Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look out for the muted post-horn
Truth be told, I ought not to like this book. I've never been much of a fan of post-modernism, and this novella almost certainly falls within that category. As for conspiracy theory novels, well, don't get me started! But, and here is a very big 'however', this book is funny, perceptive and thought-provoking. It has all the density of Pynchon's other works but in a much...
Published on 17 May 2012 by Mr. M Errington

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected crap
First fifty pages or so it was good, funny as well. Then it went downhill. It went all Dan-Brown... He writes pages and pages educating us on stage plays and random secret societies with their logos etc. etc. overall disappointing. Too short as well.
Published 5 months ago by Daniel Wiles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look out for the muted post-horn, 17 May 2012
By 
Mr. M Errington "Chelonist" (Hereford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
Truth be told, I ought not to like this book. I've never been much of a fan of post-modernism, and this novella almost certainly falls within that category. As for conspiracy theory novels, well, don't get me started! But, and here is a very big 'however', this book is funny, perceptive and thought-provoking. It has all the density of Pynchon's other works but in a much shorter form. Read other reviewers to learn something of the plot and characters, but just be warned, reading this might send you seriously paranoid. Unmarked white vans, strange symbols and the revenge of the disposessed all come into it. Then there is the evidence of a collection of strangely defaced postage stamps. It is precisely because there is no satisfactory resolution to the story that you start to worry that some of it might just be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected crap, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
First fifty pages or so it was good, funny as well. Then it went downhill. It went all Dan-Brown... He writes pages and pages educating us on stage plays and random secret societies with their logos etc. etc. overall disappointing. Too short as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Crying?, 2 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
Pynchon takes the subject of an obscure footnote in the history of the development of the world's postal system and weaves a conspiracy plot of epic proportions around it. The worlds of espionage and philately collide in a strange explosion of bourgeois pomposity. There are some vaguely amusing episodes along the way in the search for the truth, but all in all the main characters are quite objectionable in one way or another (I could probably happily strangle Oedipa if I met her in person) and it's really quite difficult to bring oneself to care about what happens to anyone or anything in the story. Pynchon's style may be attractive to some but, but his florid dialogue and descriptions had me shaking my head almost constantly while reading this book (got me a few strange looks from fellow train-riders) and looking around for a sick-bag (could never find one when I really wanted one). At least I learned a few things about the history of postal systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, shocking, or just overrated?, 12 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
Thomas Pynchon is widely regarded as one of the great American writers of the twentieth century; an author who leads us down the dark paths of the human mind towards the light of the post-modernist utopia. The glowing reviews of this very book testify to his writing talent and (perhaps surprising) popularity. He is, therefore, indisputably a literary giant, and anyone who purports to have any interest in twentieth century America better have read him. He is also, however, - as another reviewer pointed out - pretentious in the extreme; any author who calls their protagonist Oedipa (oh, I wonder what the allusion is there?) is undeniably that. Having said that, in this book he has managed to reign in his natural tendency to obfuscation. I personally found 'Gravity's Rainbow' virtually impenetrable, not so much because it's too 'complicated' for me to understand, as the fact that it's actually quite boring not knowing what's supposed to be going on, the lengthy Slothrop digression down a toilet being not so much intellectual as pointless, and frankly the final straw before I gave up at about the one hundred page mark. Having read little else in the Pynchon oeuvre I hesitate to comment on his other books (although the mammoth size of 'Mason & Dixon' and 'Against the Day' don't fill me with confidence), but my experience of 'GR' was negative. This, however, is exactly what draws me to recommend 'The Crying of Lot 49'. It suffers much less from the Pynchonesque confusion, and forms a neatly self-contained mystery, a pocket sized post-modernist allusion. It's rewarding as a read in those terms - don't look for realism here - and as an attempt to pierce under the surface of things. Where 'GR' gets lost in its own self-referentialism, 'The Crying' just manages to walk the tightrope of Pynchon land; balanced between collapsing into nonsense and turning into pulp fiction. By managing to tread so close to these twin dangers and escaping Pynchon creates a taunt black comedy, one that leads the reader to the very precipice of literature's own contemporary decline and fall. Don't bother with his great tomes, this is his small masterpiece, and if you don't much like it, well, at least it's only a hundred or so pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oedipa's Mess, but what an impressive one, 20 Jun. 2011
Despite its brevity in pages, Thomas Pynchon's `The Crying of Lot 49' is one of the most bizarre, erudite, referential and absurdly compelling texts of the post-war period. Truly a text for the intrepid reader, Pynchon's novel centers (if it can be said to do so at all), on Oedipa Maas; an intelligent woman given the task of executor of her employer and one-time lover Pierce Inverarity's estate. In true Pynchonian fashion, Oedipa's apparently routine duty drags her into a world inhabited by The Paranoids, a teenage rip-off of the Beatles, briefly into the embrace of charming former child star Metzger, and finally, into the bizarre world of W.A.S.T.E, a secret postal service, borne out of dissent from a centuries old feud in Europe, between Trystero, and Thurn and Taxis. These strands of plot, though they make a fascinating and purposefully disorientating narrative between them; sometimes press too many themes into too few pages, and whilst this battering of information and experience is impressive, there's a sense of issues overlapping and running into each other a little too much for Pynchon's implied meanings and symbolism to always be garnered by the reader.

There's an absolute wealth of reference in the novel, almost to the extent of `Against the Day' and `Gravity's Rainbow', which will prove both a delight and a frustration, depending on the reader. I personally found Pynchon's reference mixed; with his evocation of Thurn and Taxis' battle for power with Trystero fascinating, and the ten or so pages of a short novel describing a forgotten Jacobean play, a little on the side of overkill. The novel's evocation of Oedipa's experience is perhaps it's strongest point though, with it's interesting indications of her growing uncertainty and excitement, and fears of madness, over seeing the postboxes of W.A.S.T.E everywhere she goes, and acceptance of the loss of her husband Mucho, to the heady peace he seems to find in LSD. `The Crying of Lot 49' is a novel which will frustrate many readers, and one with imperfections; but for those who enjoy a rollercoaster ride through European history, bizarre TV specials and postal conspiracies, all underlined with some suberb subtext and commentary on the postmodern condition and the America of the `60s, then you're likely to find this novel one of considerable enjoyment and worth, even if it's bound to baffle even the most academic readers, at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curious Tale, 17 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
Having just completed William Gibson's 'Neuromancer', 'The Crying of Lot 49' came as a welcome contrast. Pynchon's clarity of thought, taste for the absurd, and dark humour distinctly refreshing.

I enjoyed much of the curious digressions of the story, the jumble of odd-balls, the growing paranoia of Oedipa Maas, our reluctant co-executor of a Californian tycoon, ex-lover's will. However, the events, and the unfolding conspiracy theory regarding Trystero (a secret postal system), all seemed somewhat incidental to me: sub-plottish. I was expecting something more compelling, revealing something of the chief characters. Instead, Trystero becomes a rather forced, unwanted focus.

All along I didn't really understand why Oedipa Maas becomes so engrossed in this slither of Pierce Inverarity's legacy or how the minor staged references to Trystero (literally and figuratively) could trigger her curiosity so greatly. Maybe because the Trystero mystery just never really grabbed me.

I don't consider this work impenetrable, as some reviewers have suggested - yes, it has some ambiguous, poetic moments, and sometimes jarring prose, but, in my opinion, never alienating or exclusive. In fact, I offer a guarded recommendation. The writing is worth it. I may well tackle his larger tomes one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Thomas Pynchon, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
M. J MUIR "J" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
Some people will find Thomas Pynchons's style almost inpenetrable(it's been described by critics as turgid and overwritten before) - so rather than getting stuck straight into V or Gravity's Rainbow (500 pages +) those who wish to read Thomas Pynchon may like to try this first at a little over 100 pages.

Although there are many comic scenes in the book the overall effect is starkly melancholy, as the main character, Oedipa Maas, prompted by the contents of an ex-lover's estate of which she is unexpectedly made executrix, obsessively pursues a secret postal service with medieval roots in Europe, which appears to exert a malign yet unclear effect on society...or does it? The book never answers this, as it ends just as Oedipa may be about to find an answer.

Instead the reader is left with a bleak sense of Oedipa's growing paranoia, neurosis and unhealthy fixation with the apparent secret society, in a likely metaphor for conspiracy theorists and cults everywhere. It's a funny book, but the madness of obsession and paranoia are well conveyed in the subtext of the plot, and might leave you feeling creeped.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is pomo I can't get on board with, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
I think I bought this Pynchon because John Fowles spoke of him positively and I so enjoyed JF's The Magus, and because I generally enjoy postmodern literature. The style is not for me, however - the sentences flow aimlessly one into the next, and it feels like Pynchon just dumped all his chemically enhanced thoughts onto the page, and then got lazy and decided to publish the novella as it was. The plot failed to grip me as it was improbable yet insufficiently surreal, so I wasn't sure if it was aiming to be a realist story or some rather colourful parable. The language, as mentioned, was careless and a bit annoying. I wanted to punch the main character Oepida and can't remember any of the side characters. Despite being a novella, this was an exhausting drag and 2 weeks I will never get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, surreal and strangely addictive, 18 Sept. 2013
For a very short book, this took me a long time to get through it; and the only reason for this is that Pynchon's writing demands that you give your undivided attention to every single beautifully crafted word. This book is the curious (sometimes downright strange and surreal) tale of Oedipa Maas, married to the pitiful DJ Mucho, who can't believe in himself any more after his traumatic post as a salesman in a used car lot, who is appointed executor of her former lover, Pierce Inverarity's estate.

From that point on, Oedipa goes on something of the classic American road trip, attempting to untangle the convoluted affairs of Inverarity, but along the way, uncovering a conspiracy underlying the US mail system, uncovering the source of a text of an obscure Jacobean revenge play, but principally discovering (and losing) much about herself along the way.

The book has a plot which is something of a spiral in form as earlier strands are constantly picked up and dropped again, until the reader, as well as the heroine, is going round and round in circles in the attempt to discover... well, what I'm not really sure, but it was a lot of fun getting there.

I loved the plot of the Jacobean revenge play - I've got to say all those bits about the text and only "words" being left over were my favourite bits, but there's something for everyone in here (music lovers, philatelists, historians, conspiracy theorists... I could go on).

This is a smart, short, slick, funny book - but reading it is a serious undertaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite hard work, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Crying Of Lot 49 (Paperback)
Thomas Pynchons writing can be described as sometimes almost too modern and not for fans of light reading. It's an interesting way of describing but sometimes fewer words would do as well. This book is slightly different, as it is a short novel in comparison to his usual works, but still very hard to read for someone like me, who just got introduced to Pynchon.

The story is pretty dark and depressing; however there are scenes of jokes. The story describes the life of Oedipa Maas who suddenly responsible for the estate of and ex-lover and discovers a secret society in the process, or so it seems.
The end is somewhat disappointing as there is no real solution just a description of Oedipa's change in character.

There are moments of laughter, but in whole the book is slightly confusing. Probably a fine read for fans of this sort of style, but for me it was just over-described and not very catching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crying Of Lot 49
The Crying Of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon (Paperback - 6 Jun. 1996)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews