Knights Errant. You'll be so glad that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars star wars book, 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not bad, but the second book gambit seige much better. this book was slow to get going. but very enjoyable.but then i personally enjoy most star wars novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Star Wars Book, 9 Oct 2010
The best book i've read in a galaxy far far away!! Great insight into your favourite star wars characters. You need to get both books ( Stealth & Seige ) to complete story.

Story starts with major battles with Obi-wan, Anakin and Ahsoka against the evil General Grievious, resulting in heavy losses of the clone trooper forces.

Obi-Wan recieves intelligance reports from his now senator friend Bail Organa, about disturbing reports that a seemingly unimportant outer rim planet has been overtaken by the sepertatists. Obi-Wan and Anakin go there undercover, posing as retuning locals, only to find a lot more sinister goings on than they had expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Clone Wars Gambit - Stealth
Star Wars: Clone Wars Gambit - Stealth by Karen Miller (Paperback - 24 Feb 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews