Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book Since "The Media Monolopy"
I'm not a fan of writing long reviews, so I'll just state that Chomsky and Herman do a phenomenal job of contrasting, what Chomsky calls, the 'hypocracy' in American politics. Namely the US focusing on their enemy's crimes, and overlooking its own crimes.
Published on 21 Jun 2009 by Peyman Askari

versus
25 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smart eye-opening analysis
I have personally found NC & ESH's analysis of the "manufacture of consent" extremely enlightening. ..Do Chomsky and Herman show a contempt for public opinion? I don't think so: they seem to display a great hope for the enlightening of The Public. Are they "conspiracy theorists" who wrap their ideas up in "pretentious verbage"? Their work...
Published on 5 April 2001 by sarcastic_silver_swell@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
This book is a must read for media scholars or anyone interested to understand how mass, mainstream media produce the news reports they do. Under what conditions the journalists work under big media conglomerates, and how those conditions create a certain distinct framework for the news to be reported, selected and framed.

The book condition, also, was great and as I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for everyone interested in how the media construct our world views., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
A detailed study of subtle techniques used in the contemporary western medias designed to instill in the audience particular views about reality. Full of illuminating case studies.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manufacturing consent, 27 Feb 2014
By 
George Brennan (Abergavenny Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
I thought I knew a lot about the subliminal propaganda carried by even the best of the mainstream media. This masterpiece has taught me a lat more. I have never seen a cogent rebuttal of its essential claims. It has been ignored to death. But if it were not ignored to death, it would not be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second hand book, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
Arrived quicker than the delivery date stated, so I was delighted! The cover isn't the same as the picture but its the same thing so it doesn't really matter! It is in good condition for a secondhand book, a few dog ears here and there but its not an issue. Very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone looking to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book empowers the reader to critically approach all media, 26 Aug 2013
By 
R PEPPER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book that allows the reader to take a critical, informed approach when reading/viewing various media. Essentially one should treat one's national media in the same way we treat foreign media; with an assumption that claims must be proved and not begin reading with a pre-supposed acceptance that what is written is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Manufacturing consent, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
Subtle,in-depth analysis of media manipulation by the Establishment.A very good read and particularly relevant today;no doubt the Establishment will soon "discover" WMDs in Syria and/or Iran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our world of lies explained, 28 Sep 2010
By 
A. G. Jarrett (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
Two bright lights illuminate the many darkened rooms and dingy corners of our 'democracies'.
The world presented to us by main stream media, on behalf of western governments and the bigbiz chums,
is an inversion of reality.
Herman and Chomsky enlighten and afford you the chance to reposition beliefs and future actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how the media filters news, 24 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
this book is the most difficult chomsky book i have ever read.it is the first serious attempt to show how biased our so called independent media is.it shows by using well known news events how different organizations have used the same story and come up with different conclusions.the media like any political organisation practices self censorship,it's interesting to see what the media leaves out of it's reporting.after reading this book you will develop a healthy scepticism about what you hear or read in the media.the media certainly knows manipulate facts to fit any view they like to promote.after reading this book i have a very dim view of so called media
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book this year...make it this one., 7 April 2008
This review is from: Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media (Paperback)
A devastating and enlightening critique of US foreign policy and the media complicit in its crimes. If you only read one Chomsky book, make it this one. It should be required reading on every media/politics/sociology course. The analysis is compelling and the conclusion shocking. The mainstream media cannot be trusted - seekers of truth must look elsewhere. It remains as relevant today as it's ever been. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great tool in understanding western mainstream media, 24 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This book is very helpful if you want to observe the media critically. Every user of the western mainstream media should read this book to comprehend the factors that influence the contents of the news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media
Manufacturing Consent: The Political Economy of the Mass Media by Edward S Herman (Paperback - 20 April 1995)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews