Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still an effective book on Louis
Having enjoyed Antonia Fraser's recent book, Love and Louis XIV, I picked this up in a charity shop, and I'm very pleased I did so. Mitford's book is still respected and it is cited in Fraser's bibliography as a source.

The book occupies a centre ground between popular and adademic history; a bit heavy at times for the former (but you do get the detail you...
Published on 20 July 2007 by MarkE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a very personal view of the Sun King
While this is well written, informative and readable, it is prerevolutionary France seen through the eyes of Nancy Mitford, a firm believer in aristocratic government, so it has an outdated feel. She also, being Nancy Mitford, creates a strong personality for the characters - and characters is the right word as this reads like a historical novel, not a biography.
Published 20 months ago by mairi beaton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still an effective book on Louis, 20 July 2007
By 
MarkE (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
Having enjoyed Antonia Fraser's recent book, Love and Louis XIV, I picked this up in a charity shop, and I'm very pleased I did so. Mitford's book is still respected and it is cited in Fraser's bibliography as a source.

The book occupies a centre ground between popular and adademic history; a bit heavy at times for the former (but you do get the detail you want), and a bit light for the latter (but easier to read than most specialist history texts). It also has the benefit of the author's knowledge of court life, including an amusing anecdote about her own presentation at Buckingham Palace.

If you are interested in this period of French history I warmly recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you need an informant on the inside..., 20 Mar 2010
By 
...Look no further. Mitford knew noblesse oblige being, as she was, in the upper class department and it shows throughout this book. Her obvious research and her ability to tell a good story make this a fairly brilliant place to start to get an understanding of Louis Dieudonne.

It is not highly in-depth and lacks details ie. about Anne of Austria, Louis XIII, the wars and policies. However I think for this is Mitford deliberately choosing to stay focused on the man and what he did domestically and socially leaving Philip Erlanger et al to deal with the politics.

The style of the book is textbook. It has a large number of pictures to go with the text and is written simply and to the point. This I'm assuming is the reason my eight year old nephew read and liked it whereas if he had read Erlanger he'd have been bored. And Mitford's Sun King is certainly not boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant society analyst Mitford on most brilliant society, 22 Sep 1997
By A Customer
Nobody understood the nuances of aristocratic society better than the Mitford sisters. No aristocratic society ever had more nuances than Louis XIV's.

That background and Nancy Mitford's witty prose make her study of Louis and her court so readable that her exhaustive research and genuine scholarship may be overshadowed.

To the unitiated, Louis is a gilt and ormalu figure rather than one of the most interesting personalities in European history. Anyone new to the Louis fascination will be infected, but Mitford's biography is also deep enough for readers who know much more.

Most biographers of Louis understand how interesting, funny, and complex his personality and long life were. Mitford explains this phenonomen well, and illustrates his personality by examining Louis's family, court, and surroundings.

Mitford lived near Versailles for many years and draws from hundreds of original French documents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable introduction to Louis XIV, 2 Oct 2011
By 
H. M. Holt "souloftherose" (Tring, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nancy Mitford's biography of Louis XIV is rather gossipy in tone; you can almost imagine that she's writing about people she's actually met, but very readable (probably because of the gossipyness). Unlike other biographies I've read there were no references although there was a list of sources used at the back of the book. This, taken together with the way Nancy Mitford writes, makes it very difficult for the reader to tell which bits (if any) are speculation on the author's part or disputed by other biographers.

Having said that, I think this makes a very good introduction to the court of Louis XIV. Throughout the book there are illustrations in both black and white and colour of the Royal family, courtiers and, of course, Versailles. There's also a fairly detailed family tree which is an absolute must when it comes to keeping track of who's who because of the similarities of name and title. It was a very engrossing read and it certainly helped this reader get her head round the different Louis' of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nancy Mitford is a must, 22 May 2011
By 
Felicity Dodsworth "K & F" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a very well written and witty book. I often read history books (which is, of course, useful being a history student) and they are usually pedantic, dull, and incredibly long-winded. An English lecturer once bewailed that historians have a certain way of writing. They do. Long and boring usually. Every so often a fast and vibrant history book with come winging its way into one's lap and this is one of them. Nancy Mitford's writing style is fresh, funny, and has personality but stays with the facts. The only other history writer to engage me fully was perhaps A.N. Wilson (writer of The Victorians and After The Victorians). Both writers tell you what happened as though they are sat right before you filling your head full of studies and personalities that have fascinated them which, to me, is what reading history should be like... it definitely should not feel like a chore.

From reading this book and becoming enthusiastic about Ms Mitford's style of writing within the context of historical tomes I've purchased her 'Madame de Pompadour' book and shall soon be obtaining a copy of her work on Frederick the Great.

In short this was a great read; fast, fresh and intriguing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read..., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, interesting and fun. Nancy Mitford brings the period back to life and recreates the atmosphere and intrigues of one of the most famous kings of Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sun king, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sun King (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
everything Ok for me book arrived safely and in good condition I have no adverse comments to make. With thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this in preparation for a trip to Paris it is highly readable and provided a great insight into life at Versailles which enhanced the visit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a very personal view of the Sun King, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sun King (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
While this is well written, informative and readable, it is prerevolutionary France seen through the eyes of Nancy Mitford, a firm believer in aristocratic government, so it has an outdated feel. She also, being Nancy Mitford, creates a strong personality for the characters - and characters is the right word as this reads like a historical novel, not a biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mitford voice rings loud and clear, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sun King (Vintage Classics) (Paperback)
For anybody who thinks Nancy Mitford is light weight - read this! History skewered on the Mitford quill. It's probably the only historical biography I had read at the time where the author wasn't afraid to voice her own oppinion - rather than pretending that finally the author has cracked the definitive character of the subject and everything that has gone before is mis-guided hookum Nancy Mitford combines the fact with HER interpretation. Yes people have condemned her obvious love and fascination for the Sun King but what is wrong with having an author appreciating the grandeur of their subject? What is wrong with having readable history? Imagine if she'd lived long enough to tackle Elizabeth 1st? ( I have since read her other biogs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sun King (Vintage Classics)
The Sun King (Vintage Classics) by Nancy Mitford (Paperback - 6 Oct 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews