Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and terrifying, another masterwork from Harris
This was the first of the series that I read, having seen the film version of Silence of the Lambs I wanted to know what happened next rather than revisit it by reading it, wonderful as it was. I thought, at the time, that there was nothing more Harris could do to frighten me. I was wrong.
Every scene is so brilliantly evocative, masterfully written and beautifully...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by ginagirl123123

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream Amorality
This is the continuation of the story line from The Silence of the Lambs. There are several strands to this book, the most familiar of which is that of police procedural involving Clarice Starling and her battles with the bureaucracy of the FBI. This is not the fictional FBI of the X Files, rather it is that of an agency where sexism appears rampant and where quality and...
Published 2 months ago by Sceptic a la M. Teste


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and terrifying, another masterwork from Harris, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This was the first of the series that I read, having seen the film version of Silence of the Lambs I wanted to know what happened next rather than revisit it by reading it, wonderful as it was. I thought, at the time, that there was nothing more Harris could do to frighten me. I was wrong.
Every scene is so brilliantly evocative, masterfully written and beautifully understated- from the beauty of the setting to the most horrifice of the violent scenes. The violence is present, of course- how could it not be, in a Lecter novel? But what makes this novel so terrifying is what it does to the reader themselves.
Hannibal Lecter is a monster, a cruel, inhumane being, there is no question of this, so what I found most terrifying for myself was the fact that I found myself rooting for him. I wanted him to win, I wanted him to get away, and without spoiling the plot, the ending is so deeply controversial that it is impossible to know how to feel. Should I be relieved? Angry? Pleased? I didn't know, having read the final page, and in truth, I still don't.
This book delves into Lecters mind more deeply than Silence of the Lambs (which I have now read) and what is found there is confusing, touching yet monstrous, moving and brutal. It is impossible to know how to feel about this fascinating yet inhumane creature that consumes human flesh, and his relationship with Starling becomes more and more complex and fascinating. It is a true testament to the unsung genius of Harris' writing that this is possible, that he is able to reconcile these traits, seemingly without effort on his part.
Starling is also more developed, more intriguing, having lived a few more years, and again without spoiling the plot, the developing relationship shared between her and Lecter, who have enemies on all sides is impossible to fathom and yet intimate. She is still the gutsy agent we loved from Silence of the Lambs, unflinching, selfless and proud, but older, harder, and more disillusioned, she is even more relatable than before. You find yourself conflicted, wanting Lecter to escape, but also wanting Starling to catch him.
Verger and Krendler, the main antagonists are well written, and both terrible in thier unique ways. Both have designs on our antagonists, and thier aims are so awful that, in a way, they cannot fail to be hated, simply because they are working against the protagonists. Even as antagonists, thier characters are complex and detailed. You also see the return of some old friends as Barney the Orderly and Jack Crawford make thier appearances, but you never feel as if Harris is simply rehashing old stories, everything is new and fresh.
This novel, if you hadn't already gathered from my review, is sharp, conflicting and clever, leaving you in a thoughtful daze that doesn't desist for several days. A thoroughly unputdownable, complex thriller from the brilliant mind of Thomas Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A creepy and compelling read, 22 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This is a good book from Thomas Harris and I read it in a couple of days. It is great to read about Hannibal's world on the outside in Italy. He loves the sights and smells of Florence. This is a twisted love story between Lecter and Starling but this novel is more about Hannibal the cannibal and his experiences living in the beautiful Renaissance city of Florence. The novel starts off with Clarice Starling on a botched FBI raid which goes terribly wrong, someone close to her dies and the outcome has serious implications for her career. Meanwhile Hannibal Lecter is living in Florence in a beautiful apartment and enjoying life as a Renaissance man. He sends a letter to Starling taunting her about the raid and she is determined to track him down and bring him to justice. There is an interesting subplot involving a vengeful paedophile who is desperate to get his hands on Lecter and make him pay for his suffering. This is an enjoyable novel and a good read. It is a bit sick in parts and not as good as the two previous Lecter novels. None the less the novel is better than the film adaptation and there is enough excitement and twists from Harris to keep you gripped to the end.
Good stuff.
4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream Amorality, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This is the continuation of the story line from The Silence of the Lambs. There are several strands to this book, the most familiar of which is that of police procedural involving Clarice Starling and her battles with the bureaucracy of the FBI. This is not the fictional FBI of the X Files, rather it is that of an agency where sexism appears rampant and where quality and talent are second to time serving adepts of the political game. Whether or not this truly represents the FBI is impossible to say but it is a familiar background from the earlier books in the series, with the proviso that all has worsened through stringent budget cuts. Despite all the obstacles, Starling emerges as 'a warrior' (Hannibal Lecter's term for her) who manages to remain true to her own moral code.

Almost needless to say, when Harris writes a procedural,he does it about as well as anyone, and these parts of the book fall under the category of page turner.

The other strand of the book is concerned with characters of decadent amorality, at least in comparison to the stern moral code of Starling. In this corner (to adapt the language of boxing) we have Mason Verger, and in this corner we have Hannibal Lecter. Verger is a deliberately repulsive creation and Harris is at pains to make him so unsavoury that the reader cannot help but cheer for Lecter, as Verger plots a terrible vengeance on him. The back story on Verger is interesting, exceedingly well written, and there are many macabre touches (such as the eel in a fish tank in his bedroom) that stick in the mind and - in the case of the eel - even enter into the climax of the story. In the other corner we have the ultra-sophisticated Lecter (probably familiar to every reader by now) who seems, oddly, to kill only in self-defence or vengeance.

This part of the book includes three procedurals:

- Verger tracking Lecter
- Lecter tracking Starling
- A Florentine policement tracking Lecter

Once again the plot turns of the various plot lines are compelling.

What makes this book interesting? Essentially, Lecter emerges triumphant and (rather like Darth Vader) takes Starling over to 'the dark side'. Of course he needs drugs and hypnotherapy to achieve this, but he gets there in the end, and together they kill and eat Krendall who is a nasty sexist bureaucrat and sworn enemy of Starling. (Harris is very careful to make sure Krendall is particularly unsavoury!)

In addition to winning, Lecter's amoral values have triumphed, because the forces of law and justice have been found wanting on an institutional level (the FBI) and on an individual level (Starling, 'a warrior', is eventually turned).

And so the book leaves a strange impression, as it appears to be a mainstream best seller that presents a story and creates a world where amorality triumphs over all the traditional American virtues. In this respect it is ironic that the only positive outcome is that of Verger's sister, Margot, who is able to create a family with her lesbian lover, inherit the family fortune, and create a world win which all of the children whom Verger has abused are reinstated in a world of love and peace. This part of the book rings completely false at least to this reader - a sort of politically correct coda which sidesteps the fact that Margot is cold-blooded killer (in mind and in deed).

This is a very subversive book which probably 'gets past the censor' by virtue of being beautifully written and by using characters who are already famous. Harris also has a knack for describing smells and tastes (normally very unpleasant ones) that lingers in the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply...., 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Brilliant!! What a writer! what a story! the relationship between Hanibal and Clarice is amazing. So so so much better than the film which no way does this book justice!! Outstanding read from the true master!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
There is no doubt that Harris has the ability to write an engrossing story, and he includes interesting detail about FBI procedures, Florence, bon vivant etc. However, I found this diaappointing after reading "The Silence of the Lambs" and the glowing reviews that this has received. "The Silence of the Lambs was mainly believable, with one exotic character, Hannibal Lecter. This book is full of extraordinary people and requires considerable suspension of disbelief. Half of the characters have either committed murder or are prepared to do so. They are not convincingly drawn. I found the ending of the book ridiculous,and out of character for the parties concerned. It is true that Harris engages the reader's partisanship for Lecter; that is done by making the other characters thoroughly unsympathetic. The book is worth reading if you liked "The Silence of the Lambs", but don't expect it to be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eloquent, psychotic and spine-chilling a true masterpiece., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Dr Hannibal Lecter is the only cannibal I've ever wanted to succeed. A truly engaging character who it is a little to easy to empathise with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Delivery, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. A. Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This was delivered in next to no time at all and is a great read. The book totally keeps you in suspense all the way through and I like it much more than the film. You get to use your own imagination which is sometimes scarier than watching the thriller as there are no limits. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Even the with the third installment, Harris just keeps on pushing and what you end up with is something that is truly wonderful. I must say, rather different from Red Dragon and The Silence of the Lambs, however it still is as good, if not better. Hannibal brings the journey full circle. We finally get to see 'the good doctor' in the limelight and rightly so, this book is 100x better than the film, and the film was something. It really is just one of the best novels I have ever read. Definately a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarrely addictive, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This isn't the same as Silence of the lambs or red dragon, it's really it's own thing. I won't review the book, needless to say if you buy it you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lengthy..., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
But well worth the read. It's a good end to the series, the less about Hannibal Rising the better, you certainly root for the cannibal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa961012c)

This product

Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter)
Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) by Thomas Harris (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews