Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and terrifying, another masterwork from Harris
This was the first of the series that I read, having seen the film version of Silence of the Lambs I wanted to know what happened next rather than revisit it by reading it, wonderful as it was. I thought, at the time, that there was nothing more Harris could do to frighten me. I was wrong.
Every scene is so brilliantly evocative, masterfully written and beautifully...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by ginagirl123123

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
There is no doubt that Harris has the ability to write an engrossing story, and he includes interesting detail about FBI procedures, Florence, bon vivant etc. However, I found this diaappointing after reading "The Silence of the Lambs" and the glowing reviews that this has received. "The Silence of the Lambs was mainly believable, with one exotic character, Hannibal...
Published 13 months ago by Barry L


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and terrifying, another masterwork from Harris, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This was the first of the series that I read, having seen the film version of Silence of the Lambs I wanted to know what happened next rather than revisit it by reading it, wonderful as it was. I thought, at the time, that there was nothing more Harris could do to frighten me. I was wrong.
Every scene is so brilliantly evocative, masterfully written and beautifully understated- from the beauty of the setting to the most horrifice of the violent scenes. The violence is present, of course- how could it not be, in a Lecter novel? But what makes this novel so terrifying is what it does to the reader themselves.
Hannibal Lecter is a monster, a cruel, inhumane being, there is no question of this, so what I found most terrifying for myself was the fact that I found myself rooting for him. I wanted him to win, I wanted him to get away, and without spoiling the plot, the ending is so deeply controversial that it is impossible to know how to feel. Should I be relieved? Angry? Pleased? I didn't know, having read the final page, and in truth, I still don't.
This book delves into Lecters mind more deeply than Silence of the Lambs (which I have now read) and what is found there is confusing, touching yet monstrous, moving and brutal. It is impossible to know how to feel about this fascinating yet inhumane creature that consumes human flesh, and his relationship with Starling becomes more and more complex and fascinating. It is a true testament to the unsung genius of Harris' writing that this is possible, that he is able to reconcile these traits, seemingly without effort on his part.
Starling is also more developed, more intriguing, having lived a few more years, and again without spoiling the plot, the developing relationship shared between her and Lecter, who have enemies on all sides is impossible to fathom and yet intimate. She is still the gutsy agent we loved from Silence of the Lambs, unflinching, selfless and proud, but older, harder, and more disillusioned, she is even more relatable than before. You find yourself conflicted, wanting Lecter to escape, but also wanting Starling to catch him.
Verger and Krendler, the main antagonists are well written, and both terrible in thier unique ways. Both have designs on our antagonists, and thier aims are so awful that, in a way, they cannot fail to be hated, simply because they are working against the protagonists. Even as antagonists, thier characters are complex and detailed. You also see the return of some old friends as Barney the Orderly and Jack Crawford make thier appearances, but you never feel as if Harris is simply rehashing old stories, everything is new and fresh.
This novel, if you hadn't already gathered from my review, is sharp, conflicting and clever, leaving you in a thoughtful daze that doesn't desist for several days. A thoroughly unputdownable, complex thriller from the brilliant mind of Thomas Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
There is no doubt that Harris has the ability to write an engrossing story, and he includes interesting detail about FBI procedures, Florence, bon vivant etc. However, I found this diaappointing after reading "The Silence of the Lambs" and the glowing reviews that this has received. "The Silence of the Lambs was mainly believable, with one exotic character, Hannibal Lecter. This book is full of extraordinary people and requires considerable suspension of disbelief. Half of the characters have either committed murder or are prepared to do so. They are not convincingly drawn. I found the ending of the book ridiculous,and out of character for the parties concerned. It is true that Harris engages the reader's partisanship for Lecter; that is done by making the other characters thoroughly unsympathetic. The book is worth reading if you liked "The Silence of the Lambs", but don't expect it to be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A creepy and compelling read, 22 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This is a good book from Thomas Harris and I read it in a couple of days. It is great to read about Hannibal's world on the outside in Italy. He loves the sights and smells of Florence. This is a twisted love story between Lecter and Starling but this novel is more about Hannibal the cannibal and his experiences living in the beautiful Renaissance city of Florence. The novel starts off with Clarice Starling on a botched FBI raid which goes terribly wrong, someone close to her dies and the outcome has serious implications for her career. Meanwhile Hannibal Lecter is living in Florence in a beautiful apartment and enjoying life as a Renaissance man. He sends a letter to Starling taunting her about the raid and she is determined to track him down and bring him to justice. There is an interesting subplot involving a vengeful paedophile who is desperate to get his hands on Lecter and make him pay for his suffering. This is an enjoyable novel and a good read. It is a bit sick in parts and not as good as the two previous Lecter novels. None the less the novel is better than the film adaptation and there is enough excitement and twists from Harris to keep you gripped to the end.
Good stuff.
4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I saw the Hannibal film first and was instantly put off because it was pretty dire. That combined with the bad reviews I ..., 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
I have been working my way through the Hannibal world, films, TV show, books. I saw the Hannibal film first and was instantly put off because it was pretty dire. That combined with the bad reviews I read meant I went in a little skeptical. This book is not as bad as the film, or most of the negative reviews on this site. However make no mistake it is a big step down in quality from its predecessors. And therefore you are left somewhat dissatisfied. So where does it go wrong? Several places.
Firstly the characters. Clarice Starling was a courageous go getter in Silence of the Lambs, but in this book her personality seems watered down and she seems a little useless at times, not the Clarice Starling we grew to love. Also Hannibal is a weak character, which is not something I thought I'd ever say. In captivity he was thrilling, toying with characters, manipulating so forth etc. But as a free man he is forced to blend in most of the time and is just a regular Joe, obviously still remarkable clever and cultured, but still the edge has gone from his character. Ironically the one character you are supposed to hate, Mason Verger, is the only intriguing character there is.
There is also a really weird side story about a steroid using lesbian bodybuilder flirting with a straight man in an attempt to convince him to steal her brothers sperm so she can impregnate her girlfriend. No seriously I'm not kidding, that is a genuine plot thread, was a tad silly I must admit.
Also the ending is different to the film. I won't give the story away but it is even worse than the films ending, it is one of the worst endings I have ever read!
Despite the negatives there are some positives. Although Mason Vergers character is a little over the top and unbelievable he is still intriguing and is a source of conflict for the reader. Its made clear from the beginning he is an awful man, however the book does create sympathy for him and in the end you do find yourself wanting him to succeed in his despicable and disturbingly twisted plot.
Also the writing isn't all bad, there are sources of tension in the book which do keep you hooked at parts. Unfortunately the book is too long for its own good and you do force read through some dull parts.
To conclude if you like the series it's worth a read, just don't expect it to match the quality of the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Ordered the entire series and each came nicely packaged in great condition, however my copy of Red Dragon had a noticeable crease across the front cover. Overall a great purchase, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Outstanding, thrilling and disturbingly dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eloquent, psychotic and spine-chilling a true masterpiece., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Dr Hannibal Lecter is the only cannibal I've ever wanted to succeed. A truly engaging character who it is a little to easy to empathise with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Delivery, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. A. Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This was delivered in next to no time at all and is a great read. The book totally keeps you in suspense all the way through and I like it much more than the film. You get to use your own imagination which is sometimes scarier than watching the thriller as there are no limits. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
Even the with the third installment, Harris just keeps on pushing and what you end up with is something that is truly wonderful. I must say, rather different from Red Dragon and The Silence of the Lambs, however it still is as good, if not better. Hannibal brings the journey full circle. We finally get to see 'the good doctor' in the limelight and rightly so, this book is 100x better than the film, and the film was something. It really is just one of the best novels I have ever read. Definately a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarrely addictive, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) (Paperback)
This isn't the same as Silence of the lambs or red dragon, it's really it's own thing. I won't review the book, needless to say if you buy it you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter)
Hannibal: (Hannibal Lecter) by Thomas Harris (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews