Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serving Victoria
Rather than a biography of Victoria the Queen, this is a biography of a Court, with all its attendant courtiers and servants. The Victorian court was, in the words of the author, an odd mix of never ending house party and boarding school, of social ennui and regimentation. Above all, Victoria was adamant it would be respectable. So, was serving the Queen a penance or...
Published on 15 Nov 2012 by S Riaz

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good in many parts but over priced¬¡
1st part of book lacked depth and was uninteresting in some chapters too many names made ita confusing read. having a summary section of these people would have helped to refer too.historical documents included were of poor viewing quality on kindle. at other times very insightful and humouress about the thoughts of those who served victoria and the woman herself.2nd...
Published 23 months ago by sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this very good and hard to put down. It seemed well researched and very readable shows queen Victoria in different light to that generally viewed but also human if spoilt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serving Victoria, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting insight into life among the Royal family in those times, probably much of the same tension still exists amongst staff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting book, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am only half way through this book and I am enjoying it so much. It gives an insight into how Victoria lived from day to day. There certainly is a lot of information in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royals again!!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love Royal books and other things, yet another for my 600 strong collection of Royal books!! cant wait to read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insights into Victoria's Court., 21 Nov 2012
By 
J. D. Rose "History lover" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting insight into the workings of Queen Victoria's household. It was all so rigid and formal and there were many Rules to be followed - one had to be very dedicated to survive ! It is well written but can be dry in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring Boring Boring, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an avid reader of all things British royalty, I have to say this is the most tedious book I have ever had the misfortune to read.

I'm sorry I wasted money on it. It's now languishing in a charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt finish too boring, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Writer is not a very good writer of social history. It is too mush a shortening of a memoirs. It really feels like a shortening because it tells everything in a boring fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serving Victoria: Life in the Royal Household
Serving Victoria: Life in the Royal Household by Kate Hubbard (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews