Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars232
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2001
I can see that I may be out of step with other reviewers, but Enigma is a good thriller without distinguishing itself. It doesn't reach the heights of wartime thrillers written by Alan Furst among others (and there's an author you really should read if you haven't already. No, he didn't pay me to say that).
Enigma succeeds in its settings, plotting and historical background, but fails in its characterisation. Tom Jericho, Puck, Claire, Hester and others are likeable characters, but to me weren't much more than boys-own cut outs: an unlikely genius of a nervous wreck charging around defying the police and secret services; a beautiful but somehow untrustworthy woman sleeping her way round the cryptanalysts; a plain but brilliant, determined and undervalued clerk joining Tom Jericho on an adventure around the country ? Not very believable when you think about it. But that highlights the strength of the book: the story carries you along so breathlessly that you don't have much time for reflection or thought at all.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Great book, technical explanations well written, good story, best book I've read for ages. Well researched by the talented writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
If you want an excellent listen, so much so that you forget you can turn the CD off and start again later this is the one for you. As ever brilliant writing and also very informative about the Enigma code. It equals the book for its gripping story line.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
A great plot and characters. I good read that keeps you guessing. An interesting part of history cleverly described, brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Very, very entertaining read. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good thriller. Casey plot with lots of twists and turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Very interesting plot and lovely ending. Set the atmosphere of 1943 really well. A very interesting hero. Could not put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Gripping and unputdownable, keeps you guessing right til the end. I've read it twice and sure there'll be a third time one day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2009
Given that this has been adapted for a major film and given that it was on the best-sellers list for so long I was expecting a stunning novel. What I got was interesting but not great.

It is the story of the Enigma and breaking the submarine codes of the four wheeled enigma machines called Shark. The code was broken by the brilliant mathematician Tom Jericho but now he is burnt out and the Germans have changed the codes so that it has to be broken again. Why did the German's change the codes? Did they know the unbreakable Enigma machine had been broken? Is there a spy at Bletchley Park? Can Tom Jericho regain his senses and break Shark again?

The problem is that inventing people when there were real historical characters rather than writing a historical novel seems to me a bit odd. Secondly the scenario of them suspecting Jericho of being a spy is not reasonable. In war time you would not get the police involved with such a secret operation it would be military only and they would shoot first and think about it sometime. At the first suspicion he would have been interned for the rest of the war.

Counter-intelligence surely had agents at Bletchley but they failed to spot Burgess, McClean, Philby and Blunt and they were all confessed communists!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
after reading the Booker long list it's good to read a good yarn!
Robert Harris: not at his best but still a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Robert Harris is a wonderful writer and Enigma is my favourite book. Having read it many times I was keen to enjoy the book again on my Kindle. Unfortunately in electronic format it is littered with typos which are quite jarring.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.49
£8.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.