Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edward III:The Perfect King?
Being brought up firmly in the school of Edward II -Berkeley Castle - red hot poker in places that made teenage scholars snigger, I approached this book with a great deal of caution. I have to say that Mortimer has made acompelling case for the survival of Edward II, which I personally can go along with. Even if you don't agree with this thesis you should still buy this...
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by amateur historian

versus
20 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect King
Ian Mortimers latest offering is a book which tackles the long and complex reign of Edward III. The 50 year reign of Edward saw dramatic developments in both parliament and warfare. To attempt an overview of this reign is indeed a difficult task. Although Mortimer analyses the military campaigns of the period and reviews Edward's aims and successes well these are details...
Published on 4 May 2006 by Craig Lambert


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edward III:The Perfect King?, 3 Mar 2008
Being brought up firmly in the school of Edward II -Berkeley Castle - red hot poker in places that made teenage scholars snigger, I approached this book with a great deal of caution. I have to say that Mortimer has made acompelling case for the survival of Edward II, which I personally can go along with. Even if you don't agree with this thesis you should still buy this book if you are interested in: the Fourteenth Century, Edward III, the Hundred Years War. Mortimer takes Edward from vulnerable youth, through warrior king, to manipulated old man, In my opinion this will be the definitive work on Edward III for many years to come. Well written, copiously researched, brilliant, so buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rattling yarn, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Dr. Tom Bell "Tom Bell" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
What a marvellous read. I am interested in all areas of history but as a boy Edward and his son the Black Prince were heroes. I have never been able to understand why we see so much about Henry V111 and so little about other great Kings such as Edward 111 or Edward 1 .. or indeed other fascinating long reigns such as Henry 111 with great charactors like Simon de Montfort. Here in Edward Dr Mortimer has found a character worthy of his writing. It is such a marvellous story. The theory that his father was alive till well in his reign is fascinating. Even better is that he does not go on about it , but states it firmly and lays down the reasons why he feels it is true. It is also fascinating that Edward was so enamoured of the tales of Arthur that he not only created his own myth for Camelot, but indeed when we see the myth in out minds eye, or on TV , it is not the early english hero we see but a figure much like Edward himself. READ THIS BOOK you will love it I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the tudors, start here!, 31 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read about Edward III, and it's great. I was a fan of Mortimer's 'The Greatest Traitor' so really looked forward to reading this.

I was not disappointed. Mortimer sticks to his guns about Edward II being alive in Edward III's reign, and explains his motives in light of this. You couldn't get a more different king from Edward II, however, and it is his successful reign, wars in France and the multitude of offspring he has that makes this not only a great book in itself, but an excellent precursor to reading about Richard II, Henry IV and Henry V, as well as the Wars of the Roses (well, obviously!).

I started my history reading with the tudors, and worked my way back. If you are thinking of starting to read popular history, my advice is to start further back, as anglo-saxon and medieval kings and queens are so much more interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect History in the Telling, 28 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
It might seem a bit weird to say it, as the other book is by a different author, but this is a great companion to A Great and Terrible King: Edward I and the Forging of Britain by Marc Morris.

Edward III is another 'great' English King that no one in my history lessons at school bothered to tell us about. 1066 then the War of the Roses with maybe a rumour of Agincourt thrown in. That was school history of 1066 to 1600!

I have to confess I was fascinated by the war with France and had read a lot about Agincourt and through the unlikely avenue of a Bernard Cornwell book I learned about Crecy and the great battles of Edward III and his eldest son, Edward The Black Prince. These are battles that easily rate with Agincourt in terms of fighting against the odds.

What you learn through this book is that these were ages of intrigue, battles and intense religious and political upheaval. Mortimer, like Morris with Edward I, takes you by the hand and guides you through the mire and throws in a few surprises along the way. His father Edward II, for example, was not dead when Edward III ascended to the throne - he was very much alive and was probably around for several years into the young Edward's reign.

Where Edward I was called the Hammer of the Scots, Edward III was possibly the Hammer of the French, and for 30 years he dominated the battlefields. But Kings get old and unlike Edward I who effectively died being carried to battle, Edward III would die a lonely old man with much of his battle won advantages being lost in later life and after death.

These sort of historical books are terrific reads. You feel like you really 'know' the subject and haven't just had the sort of 'glancing blow' most school history lessons cast at you.

You experience with Edward the times he held regular jousting tournaments, how he spent like a king - you can almost see and smell the whole thing! Yes, and there is even the Black Death.

If you like the Morris volume on the grandfather, get this. And vice versa - if this is your sort of book, get the Morris book too if you don't have it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A King For England And A Hero To His People, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Steven T. Jarvis "Skarekrow" (Thanet, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
Having just read Ian Mortimer's book, The Greatest Traitor, I felt compelled to read The Perfect King and was, without exaggeration, completely blown away...!!! When The Greatest Traitor left Edward III, we was still in his teens, a very uncertain and nervous man. The Perfect King provides, with delightfully compelling narrative, an amazing account of the boy who became, arguably the template for what being a king should mean. Ian Mortimer excels in taking the old dust-cloth off of history and bringing it out into the light of day so that it may shine like a jewel and be enjoyed by all who see it. Ian Mortimer is as much a craftsman as he is an Historian.

Additionally, this account, which is written both sympathetically and with reasoned objectivity, gives us an amazing glimpse in to the time when England went from becoming an out of the way island beset with local feuds to THE major force in European politics and a military force to be reckoned with. I loved this book and I feel better for having read it. Ian Mortimer's gift is that he bridges the gap between the past and present and makes knowledge available to all - and he makes history exciting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PERFECT WRITER, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
This is the third book I have read by Ian Mortimer, the others being 1415 A Year in the Life of Henry V and his book on the reality of medieval life. They have all provided excellent reading. This book has amazing detail of these feudal times and the factionalisms which pulled the country apart. It provides a deep insight into the development of Edward III's character and the problems that faced him in becoming one of England's most successful kings. The narratives of the battles are exciting and show clearly Edward's leadership qualities as well as illuminating how closely, over many centuries, the English were a part of France and why so much English blood has been shed in France from Crecy to the Normandy landings and the battles to demolish the Nazis. I intend to read all Ian Mortimer's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edward II is alive & well?, 9 May 2010
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
I found this a very good and clear history of the reign of Edward III, with a better explanation of the machinations that led to the overthrow of Mortimer and Isabella's power than I have read elsewhere. The book makes the point that Edward II, far from being murdered (with a red hot poker or otherwise) in Berkeley Castle, survived and was smuggled out of the country. This is not supported by all historians and should be treated as "not proven".
Overall however an excellent and very readable history, and a worthy addition to the bookshelf of any student of the Middle Ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect read, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. TK Ellis "Bookworm" (High Wycombe, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
This is the first time I have read anything of Ian Mortimer's and after this it will definitely not be the last. His intelligent, fluid style of writing is engaging and entertaining while being an excellent source of information on this most interesting of England's monarchs.

The book looks at the life and times of Edward III in detail, examining the highs and lows of the reign. I sometimes find that when an author writes with passion they start to overlook the flaws and mistakes of their subject, but here, I am happy to say, this does not happen. The author examines each event in the life and reign of Edward with an even hand and, when the judgement of Edward was erroneous (which was not often) he studies the reasons behind the Edward's rationale. I found his style of writing thoroughly enjoyable.

I also thought the author's dealing of the supposed death of his father, Edward II was dealt with is a measured and considered way. Mr Mortimer looks at the evidence and the situation and makes intelligent conclusions about what may have happened. He is honest when he says that he does not have enough evidence to conclude what the outcome was but puts forward a series of considered and intelligent conclusions while ultimately allowing the author to make up their own mind. This kind of author is appealing as they impart the knowledge while treating the reader like an intelligent being capable of making up their own mind.

The end result is a book about a king who was compassionate, intelligent and militaristic. He was a loving husband and father (in the context of the 1300s) but was also underhand and devious when the need arose. Ian Mortimer's book does not overlook this but is written in such a way that you find yourself agreeing with the King's actions even when he is being less than honest.

I would thoroughly recommend this book and would happily read anything else that Mr Mortimer has written. I hope other readers enjoy this book as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The absolutely perfect read, 26 April 2009
By 
M. Cox (Eastern France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
Ian Mortimer's Life of Edward III is an example of that rare beast, the almost perfect book. He creates an atmosphere which allows the reader to not only be 'in the zone' but in the room with the people he is writing about. Edward actually lives in this book and I have to confess that I fell in love with him. The factual information about Edward is exquisitely presented by Mr Mortimer to make this a very rounded portrait of our very long-lived King. I carried this book around with me [started it in France, took it to the UK on a visit, then returned to my home in France to finish] until I had read every word and became distressed at the turning of the last page, almost as if I had suffered a bereavement i.e (1) the end of the book and (2) the extremely sad final moments in Edward's life. This book does what ALL history books should do - transports the reader to another time and place. Highly recommended piece of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mighty book on a mighty subject, 19 Nov 2009
By 
J. Duducu (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation (Paperback)
About 2 years ago there was a book published on Edward I there have been many reviews of the books so I didn't bother to add one but personally I thought it had a very evocative front cover but the actual book itself was a bit average and a little dull. The biography of his grandson is the complete opposite.

Forget the cover (quite possibly the dullest I have ever seen- what were the publishers thinking?) this is a gripping and thoroughly researched look into one of the most successful medieval kings in Europe.

Quite frankly Edward III is a great story, having to be saved by a coup as a teenager to become king, rising to the challenges of war with France and watching his first born son continue his military exploits where he left off only to ultimately outlive all his deeds. So it's a story that is hard to get wrong. However Ian Mortimer does some exceptional detective work proving that Edward was also hindered in the early part of his reign by his father still being alive and completely disproving the red hot poker story.

Perhaps the greatest strength of this book is the balance Mortimer gives his work. Usually the author is either more interested in the battles or the administration and laws giving a distorted view either way. As Edward did a lot of both, Mortimer spends plenty of time discussing both aspects of his reign so there's something here for everyone.

Gripping, intelligent and thoroughly well researched, go on treat yourself.

If you liked this there's more historical debate and fun at @HistoryGems on Facebook and Twitter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect King: The Life of Edward III, Father of the English Nation
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews