Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly excellent
This book was recommended to me by someone I was having a discussion with when I expressed my frustration about how our media consistently toe the government line and frame the discussion in such a way as to absolve our countries of any culpability in the horrific suffering we've inflicted on others - wars in Iraq, Afghanistan and Libya are all fine examples.

I...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. Steven Jackson

versus
25 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smart eye-opening analysis
I have personally found NC & ESH's analysis of the "manufacture of consent" extremely enlightening. ..Do Chomsky and Herman show a contempt for public opinion? I don't think so: they seem to display a great hope for the enlightening of The Public. Are they "conspiracy theorists" who wrap their ideas up in "pretentious verbage"? Their work...
Published on 5 April 2001 by sarcastic_silver_swell@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great tool in understanding western mainstream media, 24 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This book is very helpful if you want to observe the media critically. Every user of the western mainstream media should read this book to comprehend the factors that influence the contents of the news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smart eye-opening analysis, 5 April 2001
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
I have personally found NC & ESH's analysis of the "manufacture of consent" extremely enlightening. ..Do Chomsky and Herman show a contempt for public opinion? I don't think so: they seem to display a great hope for the enlightening of The Public. Are they "conspiracy theorists" who wrap their ideas up in "pretentious verbage"? Their work seems far too rational and analytical to give this criticism any credance. This book doesn't deserve to be dismissed so easily. Read it now, take your instincts by the rein, etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
This will apparently be very useful to my daughter in her university studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noam Chomsky's Manufacturing Consent, 1 July 2010
This has to be one of the most perceptive books ever written on the role of the media in Western democracies. It's impossible to read this book and see the role of the mainstream media in the UK the same way. It looks in detail at the relationship between the mainstream media and the government, with some excellent case studies. It's more focussed on the USA, but is equally relevant to the UK. I can't recommend this enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
Everyone read this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
incredible read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply bright: a masterpiece., 20 Oct. 1999
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
Lots of ringing bells against media manipulation. Some bright thoughts and analisys about the news "market" within the neoliberal order. A deconstruction of some neototalitarian buildings that undermine democratic societies. Above all: a great lesson - Ignorance (or "blindness") never helped anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 29 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
Read this book!!! Noam Chomsky has been visciously attacked for his views by the lackeys and court jesters of global capitalist totalitarianism. Could he be touching a raw nerve?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not the book you think it is, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
Rerevisionist (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
I've made a repeat attempt to tackle this book, which I've always had reservations about.

[1] The main theory - 'propaganda model' - is only 35 pages, less than a tenth of the book - it looks like
the initial seed which has been padded out.
[2] The 'model' is: five 'filters', though another is sneaked in. These are (1) Ownership of media [this is pre-Internet, and mostly refers to print]. (2) Advertising and its withdrawal, direction etc. (3) 'Sourcing'. This is almost entirely state sources, including academics and 'think tanks'. (4) Flak and enforcers. (5) 'Anticommunism as a control mechanism. Then (6) in effect biasing the report, clearly shown when switching sides.

The rest of the book is examples: (i) bogus elections, in El Salvador, Guatemaa and Nicaragua. (ii) 'The
KGB-Bulgarian Plot to Kill the Pope'. (iii) Indo-China wars - this section is about half the whole book.

So what's the problem? I'll be brief and schematic:
** Although Chomsky emphasises the money-making press, the fact is (pp 19-23) that for example the Pentagon's publishing was 'sixteen times larger than the nation's biggest publisher'. The USAF, US Chamber of Commerce etc etc and 150,00 'professional' PR people would appear to dwarf the press, if I'm reading this book correctly. In other words, in the unlikely event that the publishing combines tried to become open and honest, their output would still be a tiny fraction of the total 'source'.
** Chomsky has a persistent tendency to assume organisations have a genuine purpose. He (as many have noted) has no truck with 9/11, NASA moon frauds, and so on, which are of course hugely expensive frauds. And yet, if you consider the huge military spending, why should it happen to be needed year on year? It's perfectly possible they bombed and burned Vietnamese just as a time-filling makework exercise.
** The whole idea of 'maufacturing consent' seems wrong - the slogan is out of kilter with the facts. What 'consent' have you, reader, given for mass immigration, for example? Or bombing Kosovo? Or invading Iraq? Absolutely none. 'Manufacturing stupidity' or 'manufacturing indifference' may be nearer the mark; but nothing really is 'manufactured'.
** There's a whole section on bogus elections, but Chomsky doesn't seem to compare this with the USA's first-past-the-post system, which has naturally morphed into two big parties. Democracy is a remote ideal, indeed, in the USA too.
** On 'communism', Chomsky never mentions the Jewish funding or personnel, which marks it out as entirely distinct from genuine humanitarian movements. Nor does he mention Mossad plots.
** Chomsky gives figures e.g. (p. 50) 10,000 deaths in El Salvador in 1980, 'disappearances' in Guatemala estimated at 40,000. Out of very roughly 5M and 8M populations at that time. It's an unpleasant thing to say, but knife, gun, and drug crime, infant mortality and so on are rife too.
** The final half of the book, on the Vietnam War, is important as of course it's largely censored. However, again,. what consent did ordinary Americans give to it? And what effect has Chomsky actually had in practice, for example, prosecuting Kissinger, or getting reparations?

I don't think the 'propaganda model' even begins to describe the reality. However the book may be valuable in opening peoples' eyes to military mass murders. Hence 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived safely, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
It is ok but o do not like the paper type such a newspaper... and no banderole...

Arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media
Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media by Noam Chomsky (Paperback - 20 April 1995)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews