Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, full of insights and a bargain
These three books show David Lodge at his campus best and represent terrific value for money. "Changing Places" tells of the exchange between Morris Zapp, energetic and charismatic Prof from Euphoric State University and Philip Swallow of Rummidge whom no-one could call charismatic or even particularly energetic. The novel concerns cultural and social differences...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Doc Barbara

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but rather dated of its time
The writing is good but it is very dated (and I like Dickens). We read it in book group and some people enjoyed it and found it funny but I was one of the others that will not bother reading the 2nd and 3rd part.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs. Caroline O'Callaghan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, full of insights and a bargain, 11 April 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
These three books show David Lodge at his campus best and represent terrific value for money. "Changing Places" tells of the exchange between Morris Zapp, energetic and charismatic Prof from Euphoric State University and Philip Swallow of Rummidge whom no-one could call charismatic or even particularly energetic. The novel concerns cultural and social differences between the U.S.A. and G.B in the late sixties and is amusing and perceptive about the clashes of expectations and realities. There are laugh-aloud moments and another exchange of a non-academic nature! "Small World" is less successful, in my opinion, as the concentration is on Persse McGarrigle whose naivete is comic but does not lead us as far as the exploits of the other two - who are present but more in the background. It has marvellous moments but seems a little more strained. The best is "Nice Work" which goes beyond being a campus novel as it takes Robyn Penrose, a female and feminist lecturer on the industrial novel, into industry where she shadows Vic Wilcox whose views are decidedly old-fashioned but who is willing to learn from Robyn in various ways! The book does delve into serious issues of the concept of work and why universities should exist. The hellish description of the foundry contrasts with the Utopic vision of an ideal university and there is another picture of work where money is made by bankers simply doing deals. I loved the scene in Germany where Robyn trumps the businessmen but that is only one of many readable and thought-provoking moments in the story of the two central sympathetic characters, though there are minor figures like Vic's wife and children who are realistically portrayed. All the works combine humour with seriousness and all have insights into places, societies and individuals. Nice Work - all of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
This trilogy set is excellent value, 3 books in one and are terrific reads. David Lodge's writing style is enjoyable and the trilogy is related by character and circumstance, so you can read all the way through and enjoy the continuity of theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious excursion into the social whirl of academia, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If the best novels give us insight into the social and sexual mores of our times and times past then this trilogy is up there with the best. Along with penetrating insight into British and American academic life and love, David Lodge gives us a hilarious anecdotes from the hippy era on the West Coast of America. An era supposedly of peace and love but in reality of campus occupations, "sit ins" and open and cruel exploitation of women in the name of free love. As the novels move through time the behaviour of academics changes in keeping with coming of the jet set age. But as you would guess nothing goes smoothly for long and our heroes live to regret their wildly extravagant behaviour. The last novel bring us right up to modern times of austerity measures and could be quite depressing except that the resilience of our academic heroine and our businessman counterpoint rescues the day (with a piece of unbelievable luck) and makes us feel that common sense and decency and respect for other people will win in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book immensely. Well put together, good characterisation and scene-setting. Amusing situations and often laugh out loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Campus Trilogy, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly, a little dated these days, but still amusing. If you were in school/college in the 60's, you'll enjoy it!
Good beach reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into academia, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this when applying for a job in academia. Oh what a laugh. And what an insight. Great characters, great stories, hilarious turns of phrase. Absolutely brilliant writing. I didn't get the job, and that's a relief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been reading these books for some fifteen years or so - they never age or fail to delight. I suspect Lodge appeals more to male readers, but I'd heartily recommend them to anyone. He's a great oberserver of life, and you can't help but feel he's often taking the mick out of his own University career. But he's always knowledgeable and witty and just totally engrossing to read. You'll be challenged too - by reading Lodge, you'll discover things within your own heart you may not have realised were there.....
Kindle version is good - though there are a couple of Americanisms they have chosen to include. (Not, mercifully, the spellings though!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars campus trilogy...totally absorbing, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Neil Sutherland (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
Just finished the campus trilogy having stumbled acrooss David lodge after reading Deaf sentance. David Lodge is a terrific writer that entertains and indeed educates through his writing. His observations of life and situations are dealt with supberbly....I for one cannot get enough of him and now must search for more by him.

Wonderful relaxtion in a far too stressful world, get a cup of tea or nice glass of red, curl up in front of the fire and enjoy your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fabulous collection, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Mr Fishy Chip (Saffron Walden, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
I bought this collection as a present for a friend as I've read ALL of David Lodge's work. They are three different but connected stories all based around the imaginary university of Rummidge - exactly where Birmingham is.
Without going in to much detail I would just like to say that if you like reading books and enjoy them when you can really appreciate the craft that goes into creating stories then you should have definitely read a Lodge, or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expected more in terms of printing quality, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
The font size is rather small and at time tiring. The paper quality could have been better. It is a quite big book, so would be better with hardcover. Also, no easy way of separating the three books. Considering the price, it's a great value for money! Lodge's humour is amazing and the book reads very easily, making it a very enjoyable and relaxing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4d95648)

This product

The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics)
The Campus Trilogy (Vintage Classics) by David Lodge (Paperback - 28 July 2011)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews